BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESTRUSTED PAYMENTS

Active Galapagos

Save $713 until Sep 26
ends on 26 Sep 2018
-23%
Days
10
Our saving
$713
From
$3,075
US $ 2,362
Cost/day $236
+ $130 local payment costs
Check availability
24/7 Customer SupportAsk a question
This tour is operated by
Active Galapagos - Intrepid Travel
Active Galapagos - Intrepid Travel
Good
30 reviews
Starts
Quito
+4 Destinations
Galapagos Islands
Ends
Quito
Map

Highlights

  • Go snorkelling with sea lions
  • Relax on black sand beaches
  • Visit a giant tortoise breeding centre
  • Spot flamingos, penguins and more
Age range
15 to 70 year olds
Accommodation
Hotel
Max Group Size
16
Transportation
Coach / Bus, Boat, Local Transport, Private Vehicle, Plane
Physical Rating
Active
Travel style
Adventure, Wildlife
Start and end in Quito! With the adventure tour Active Galapagos, you have a 10 day tour package taking you through Quito, Ecuador and 4 other destinations in Ecuador. Active Galapagos includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport.

30 Reviews

Excellent
36%
Good
36%
Average
27%
Rather Poor
0%
Bad
0%
Write a review
  • JG
    Written on January 25, 2018
    4.5 - Excellent

    Intrepid seems like a pretty good company. They emphasize a low impact, high quality experience that enables the traveler to experience the local culture and people.
    Show detailed ratings

  • HH
    Written on September 7, 2017
    4.5 - Excellent

    We just finished a 7-day Galapagos Intrepid Active Tour aboard the motor yacht Daphne. Excellent overall experience. Yacht has 8 cabins, handles 16 passengers. Crew of 6: Captain, First Mate, chef, cabin boy and server, engineer, and deck hand. All went out of their way to be attentive, helpful, and personable. Food was excellent and varied, help was abundant, from getting on and off the zodiacs to putting on and taking off wet suits. Boat was spotlessly clean, and cabin was made up twice daily. Itinerary and activities were excellent and varied, and definitely active. Tour guide, Jacinto, was excellent. Downsides: Hotel in Quito for use night before and night after the tour was crummy: old, very tiny room (#4), small double bed, not heat or air, small bathroom, only one working electrical outlet. We were supposed to have a "box breakfast" provided, b/c we had to leave for the airport at 4:30 AM. It turned out to a plastic bag with two cold pieces of bread, a piece each of cheese and ham, and a small container of yogurt. You also have to pay extra for wet suits: $20 for half week, $40 for full week. I had previously called Intrepid in Australia to enquire about wet suits and cost, and I was told that they were provided for no extra cost. We skipped our final hotel night and booked in a very decent hotel 5 minutes from the original one. Finally, Quito-based Intrepid woman responsible for our pre-trip "briefing", gave us quite a bit of misinformation. Would rate this experience as 4-star out of 5
    Intrepid Travel commented on this review
    Hi Harvey, thank you very much for your review - both the positive words and the constructive feedback. Hearing from our passengers is invaluable as it helps us to know where we’re meeting (and hopefully exceeding!) expectations; we always share comments like these with our entire global team and they are very much appreciated. We’re delighted that you had a great time with us, and we hope to see you on another trip with us in future … now that you’ve ticked Galapagos off the bucket list, where’s next? :) Kind regards, Intrepid Travel
    Show detailed ratings

  • Active Galapagos reviewer 3
    Written on August 4, 2017
    3.0 - Average

    The place is outstanding but our guide was the worst guide I've ever had and spoiled it a bit. He treated everyone like schoolchildren and ves very arrogant. I wouldn't recommend this tour just incasevyou get him as the guide
    Show detailed ratings

