BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESTRUSTED PAYMENTS

Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo

Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo - Soleto Travel
Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo - Soleto Travel
Vera "The hotels were great. The evening meals were sometimes disappointing. The buses were ,immaculate and comfortable. Our guide was a delight(Placido). His knowledge of Sicily and his love of his country made him a good guide. His sense of humour made his information much more compatible and interesting. The trip,was good value. I did think some of the days were pretty long and I would have enjoyed m..."
Excellent
10 reviews
Starts
Palermo
+8 Destinations
Sicily
Ends
Palermo
Map

Highlights

  • Try Antica Focacceria's menu in San Francesco
  • See the Temple of Heracles in Agrigento
  • Visit the Mandralisca Museum in Cafalu
  • Explore the Archeological Park of Neapolis
Age range
18 to 75 year olds
Accommodation
Hotel
Max Group Size
35
Transportation
Coach / Bus
Travel style
In-depth Cultural
Start and end in Palermo! With the in-depth cultural tour Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo, you have a 9 day tour package taking you through Palermo, Italy and 7 other destinations in Italy. Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.

10 Reviews

Excellent
50%
Good
30%
Average
20%
Rather Poor
0%
Bad
0%
Write a review
  • EH
    Written on July 23, 2018
    3.5 - Good

    The tour description on TourRadar's website said that the maximum group size would be 15. I specifically chose this tour because of the superior experience of a small group tour. However, Soleto Tours did not meet its obligation to match the tour description. For the first half of my tour, the group size was 35. My travel companion was upset about the misrepresentation of the group size and the resulting chaos and wanted to quit the tour on the first day. They should have split this into two groups with separate guides and buses. My travel companion was upset and ready to quit the tour we had paid for because of the misrepresentation of the tour size and the resulting chaos. They did not even adequately plan for the group size they had. The first day, they sent a bus that was not large enough to hold the luggage of 35 people and barely held the people. Time was wasted while this problem was sorted out. Time was also wasted waiting for all parties within this group to queue up to buy admission tickets at the various sites visited. Regardless of the group size, it would have been more efficient to build the small admission fees into the tour price and have the guide buy the tickets. The cable car to the top of Mt Etna could be an exception since it was expensive and a significant number of people in the group did not do that. We also had to wait for all 35 people at each site. The tour size dropped to 13 on the last few days. The failure to comply with the advertised group size was not an isolated event as we heard that the tour after our's had 24 people. It would also have been more efficient to build the daily hotel city taxes into the tour cost. On the positive side, the tour guide, Placido, was excellent and the itinerary was quite good. Sicily has some amazing sites. The distances between them are long and it is not easy to visit them on your own unless driving. The hotels for my trip were fine; we did not use the Nettuno criticized in other reviews. There were 4 excellent dinners (3 of them were in Catania); one was a buffet and three were family style servings of an enormous amount of food (we like seafood). There were 2 mediocre dinners with no choice of items at the Principe Hotel in Palermo (we skipped the second one on the last night since we had been told it was the exact same thing served on the first night). It would be better not to include all dinners in the tour fee if there is no choice of items. Our plane arrival at the start of the tour was a half hour late (8 PM) and no one met us from the tour company. No one from the tour company was at the group dinner on the first night. Nothing was left for us at the hotel desk about the itinerary or timing of the next day's start. On the first day, there were some new people joining the tour and others who started the loop earlier. People were not asked to introduce themselves at the beginning of the day and this in combination with the large group size left us feeling disconnected for several days. Overall, I rated the tour as 3 stars out of five. If the group size had been as described, I would have rated it as 4 stars.
    Show detailed ratings

  • A
    Written on June 28, 2018
    5.0 - Excellent

    I'm personally satisfied with all the arrangement during the last trip. Everything was well planned and local guides were really helpfull. We enjoyed the trip and all the professional arrangement! For sure, we will continue this cooperation :)
    Show detailed ratings

  • IW
    Written on June 10, 2018
    3.0 - Average

    The guides (Grazia and Sandro) were absolutely excellent (but your form does not accept my attempt to rate them). The choice of sites was good, but the absence of Segesta was very strange (and the timing did not allow visits to major sites in Palermo, notably the Matorana, and the room of Roger II in the castle (you should think about which days one should be in Palermo). There were two main weaknesses. First, the hotels were not particularly good, and in certain respects the Nettuno in Catania was poor. The problems here are the fact that on one side the hotel faces onto a funfair, which is noisy for anyone staying on that side, as we were. In addition, our room was next to a function room, which on one night was hosting a Baptism celebration, so we had screaming children outside our door until 1.00 in the morning. The other problem at the Nettuno was that we were just left there by the general organiser (who was distinctly unimpressive). Half the group was staying in Il Principe, and because the hotel does not have a restaurant, the guide accompanied them. In the Nettuno we were twice given the wrong time for meals: when we asked the staff to pass on the changed meal times to the rest of the group they did not. In addition, while Il Principe is in the centre of the town, and well placed for a pleasant evening passeggiata, the Nettuno is well out of town, and there was nothing to do. And here it is also worth noting that for our first night in Palermo we were sent to the wrong hotel. So, no marks for the general organisation, or for the Nettuno: and high marks for the guides and the sites.
    Show detailed ratings

