BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESFLEXIBLE PAYMENTS

Imperial Cities

Imperial Cities - Encounters Travel
Imperial Cities - Encounters Travel
Good
21 reviews
Starts
Marrakesh
+4 Destinations
Northern Morocco
Ends
Marrakesh
Map

Highlights

  • Stroll around bustling medinas in Marrakech
  • Indulge yourself in local Moroccan cuisine
  • Get the perfect shot of the Koutoubia Mosque
  • Enjoy Casablanca and all it has to offer
Age range
5 to 99 year olds
Accommodation
Hotel
Max Group Size
45
Transportation
Coach / Bus
Travel style
Discovery, Christmas & New Year
Operator
Encounters Travel
Start and end in Marrakesh! With the discovery tour Imperial Cities, you have a 8 day tour package taking you through Marrakesh, Morocco and 4 other destinations in Morocco. Imperial Cities includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport.

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
Expand all
  1. Introduction
  1. Day 1: Arrive into Marrakech. Transfer to hotel
  2. Day 2: Marrakech, Majorelle and Menara Gardens, Palmerie area
  3. Day 3: Marrakech, city tour
  4. Day 4: Marrakech to Casablanca
  5. Day 5: Casablanca to Fez via Rabat and Meknes
  6. Day 6: Fez, city tour
  7. Day 7: To Marrakech via Beni Mellal
  8. Day 8: Marrakech, free time, transfer to airport for departure

Travel guide

Prepare for an adventure in this stunning destination with our travel guide.

What's included

Expand all
Download PDF Brochure
  • Accommodation

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Meals

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Good by past passengers

Not included

  • Flights

  • Insurance

  • Optional

  • Additional Services

21 Reviews

Excellent
33%
Good
33%
Average
24%
Rather Poor
10%
Bad
0%
Write a review
  • KV
    Written on May 9, 2019
    3.5 - Good

    - Hotels are of average cleanness and the general appearance is that they need maintenance or renovation. - Our guide did not behave appropriately and when a member of the group show and him the problem, he just continue with the excuse of joking. Also... Read more

    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Kypros, Thank you for your feedback. A few follow-up comments are given below... Hotels: As one of our Shoestring level tours, the standard hotels used are 3-star rated and are certainly more basic than those used on our Small Group tours. That's intentional as this is a budget tour aimed to make a trip to Morocco as affordable as possible. We do offer optional upgrades to stay in higher level hotels for people wanting more comfort. Guide: I’m sorry to read that you felt the guide didn’t act appropriately at one point. This is the first we've heard of this incident, but we will definitely follow up on this if we can to see if it was a misunderstanding or more action is required. Shopping: On group tours it’s always difficult to get the right balance with shopping opportunities. Some people want to do a lot and really prefer higher level shops where the quality of products is guaranteed and we know that any issues post-sale can be successfully followed up. Others much prefer the browsing and haggling experience in the markets. So we try to accommodate both and include a few fixed places and leave free time particularly in the evenings in Marrakech and Fes for independent browsing and shopping. I'm sorry you felt this balance was not quite right on your tour. Royal Palaces: I'm sorry for any confusion here. There are two types of palaces in Morocco. Firstly, current palaces which are used and occupied by the Royal Family. These you cannot enter, but we find people find it is interesting to see them, the entrance gates, and peek at the gardens (Casablanca & Rabat). Then there are the old palaces, no longer used, such as the Bahia Palace in Marrakech which we do go in and get a guided tour. We're looking at re-wording our descriptions to ensure people have the correct expectations of these visits. Meals: We do list the meals included in our tour notes, and for those not included the guide will generally choose a restaurant which we know adheres to hygiene standards and where most dietary requirements can be met. Whilst smaller local restaurants can be great, we often can't use these for larger groups as they may not be able to cater for large groups or dietary requirements at short notice. Again this is a hard balance to get right which we're always working on. I hope that these notes are helpful. With the smaller group sizes, better hotels, and more opportunities for different local experiences that lower numbers allow, we'd encourage you to also check our Small Group tours for future trips.
    Show detailed ratings
  • Imperial Cities reviewer 2
    Written on March 12, 2019
    3.0 - Average

    The tour is amazing in terms of places to see and our guide was very nice and fluent in many languages. He was very considerate and brought out attention to relevant places. However accommodation -even after we upgraded to 4 stars hotels -was poor and not... Read more