  • AS
    Written on May 15, 2017
    2.5 - Average

    To Whom It May Concern: My husband recently purchased the day-10 Active Galapagos tour with Intrepid. Having conducted research in advance on similar trips, the cost of these excursions was heavily influenced by stay amenities, as well as by the full-time naturalist guiding our trip. It is with this in mind, that I share the experience that unfolded during our recent visit. Disengaged guide: Upon arrival to the Galapagos, we were informed that we would be meeting our tour guide, Boris Valverde. The trip began with a late departure from the airport as transportation arrival late. From the very moment we engaged with Boris, it was clear that he was here for “the job”. He introduced himself, reviewed our schedule and promptly dropped us off at our hotel in San Cristobal. From that day onward, it became clear to both my husband and I, as well as to other members of our tour group that our engagements with our naturalist would be limited. On our first excursion on San Cristobal going to a surf beach, were dropped off and Boris would depart, walking ahead of us. When it came time to dine on San Cristobal, he would simply disappear without a word and repaper the following day to essentially “drive” us to our next excursion without explaining almost anything about the animals, nature, or history of destination. The same repeated itself when we arrived on Floreana, he would drop us off, tell us we had 2 hours and then disappear. On our way to Isla Isabela, we stopped by La Tortuga Island. Our group would point out species of birds trying to learn more, he would shrug and say, “that’s an island bird”. With that, our lesson was over. In fact, it was the driver of the boat who did a better job at engaging with our group, stepping in to point out different critters on the shore and in the water. When we arrived on Isla Isabela, the complete disregard our naturalist became more clear, when we had the opportunity to be introduced to two other guides leading tours in the area, namely Davide and Matteo. Whether it was a trip to the Darwin Facility, kayaking in a bay, or embarking upon our volcanic hike, Boris kept quiet rushing ahead of us, or chatting in Spanish with another local. He would spend roughly 5 minutes repeating the same 5 facts and then would explain the evening schedules, which were almost always, “free time”. He would then depart, he always appeared to be detained by something, seeing friends on the island, buy cigarettes. Even on the on the last night of our trip at our group dinner, after barely seeing or speaking to him all week, he cut out of dinner apologizing noting he had a prior engagement with his sister that evening. My point in mentioning the other tour guides, is that while all of this was happening to us, we would run into Davide and Matteo leading their own groups. It was clear that they were 100% engaged with their travelers, eating meals together, and spending evenings together. While Boris would leave our groups at mealtimes, these other guides would join us. In a 5-minute conversation with Matteo, I learned more about the nature, history, country politics and evolution of species than I had acquired during the full 10-day excursion with Boris. To share with you what I learned from Boris, here it is: there are “3 types of boobies, blue, red and Nazca” and “3 types of iguanas, land, water and pink”. To say that I was upset with the level of service provided by our naturalist would be understatement, considering we spent $6,000 on your excursion. Instead, we were forced to Google facts about the islands in our spare time or engage with other guides to pick up the quintessential elements o information would have expected to learn from our own guide, Boris. Poor scheduling: Even the scheduling was oddly organized, and despite our group voicing other preferences, our requests were disregarded. Throughout the duration of our time in Galapagos, our days would start late and end early. For example, breakfast would often end service by 8:30a.m., yet, we would not be picked up for our tour until 9:45/10a.m., wasting most of the morning, and departing close to the hottest part of the day. Despite these late departures, our “active” tours would only last a few hours and we would be back again, left to our own devices from 3p.m. onwards on “free time”. Whether it was the crater hike or our kayaking trip on San Isabela, both were surprisingly short, and scheduled smack in the middle of the day; leaving us desiring for more to be planned, but alas, nothing was done. Our kayaking tour entailed a long walk to the beach, where we would depart as a group and of course, Boris would walk ahead of us, leaving us trailing behind by 500 meters. Upon arrival he spoke with the kayaking guides, and sat down under a tree without a word. Instead, we entered the water on our “kayaking tour” only to discover that the barely spoke any