BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESTRUSTED PAYMENTS

Explore Croatia

Save $265 until Jun 27
ends in 59:25:24
This tour is operated by
Explore Croatia - Intrepid Travel
Explore Croatia - Intrepid Travel
Stu "The cities covered were great and so was the tour length. The size of the group (6 plus the guide) was a really good size. We used local guides a couple of times - the woman (Susie) in Split was fabulous. Peter was a really good tour guide and I wouldn't hesitate to travel with him again on a more intrepid tour. However for Croatia it would have been nice to have a Croatian tour guide who knew..."
Good
5 reviews
Starts
Dubrovnik
+2 Destinations
Croatian Islands
Ends
Split
Map

Highlights

  • Relax on the quiet island of Lopud
  • Walk the streets of "King's Landing"
  • Swim the clear waters of Korcula Island
  • Enjoy traditional Dalmatian meat loaf
Age range
15 to 99 year olds
Accommodation
Hostel, Hotel, Apartment
Max Group Size
12
Transportation
Coach / Bus, Local Transport, Private Vehicle, Ferry
Travel style
In-depth Cultural
Start in Dubrovnik and end in Split! With the in-depth cultural tour Explore Croatia, you have a 8 day tour package taking you from Dubrovnik to Split and through Dubrovnik, Croatia and 3 other destinations in Croatia. Explore Croatia is a small group tour that includes accommodation in a hotel and hostel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport.

5 Reviews

Excellent
40%
Good
20%
Average
40%
Rather Poor
0%
Bad
0%
Write a review
  • JB
    Written on May 23, 2018
    3.0 - Average

    The trip was set up to make us pay for all kinds of "extras," like meals and transport. Especially annoying was that I paid for a single supplement, but at our last hotel, I was told I had to share a room, and had to make separate arrangements for a private room, for which I had to pay extra.
    Intrepid Travel commented on this review
    Hi Joseph, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that you were annoyed at having to pay extra for the final two nights of the trip. This is common of all of our Explore Croatia departures as the final property is very busy and often sold out of single rooms, and it is clearly stated on our website that the single supplement does not include these final two nights. Nevertheless, we are very sorry for any disappointment or stress this caused you. Please feel free to email customerrelations@intrepidtravel.com if you would like to discuss further or share any additional feedback. Kind regards, Intrepid
    Show detailed ratings

  • Explore Croatia reviewer 2
    Written on May 12, 2018
    5.0 - Excellent

    Excellent tour that allowed us to begin to experience and appreciate the culture and natural beauty of Croatia. Our tour leader was fantastic and our small group of 7 got along very well.
    Intrepid Travel commented on this review
    Hi Kathleen, thanks for sharing your experience with us, we are delighted to hear you had a great time in Croatia! Such a beautiful country, and we're so happy that you had fun with your leader and your small group! Hope to see you on another trip with us again soon! Kind regards, Intrepid
    Show detailed ratings

  • Explore Croatia reviewer 3
    Written on July 6, 2016
    3.0 - Average

    The tour was ok but the ages of most of the people on my tour were much older than me (Im in my 30s and the people were in their 60s mostly). This was disappointing as they had said there would most likely be lots of younger people on it. Also, they would do nothing to try and get me on another tour even though there were many other tours leaving Dubrovnik, they basically said well that is your problem. Would not do another Intrepid tour again.
    Show detailed ratings

  • MM
    Written on November 24, 2015
    5.0 - Excellent

    This was my first trip with Intrepid Travel and everything was seamless. Our guide was Croatian and really went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. The group dynamic was really fun and I got a chance to do everything that was on my list - rented a boat and went island hopping, hiking, visited a national park (Krka) and I REALLY enjoyed the orientation tour in Split. I will definitely be going on another trip this year.
    Show detailed ratings

  • Explore Croatia reviewer 5
    Written on June 24, 2013
    4.0 - Good

    The cities covered were great and so was the tour length. The size of the group (6 plus the guide) was a really good size. We used local guides a couple of times - the woman (Susie) in Split was fabulous. Peter was a really good tour guide and I wouldn't hesitate to travel with him again on a more intrepid tour. However for Croatia it would have been nice to have a Croatian tour guide who knew more about the country and experienced its history, and could give more detailed advice on what to do and where to go. I don't think Peter had guided the Croatian tour before so I would have expected Intrepid to have built up a log of experience to hand over to him, but that wasn't obvious. The Dubrovnick accommodation was a bit old-fashioned and the restaurant was more like a school cafeteria with poor food. If the intention was to give us more experience of Dubrovnick in the communist era then you succeeded. But the rest of the accommodation far exceeded my expectations. The only other disappointment was the written 'pamphlet' Peter gave us about the tour on the first day. Has Intrepid management actually read it? In theory it is a great idea to provide more information, but when I finally started reading it I found it was full of spelling errors and poor grammar. And it was inaccurate. For example it mentioned all the lavender fields we could explore in Havar. But I took a local safari tour on Havar and was told the lavender fields had all been destroyed by a fire in 2007. So why didn't Intrepid update its information? Finally... you might want to think about the meet-up facebook site more. Peter our guide didn't seem aware of it. I thought it was weird that I had to create the tour myself on facebook. Maybe in future all guides should at least set up a FB page before the tour and say hello - it might be a bit friendlier. All in all though, a great tour. Thanks Peter & intrepid for putting it together.
    Show detailed ratings