    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Silvia, Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your post-tour feedback, this is very much appreciated. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the places you visited on the tour and that you liked your tour guide. We’re very proud of the guides we work with and in Morocco where we offer multiple language Shoestring tours, we’re particularly proud of our guides abilities to speak so many languages. I’m sorry that you were unhappy with the hotels used on the tour. In general we are comfortable with the accommodations used on our tours in Morocco and all properties in the 4-star category do meet local 4-star rating standards which are awarded by the Morocco government. As a Shoestring tour, they aren't the very best 4-stars available (which is reflected in the price charged), but they are a long way from the worst as well - having inspected lots we consider these mid-range. I do hope that if you encountered any problems at the hotels that the reception staff or our tour guide was able to get these resolved for you. Like many countries in North Africa and the Middle East, smoking is still very much part of the culture and many hotels do still permit smoking in some public areas, I am sorry though if this affected your stay. We do include dinners in most of the hotels for several reasons - partly it is because the half-board rates the hotels in Morocco provide are very similar to bed & breakfast, so it just makes sense to offer it to you. Also it makes sure that on some long days you have something available without having to start hunting yourselves. The guides should try to make clear that you're not obliged to eat in the hotels and can go elsewhere if you wish - I do appreciate that the hotels dinners can get a bit repetitive. In terms of the meals which aren’t included on the tour we are always careful with the restaurants we choose and recommend as we have to be sure that any such places meet minimum hygiene standards and provide a decent quality of food. Unfortunately on group tours its hard to recommend local style restaurants or street food to our guests (even though we know it can sometimes be delicious and cheap) partly because it can cause delays to the group if everyone disappears in different directions to eat, partly because there aren't always many decent options available on driving days, and partly to protect our guests from upset stomachs and diarrhoea that may come from unhygienic places. During any free time you are free to pick where you eat though. Overall, I’m pleased to see that you had a good tour, I hope that you’ll join us again in the future.
    Show detailed ratings
  • AK
    Written on January 7, 2019
    4.5 - Excellent

    We loved the whole trip. Our guide Adi (Adnane Snoussi) was in particular extremely impressive in his local knowledge and his ability to cater to all three languages spoken by the people in our tour (French, English, and Italian). That might not be for... Read more

    Show detailed ratings
  • AT
    Written on November 27, 2018
    1.5 - Rather poor

    The guide was absolutely shocking. He threatened us during the tour asking that we leave if we were unhappy. There were extremely limited explanations in English from the tour guide and when we complained to the tour operator halfway through the tour, they... Read more

    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Akanksha, Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, this is very much appreciated. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with this tour and in particular your tour guide. We're generally very proud of our tour guides as we know how important they are to the running of the tour and the enjoyment people get out if their trip. So we're upset and sorry that you were not satisfied with the guide on this particular tour. We did receive a number of calls from you whilst you were in Morocco where you expressed your disappointment in the guide and that you mentioned he was not giving enough guidance in English. Our guides in Morocco do give guidance in multiple languages and this is explained within our tour notes. Normally it is English plus one other, but it can sometimes be 3 languages, depending on the final make-up of the group. However, the explanations should always be balanced equally between each language. Following your telephone call we did speak with the guide to ensure he dedicated more time to English guidance and in your next call to us you acknowledged that this had been rectified. Following your further telephone conversations you specifically asked Mariska in our team not to speak further with the guide and therefore we didn't, as you had asked us to handle your feedback in this manner. On the evening out that you are referring to, it is our understanding that the tour guide had arranged for the group to visit a restaurant where transportation was provided. From speaking with the guide we understand that you asked to remain behind later than the rest of the group and therefore we collected you a little later upon your request. We acknowledge that the transfer did arrive slightly later than planned and I am sorry for any worry or inconvenience this caused. However I would note that this was not an included activity and this transfer and out of hours guidance was being provided free of charge to you and your fellow tour mates by the tour guide. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the accommodations provided. As this is one of our Shoestring level tours, we do use lower levels of accommodation than on our other tours. This is intentional, and it is reflected in the price at which the tour is sold. We do give information on all the hotels to be used on our website to be as transparent as possible. For those passengers who are looking for a little more comfort, we do offer the option of upgrading to higher level hotels. Having said all that, the rooms should always be clean and the service friendly. I was very sorry to read of the smoke issues you experienced at one place. While accidents can happen, it's certainly not a good experience if all your clothes were affected as you describe.
    Show detailed ratings
  • HR
    Written on October 25, 2018
    4.5 - Excellent

    Hadi our tour leader was fun, helpful and friendly. The tour itself was great, the places we visited were wonderful. Our driver was careful and brought us to our destination safe each day. Ibis Casablanca was the best hotel overall and food was fantastic.... Read more

    Show detailed ratings
  • DW
    Written on October 11, 2018
    3.0 - Average

    Our guide had to speak in three languages. Too much!! At most, two languages per tour. And each language should get equal reporting

    Show detailed ratings
  • N
    Written on October 4, 2018
    3.5 - Good

    not enough english spoken by guide

    Show detailed ratings
  • Imperial Cities reviewer 8
    Written on September 26, 2018
    4.0 - Good

    Very enjoyable. We stayed at the standard hotels and were happy. They were old but clean. The last day was very long, driving from Fez to Marrakech, but overall it was a nicely done trip. Thanks!