  • A
    Written on June 1, 2018
    3.0 - Average

    The organisation was poor. We should have had more accurate and more timely information from the start (including from you). In Catania we were booked into the wrong hotel. Fortunately the hotel staff worked hard to sort out the problem. In Catania the group was divided between two hotels. The agent in charge abandoned one group at the Hotel Nettuno, giving us inadequate information and apparently incorrect information on meal times, which was a problem on two successive nights. She should have made sure that everything was running to plan, but did not. She needs to pay a lot more attention to her guests. The two guides were excellent. Grazia was wonderful with the whole group, even when she had to work in three languages, and she knew her sites. Sandro was excellent on the geology and on the Second World War. The choice of sites was very good, but it is bizarre that Segesta is not included. The hotels were mediocre to poor. The hotel Cristal Palace provided good food, and was very helpful, but was overwhelmed by the breakfast numbers. The Sheraton had no hot water, and did not even apologise. Apart from the incompetence over meals, there is much else that is wrong with the Nettuno. It is badly situated. The half of the group based in Il Principe could enjoy Catania by night, but we were too far out. The hotel is situated next to a fairground, and the noise for the rooms on that side (which was where we were) was terrible. We were also next to a function room, where there was a celebration for a baptism, with screaming children in the corridor until 1.00 in the morning. This hotel should not be used unless you get a guarantee of quiet rooms. It is terrible.
    Soleto Travel commented on this review
    Dear Mrs ......( would be helpfull to know the name of the traveler) We're terribly sorry to read from your email that something did not get well! You should have told immediately to our guide so that we can tempestively help you to solve the problems. Concerning the information about the tour, our documents are pretty complete... what was missed? The HOtel in Palermo was the 4* Federico II as indicated on the travel documents. As indicated in the program, we work with 2 different hotels in each city and it happens that the group has to be divided according to the spoken languages, to offer our customers a better service. The 4* Hotel Nettuno is a good one, near the most elegant street of Catania and in front of the sea. It is preferred from most of our clients for its special position... we're really sorry you did not like it! Hopefully you had 2 good guides and if I well understood you enjoyed both the tour as well as Sicilian beauties! What a pity you did not communicate us immediately (you had our emergenc phone number on the travel documents) the problems you had in Hotel Nettuno... ! In any case, we thank you for your feedback: this will help us to improve our services. Best Regards, Omar Gubernati - Director for Soleto Travel Ltd
    Show detailed ratings

  • Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo reviewer 5
    Written on May 27, 2018
    5.0 - Excellent

    Molto bene!!! Grazie mille!!!
    Show detailed ratings

    Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo customer review photo 1
  • SG
    Written on May 25, 2018
    3.5 - Good

    The tour is overall good, however meals included were average or below especially dinners in Catania - repetitive, took too lon to get food on tables plus sea food was definitely not everyone’s favourite and myself had a food poisoning after eating mussels on the last night in Catania. Tour guides were very good and especially Grazi.
    Show detailed ratings

  • Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo reviewer 7
    Written on May 24, 2018
    3.5 - Good

    The tour was very well organised and the places we went to were amazing. The English speaking group was quite small and we all got along really well. Food was fine in the hotels but exceptional in the restaurants, particularly the included lunch in Taormina. Actually there was too much food (on one day we had a four course lunch followed by a five course dinner). Hotels were all very good and very comfortable. We had two guides - Gracia was excellent. Maria Rosa was knowledgeable but lacked people skills and frankly lost control of the group on a number of occasions. In summary though a highly recommended tour.
    Soleto Travel commented on this review
    Dear Sir, thanks for your review, I sincerely regret for your negative experience on our tour and we really apologise for the the inconveniences caused by the guide Maria Rosa. Regards, Director - Soleto Travel Ltd
    Show detailed ratings

  • Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo reviewer 8
    Written on April 11, 2018
    4.5 - Excellent

    Placido's knowledge of history and that he was able to deal well with a group of people who spoke four different languages .
    Show detailed ratings

  • VW
    Written on September 18, 2017
    4.5 - Excellent

    The hotels were great. The evening meals were sometimes disappointing. The buses were ,immaculate and comfortable. Our guide was a delight(Placido). His knowledge of Sicily and his love of his country made him a good guide. His sense of humour made his information much more compatible and interesting. The trip,was good value. I did think some of the days were pretty long and I would have enjoyed more free time but I would not have wanted to miss anything of what we saw. Maybe a longer more leisurely tour?
    Show detailed ratings