English. With murky water, and a lack of understanding, the tour lasted approximately 30 minutes before we headed to dock back in. Given this was intended to be an “active” tour, I was personally quite disappointed on how simple the activities were and how dull many of these destinations turned out to be. For example, the surf beach on our first night in San Cristobal had murky water, big waves. It was hard to do much of anything there, and the same with our kayaking tour. It was short, non-educational and not interesting swimming around in dark murky water. On the other hand, we highly enjoyed our time at Kicker Rock, having wasted hours in a wading pool nearby in 3 feet of water. While we expressed desire to head there early or come back the next day, these requests were completely ignored, with a response from Boris. This experience would continue to repeat itself as we island hopped. The overabundance of “free time” left us desiring for more to experience and learn. I speak for the entire tour group when I express how gravely disappointed we were with the educational component of this tour. We instead relied on conversations with other guides, and browsing through informational flyers at tour shops to learn about where we were and what we were seeing; our costly naturalist should have provided all of this. Non-professional guide behavior: Another element I would like to bring to your attention was how our guide lacked professional discretion during our excursion in how he engaged with members of our tour. I would like to note two specific examples that unfolded to help best convey our shock at the quality of guided services your tour has provided. The first concerns our travel companion, Tiffany Thorn. Several days into the trip, Tiffany became ill, showing signs of food poisoning. Despite multiple attempts to convey this to Boris, he simply disregarded her. Ultimately, Tiffany ended up getting a taxi by herself to go to the nearest hospital, and ended up waiting for hours to be seen. Given her limited Spanish language skills, she waited there patiently waiting for translation assistance. Ultimately, another guide (Matteo) found out and came to her aid. That evening, during our group dinner when Boris walked us to our café, he appeared annoyed at having to change his evening plans as given the nature of Tiffany’s illness, he was required to check in on her after receiving a call from another guide. Upon arrival to the hospital, he checked to see she was there, said hello and immediately departed without any further assistance. Having the good fortunate of support from others, Tiffany managed to see a physician, get medical prescriptions and several days later rejoined our group feeling better. The point I would like to stress here is that our guide lacked the ability or interest to provide adequate support for his group. He exuded complete disregard for our presence, and could not be bothered when being asked to come to the aid of a sick tour member when they needed him most. This is quite disconcerting. The other example that I will raise to your attention pertains to your document policy, section entitled, “A couple of rules”. On many occasions our tour group would go out for dinners or visit local bars since our evenings were “free time”. Repeatedly, we would bump into Boris at said bars, often rubbing up on women, trying to buy them drinks or offer cigarettes. On one said occasion, Boris approached a member of our tour group posing the following question, “have you ever been with an Ecuadorian man?” I was appalled and disgusted, and I sincerely hope, your agency is as well. Missed activities: Lastly, I wanted to inform you that several scheduled tour activities were excluded from our trip, without said changed being discussed; notably, the sugar cane tour and the cooking class on Santa Cruz. Several other guides approached our group asking if we had participated in these, and were shocked to hear that we didn’t. In closing, I am writing this to express my sincere disappointment in the level of service offered by your organization; both in the service rendered by the naturalist guide, and overall scheduling of activities. Instead of spending an enjoyable time, learning and exploring the islands, we spent $6,000 on a highly inactive, non-educational 10-day trip. The clear lack of vetting of natural guides by Intrepid is shocking to not just by husband and I, but was felt equally by the remaining members of our tour. It is with this in mind that I am writing to share our experience and to request a partial refund for all costs associated with the naturalist service. At a minimum, I ask for your cooperation in providing a credit towards a future tour, if and when, my husband and I decide to partake in another Intrepid excursion. I ask for your support and cooperation in helping to resolve this matter. Disappointed customers, Alla and Matthew Simoneau
    Show detailed ratings