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
  1. Introduction
  2. Expand all
  1. Day 1: Dubrovnik
  2. Day 2: Dubrovnik
  3. Day 3: Korcula Island
  4. Day 4: Korcula Island
  5. Day 5: Hvar Island
  6. Day 6: Hvar Island
  7. Day 7: Split
  8. Day 8: Split

What's included

Expand all
  • Accommodation

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Meals

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Flights

  • Insurance

Download PDF Brochure

Videos

  • Europe
  • Main Page Video
Europe

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.

    • June 20, 2018

      Where and when does the tour end?

      The tour ends in Split on Day 8 of the trip. There are no activities planned for the final day, so after check out you are free to depart, or spend the day ticking off some of the suggested optional excursions!

    • June 20, 2018

      Where and when does the tour start?

      Day 1 of the tour starts in Dubrovnik. You can catch a pre-booked transfer, taxi or airport bus and connecting city bus to the tour meeting point, which will be at the following address:

      Hostel Sol
      Obala Ivana Pavla II 13
      Dubrovnik
      CROATIA
      Phone: +385 20 610 300

      There are no activities planned for this day so you are free to explore the city and settle into the hotel. At 6pm there will be an important welcome meeting where you can get to know your guide and fellow travellers.

    • June 20, 2018

      Do you arrange airport transfers?

      We can pre-book your departure and arrival transfers, however this is not included in the tour price and will be an extra charge. Please contact our customer service team for more information once you have a confirmed booking. Alternately you can catch the airport bus to the final stop at Pile Gate, then catch the city bus 1a, 1b or 1c directly to Hostel Sol. There are also taxis available just outside of the airport.

    Ask a question

    What are people saying about TourRadar?

    • Desislava12th June 2018
      Service is fast and proficient! Well developed site, easy to find what are you looking for. Adequate filters that save time and give you the most accurate result. All is build in - trips, providers with options to compare, details, contacts and payment.

    Availability

    NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Explore Croatia

    Select Departure Month
    • Upcoming departures
    • June 2018
    • July 2018
    • August 2018
    • September 2018
    • April 2019
    • May 2019
    • June 2019
    • July 2019
    • August 2019
    • September 2019
    • October 2019
    STARTENDSEATS LEFTSAVE NOW PRICE
    Show more departures

    Monthly price comparison

    About the countries

    Useful things to know before you go

    Currencies

    kn
    Kuna
    Croatia

    Plugs & Adapters

    Croatia

    Visa

    Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

    Vaccinations

    These are only indications, so please visit your doctor before you travel to be 100% sure.
    Hepatitis B
    Recommended for Croatia. Ideally 2 months before travel.
    Tick-borne encephalitis
    Recommended for Croatia. Ideally 6 months before travel.

    Policies

    Location
    Dubrovnik is the starting point and Split is the endpoint.
    Hold my space
    TourRadar can request Intrepid Travel to hold spaces for you for up to 48 hours without any credit card details.
    Deposit
    TourRadar only requires a deposit of $400 to confirm this Intrepid Travel booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 24 August 2018 the full payment of $1,175 is necessary.
    Cancellation policy
    No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $1175 for Explore Croatia, but the deposit of $400 is non-refundable.
    Credit Cards
    The following cards are accepted for Intrepid Travel tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express

    Destinations

    Covering a total distance of approx 178 km.
    • Dubrovnik (Croatia)
    • 86 km
    • Korcula Island (Croatia)
    • 52 km
    • Hvar Island (Croatia)
    • 40 km
    • Split (Croatia)

    Why book with TourRadar

    Best Price Guarantee
    If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $1,175 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
    Safely book online
    All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
    8,602 tours in Europe
    covered by 225 different operators in Europe
    No Cancellation Fee
    TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date.
    5 Genuine Reviews
    All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Explore Croatia

    Trip Details

    • Last modified (date)

    • Validity

    • Introduction

    • Style

    • Themes

    • Physical Rating

    • Joining point

    • Joining point instructions

    • Finish point

    • Finish point description

    • Finish point instructions

    • Safety

    • Visas

    • Why we love it

    • Is this trip right for you

    • Health

    • Food and dietary requirements

    • Money matters

    • What to take

    • Climate and seasonal

    • A couple of rules

    • Emergency contact

    • Responsible travel

    • Travel insurance

    • Your fellow travellers

    • Itinerary disclaimer