  • F
    Written on June 20, 2017
    5.0 - Excellent

    Great tour in Sicily with my wife,excellent hotels, comfortable ac deluxe coach and amazing food! Good support from the operator
    Show detailed ratings

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
  1. Introduction
  2. Expand all
  1. Day 1 - Tuesday: PALERMO (hotel in Palermo)
  2. Day 2 - Wednesday: PALERMO - MONREALE - MARSALA (hotel in Marsala)
  3. Day 3 – Thursday: MARSALA SALT ROAD - SELINUNTE – AGRIGENTO (hotel in Agrigento)
  4. Day 4 - Friday: PIAZZA ARMERINA - RAGUSA (hotel in Catania)
  5. Day 5 - Saturday: CATANIA (hotel in Catania)
  6. Day 6 - Sunday: SIRACUSA – NOTO (hotel in Catania)
  7. Day 7 - Monday: ETNA – TAORMINA (hotel in Catania)
  8. Day 8 - Tuesday: CATANIA – CEFALU’ (hotel in Palermo)
  9. Day 9 – Wednesday: PALERMO

What's included

Expand all
  • Accommodation

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Meals

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Additional Services

  • Additional Services

Download PDF Brochure

Video

Western Europe Travel Guide

Questions & Answers

We are there for you! If you have any questions about this tour, then please don't hesitate to contact us 24/7 and we will get back to you latest within 2 hours!

Ask a question

What are people saying about TourRadar?

  • Desislava12th June 2018
    Service is fast and proficient! Well developed site, easy to find what are you looking for. Adequate filters that save time and give you the most accurate result. All is build in - trips, providers with options to compare, details, contacts and payment.

Availability

NO CREDIT CARD FEES

Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo

Select Departure Month
  • Upcoming departures
  • August 2018
  • September 2018
  • October 2018
  • March 2019
  • April 2019
  • May 2019
  • June 2019
  • July 2019
  • August 2019
  • September 2019
  • October 2019
  • November 2019
STARTENDSEATS LEFTSAVE NOW PRICE
  • Tuesday
    Aug 21, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Aug 29, 2018
    to Palermo
    10+ seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Aug 28, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Sep 5, 2018
    to Palermo
    0 seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Sep 4, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Sep 12, 2018
    to Palermo
    0 seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Sep 11, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Sep 19, 2018
    to Palermo
    0 seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Sep 18, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Sep 26, 2018
    to Palermo
    0 seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Sep 25, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Oct 3, 2018
    to Palermo
    10+ seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Oct 2, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Oct 10, 2018
    to Palermo
    10+ seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Oct 9, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Oct 17, 2018
    to Palermo
    10+ seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Oct 16, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Oct 24, 2018
    to Palermo
    10+ seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
  • Tuesday
    Oct 23, 2018
    from Palermo
    9 Days
    Wednesday
    Oct 31, 2018
    to Palermo
    10+ seats left
    $38
    USD $1,244
Show more departures

Monthly price comparison

About the countries

Useful things to know before you go

Currencies

Euro
Italy

Plugs & Adapters

ItalyItaly

Visa

Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

Policies

Location
Start and end in Palermo.
Trusted
Your money is safe with TourRadar, as we only pay the tour operator after your tour has departed.
Deposit
TourRadar only requires a deposit of 20% to confirm this Soleto Travel booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 15 October 2018 the full payment of $1,244 is necessary.
Cancellation policy
No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $1244 for Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo, but the deposit of 20% is non-refundable. If you cancel via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
Availability
Some departure dates and prices may vary and Soleto Travel will contact you with any discrepancies before your booking is confirmed.
Credit Cards
The following cards are accepted for Soleto Travel tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express

Destinations

Covering a total distance of approx 678 km.
  • Palermo (Italy)
  • 10 km
  • Monreale (Italy)
  • 81 km
  • Marsala (Italy)
  • 114 km
  • Agrigento (Italy)
  • 70 km
  • Piazza Armerina (Italy)
  • 60 km
  • Ragusa (Italy)
  • 72 km
  • Catania (Italy)
  • 51 km
  • Siracusa (Italy)
  • 51 km
  • Catania (Italy)
  • 168 km
  • Palermo (Italy)

Why book with TourRadar

Best Price Guarantee
If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $1,244 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
Safely book online
All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
8,978 tours in Europe
covered by 253 different operators in Europe
No Cancellation Fee
TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date. If you cancel your booking for Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
9 Genuine Reviews
All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Tour of Sicily from Palermo to Palermo