  • Active Galapagos reviewer 5
    Written on March 29, 2017
    3.5 - Good

    Footnote: I did find that this tour was lacking a well trained guide who needs more organizational skills and training, and at the end we found out that this was his 2nd tour which explained a lot.
    Intrepid Travel commented on this review
    Hi Venetia, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We were disappointed to read that you felt your guide was under qualified on your tour. Venetia, we would love an opportunity to more fully understand your experience as feedback from our passengers is essential towards improving all that we do. Please feel free to contact our Customer Relations team who will be happy to further address your concerns: customerrelations@intrepidtravel.com Thanks again and we look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Intrepid Travel
    Show detailed ratings

  • Active Galapagos reviewer 6
    Written on March 29, 2017
    3.0 - Average

    I have visited Vietnam, Bolivia, Australia and Iceland with Intrepid and all were good tours.I was disappointed that this tour did not have more varied wildlife and I was not able to do a couple of activities like the volcano tour which I enquired about in advance as far as other options, and there was too much time spent snorkelling.The guide was not experienced and often left us too much "free time" which meant he got a break and we had to fend for ourselves.
    Show detailed ratings

  • M
    Written on April 22, 2016
    5.0 - Excellent

    Best trip ever! In the Galapagos you will see giant tortoises wandering on volcanoes and sea lions swimming along side you. It was nice to do a land based trip where you stay on the islands instead of on the boat. We got to see how locals live. Te tour was well organized with lots of included activities but plenty of free time to explore on my own.
    Show detailed ratings

    Active Galapagos customer review photo 1Active Galapagos customer review photo 2
  • Active Galapagos reviewer 8
    Written on December 28, 2015
    4.0 - Good

    Great trip. Constant activities, good hotels and excellent marine and land based animal viewing. Volcano hike very worthwhile to do the full 6 hours - If it's raining gum boots for the first hour.
    Show detailed ratings

    Active Galapagos customer review photo 1
  • Active Galapagos reviewer 9
    Written on December 9, 2015
    5.0 - Excellent

    Show detailed ratings

  • RG
    Written on December 3, 2015
    4.0 - Good

    The holiday was fantastic...guide was excellent and certainly made every effort to ensure we were well looked after and got to know each member of the group well and made the whole thing great fun....lots of energy
    Show detailed ratings

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
  1. Introduction
  2. Expand all
  1. Day 1: Quito
  2. Day 2: Isla San Cristobal, Galapagos
  3. Day 3: Isla San Cristobal, Galapagos
  4. Day 4: Isla Floreana/Isla Isabela, Galapagos
  5. Day 5: Isla Isabela, Galapagos
  6. Day 6: Isla Isabela, Galapagos
  7. Day 7: Isla Santa Cruz, Galapagos
  8. Day 8: Isla Santa Cruz, Galapagos
  9. Day 9: Isla Santa Cruz, Galapagos/ Quito
  10. Day 10: Quito

What's included

Expand all
  • Accommodation

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Meals

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Flights

  • Insurance

Download PDF Brochure

Video

Main Page Video

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.

    • When are the seas at their calmest in the Galapagos?

      During the warmer season, which runs from January through May, the seas tend to be calmer and warmer during these months. The average temperatures during this season are around 30°C (86°F).

    • What is the lodging like?

      Where we stay ensures we keep our travellers firmly entrenched in a region’s people and culture, and provides them with unique local experiences that benefits the community too. In most locations we stay in simple tourist-class hotels ( 2-3 stars), plus on many trips you'll also get to experience a night with a local family on a homestay or something a little different like a Bedouin camp in the Sahara."

    • When are the seas the calmest?

      In relation to your question regarding the seas, the warm season runs from January to May with an average temperature of 30°C (86°F). The seas are also calmer and warmer during these months.

    Ask a question

    What are people saying about TourRadar?

    • Ivy30th July 2018
      Very easy to navigate website on both Mobile and Desktop. Easy to apply filters and find what you're looking for. Found my next holiday - and now I'm using the site again to find even more holidays for the future. It's got lots of great deals and tour options to suit everyone.