    Show detailed ratings
  • ED
    Written on July 23, 2018
    3.5 - Good

    Some days were a bit long Especially the final return day in the bus in extremely poor roads when pretty exhausted. As a single traveller I would have enjoyed more English speaking travel companions. Adnan was an excellent tour guide however his casual... Read more

    Show detailed ratings
  • A
    Written on June 11, 2018
    3.0 - Average

    you get what you paid for

    Show detailed ratings

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.

    • Where can I find more detailed information about this tour?

      A trip note - which contains essential information about your trip will be given to you. Information such as the daily itinerary, where to meet on the first day, what time the trip starts, how to get to the joining point hotel, included activities, visa information, etc will be mentioned in there. Please contact us for this.

    • Where and when does the tour start?

      The tour starts in Marrakech. Upon your arrival, you will be met by a tour operator representative and transferred to your accommodation. Day 1 is an arrivals day so you're free to spend the rest of the day relaxing and exploring!

    • Do you arrange airport transfers?

      This tour includes a 24-hour transfer service on the first day and the last day of the tour, so you don't have to worry about a thing from the moment you touch down. If you have booked pre/post tour accommodation through us then we can book your transfers, however, they won't be included in the tour cost.

    Ask a question

    Video

    TourRadar presents The Imperial Cities

    Guides who have led this tour

    Review.io logo What are people saying about TourRadar?

    • Michael7th March 2019
      The prices were very competitive and what I really liked was that it was in my local currency. When I booked the confirmation came back in good time. Since then I have received more correspondence regarding the trip, which is good to see and very informative.

    Availability

    NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Imperial Cities

    Select Departure Month
    • Upcoming departures
    • August 2019
    • September 2019
    • October 2019
    • November 2019
    • December 2019
    • January 2020
    • February 2020
    • March 2020
    • April 2020
    • May 2020
    • June 2020
    • July 2020
    • August 2020
    • September 2020
    • October 2020
    • November 2020
    • December 2020
    STARTENDSEATS LEFTSAVE NOW PRICE
    • Saturday
      Aug 24, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Aug 31, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Sep 7, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Sep 14, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Sep 21, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Sep 28, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Oct 5, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Oct 12, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Oct 19, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Oct 26, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Nov 2, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Nov 9, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Nov 16, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Nov 23, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Nov 30, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Dec 7, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Dec 14, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Dec 21, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    • Saturday
      Dec 21, 2019
      from Marrakesh
      8 Days
      Saturday
      Dec 28, 2019
      to Marrakesh
      10+ seats left
      $20
      USD $655
    Show more departures

    Monthly price comparison

    About the countries

    Useful things to know before you go

    Currencies

    د.إ
    Dirham
    Morocco

    Plugs & Adapters

    Morocco

    Visa

    Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

    Vaccinations

    These are only indications, so please visit your doctor before you travel to be 100% sure.
    Typhoid
    Recommended for Morocco. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Hepatitis A
    Recommended for Morocco. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Tuberculosis
    Recommended for Morocco. Ideally 3 months before travel.
    Hepatitis B
    Recommended for Morocco. Ideally 2 months before travel.
    Rabies
    Recommended for Morocco. Ideally 1 month before travel.

    Policies

    Location
    Start and end in Marrakesh.
    Trusted
    Your money is safe with TourRadar, as we only pay the tour operator after your tour has departed.
    Payment(s)
    For any tour departing before 20 October 2019 a full payment is necessary. For tours departing after 20 October 2019, a minimum payment of $250 is required to confirm your booking with Encounters Travel. The final payment will be automatically charged to your credit card on the designated due date. The final payment of the remaining balance is required at least 60 days days prior to the departure date of your tour. TourRadar never charges you a booking fee and will charge you in the stated currency.
    Cancellation policy
    TourRadar is an authorised Agent of Encounters Travel. Please familiarise yourself with the Encounters Travel payment, cancellation and refund conditions.
    Availability
    Some departure dates and prices may vary and Encounters Travel will contact you with any discrepancies before your booking is confirmed.
    Payment methods
    The following cards are accepted for Encounters Travel tours: Visa, Maestro, Mastercard, American Express or PayPal. TourRadar does NOT charge you an extra fee for using any of these payment methods.

    Destinations

    Covering a total distance of approx 862 km.
    • Marrakesh (Morocco)
    • 215 km
    • Casablanca (Morocco)
    • 88 km
    • Rabat (Morocco)
    • 118 km
    • Meknes (Morocco)
    • 53 km
    • Fes (Morocco)
    • 387 km
    • Marrakesh (Morocco)

    Why book with TourRadar

    Best Price Guarantee
    If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $592 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
    Safely book online
    All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
    6,486 tours in Africa
    covered by 522 different operators in Africa
    No Cancellation Fee
    TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date. If you cancel your booking for Imperial Cities via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
    19 Genuine Reviews
    All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Imperial Cities