    Availability

    NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Active Galapagos

    Select Departure Month
    • Upcoming departures
    • September 2018
    • October 2018
    • November 2018
    • December 2018
    • January 2019
    • February 2019
    • March 2019
    • April 2019
    • May 2019
    • June 2019
    • July 2019
    • August 2019
    • September 2019
    • October 2019
    • November 2019
    • December 2019
    STARTENDSEATS LEFTSAVE NOW PRICE
    • Thursday
      Sep 27, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Saturday
      Oct 6, 2018
      to Quito
      7 seats left
      $128
      USD $3,072
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Saturday
      Sep 29, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Monday
      Oct 8, 2018
      to Quito
      10+ seats left
      $435
      $3,200
      -14%
      USD $2,765
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Thursday
      Oct 4, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Saturday
      Oct 13, 2018
      to Quito
      0 seats left
      $129
      USD $3,101
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Saturday
      Oct 6, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Monday
      Oct 15, 2018
      to Quito
      6 seats left
      $128
      USD $3,072
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Saturday
      Oct 13, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Monday
      Oct 22, 2018
      to Quito
      Only 3 seats left
      $128
      USD $3,072
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Thursday
      Oct 18, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Saturday
      Oct 27, 2018
      to Quito
      4 seats left
      $128
      USD $3,072
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Saturday
      Oct 20, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Monday
      Oct 29, 2018
      to Quito
      8 seats left
      $435
      $3,200
      -14%
      USD $2,765
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Thursday
      Oct 25, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Saturday
      Nov 3, 2018
      to Quito
      8 seats left
      $435
      $3,200
      -14%
      USD $2,765
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Saturday
      Oct 27, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Monday
      Nov 5, 2018
      to Quito
      10+ seats left
      $589
      $3,200
      -18%
      USD $2,611
      + $130 local payment costs
    • Saturday
      Nov 3, 2018
      from Quito
      10 Days
      Monday
      Nov 12, 2018
      to Quito
      Only 3 seats left
      $435
      $3,200
      -14%
      USD $2,765
      + $130 local payment costs
    Show more departures

    Monthly price comparison

    About the countries

    Useful things to know before you go

    Currencies

    $
    Dollar
    Ecuador

    Plugs & Adapters

    Ecuador

    Visa

    Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

    Vaccinations

    These are only indications, so please visit your doctor before you travel to be 100% sure.
    Typhoid
    Recommended for Ecuador. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Hepatitis A
    Recommended for Ecuador. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Tuberculosis
    Recommended for Ecuador. Ideally 3 months before travel.
    Hepatitis B
    Recommended for Ecuador. Ideally 2 months before travel.
    Rabies
    Recommended for Ecuador. Ideally 1 month before travel.
    Yellow fever
    Recommended for Ecuador. Ideally 10 days before travel.

    Policies

    Location
    Start and end in Quito.
    Hold my space
    TourRadar can request Intrepid Travel to hold spaces for you for up to 48 hours without any credit card details.
    Deposit
    TourRadar only requires a deposit of $400 to confirm this Intrepid Travel booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 22 November 2018 the full payment of $2,362 is necessary.
    Cancellation policy
    No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $2362 for Active Galapagos, but the deposit of $400 is non-refundable.
    Credit Cards
    The following cards are accepted for Intrepid Travel tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express

    Destinations

    Covering a total distance of approx 2,853 km.
    • Quito (Ecuador)
    • 1,219 km
    • Isla San Cristobal (Ecuador)
    • 127 km
    • Floreana (Ecuador)
    • 95 km
    • Isla Isabela (Ecuador)
    • 88 km
    • Isla Santa Cruz (Ecuador)
    • 1,323 km
    • Quito (Ecuador)

    Why book with TourRadar

    Best Price Guarantee
    If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $2,362 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
    Safely book online
    All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
    3,730 tours in Latin America
    covered by 144 different operators in Latin America
    No Cancellation Fee
    TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date.
    11 Genuine Reviews
    All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Active Galapagos

    Trip Details

    • Last modified (date)

    • Validity

    • Introduction

    • Style

    • Themes

    • Physical Rating

    • Joining point

    • Joining point description

    • Joining point instructions

    • Finish point

    • Safety

    • Visas

    • Why we love it

    • Is this trip right for you

    • Health

    • Food and dietary requirements

    • Money matters

    • What to take

    • Climate and seasonal

    • A couple of rules

    • Emergency contact

    • Responsible travel

    • Travel insurance

    • Your fellow travellers

    • Itinerary disclaimer