BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESTRUSTED PAYMENTS

Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N

Average
5 reviews
Starts
Antigua
Destinations
+8
Ends
Antigua
Map

Highlights

Start and end in Antigua! With the self-guided tour Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N, you have a 6 day tour package taking you through Antigua, Guatemala and 6 other destinations in Guatemala. Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N includes accommodation, transport.
Age range
18 to 99 year olds
Accommodation
Hostel, Hotel, Hut
Travel style
Self-Guided, Discovery

5 Reviews

Excellent
20%
Good
20%
Average
20%
Rather Poor
20%
Bad
20%
Write a review
  • Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N reviewer 1
    Written on June 8, 2018
    4.0 - Good

    This was an a great tour for first timers to Guatemala! Prior to booking, I would recommend that you have the tour company book a pre and post night stay in Antigua, which is a Gem of a City!! It has amazing views and is so relaxed with multiple places for great food!! Plus, the first day of the tour is all traveling in a van with every seat full. Expect at least 9 hours of travel. During the whole tour, expect to travel 35+ hours on a bus....it’s roughing it a little, but worth beautiful Semuc Champey and Tikal! I recommend getting private rooms at the hostels, as I like comfort with Air conditioning. Watch out for scams!! Only purchase your ticket to Tikal at the bank....which is the only place you can legally buy. Have a great time!!! Use your extra day for Lake Atitlan! Amazing!!
    Show detailed ratings

    Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N customer review photo 1Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N customer review photo 2Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N customer review photo 3Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N customer review photo 4Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N customer review photo 5Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N customer review photo 6
  • Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N reviewer 2
    Written on April 6, 2018
    3.0 - Average

    The Itinerary was good to cover the important and feature sites for the tour. However, as travelers, we want to have a sense of safety and relax. The company did not send our detailed info. transportation and accommodation to us until we already out of country. We can't access e-mail when we step out. You treat your customers like trash. Just throw there without concerns, check-back by the local tourist company. We had no contact phone number. Poor connection with each day's activities. We were worry all of those days due to uncertainty of next step: where to go, where to stay, and what to do. We had to rely on the local people, who may familiar with Bamba. In one case, when we arrived to Flores, we did not know where to stay, no one told us or pick us up. A local agent asked us to buy the park entrance tickets, transportation, and guide from them. We paid extra money for transportation and guide fee, which should be included in our tour payment. In most situations, we have to rely on the local people to contact with Guatemala Bamba representative to get info., in order to move. Let your customers feel lacking a sense of security along the whole journey is the worse manner to do your business. We won't recommend our friends to choose your company. You guys have to value the customers, and treat them like real friends: consider every steps, and try to listen to them during their journey. The worse situation even happened at the last night. You changed the hostel, we did not know. You changed two times. We had to walk here and there. We were so tired, but still could not find our place to stay. In the morning of the last day, the hotel owner told us that you did not pay them. The owner won't release us unless we pay them. Finally, we called the local company to solve the problem. And the staff in Los Amigo Hostel helped us to print out the paper you sent during the trip, so that we could have the local contact number. I want to ask you, if you travel under that situation, do you feel frustrated? We won't trust you, no more!!!
    Show detailed ratings

  • KC
    Written on March 18, 2018
    2.0 - Rather poor

    I will never travel with Bamba Experience again the itinerary is not at all what it seems we were driven to locations and had to figure out where to go from there we almost missed one of our buses because not only was the bus late but the details weren’t clear as to where to be it tells you your at Tikal for 8 and half hours(12:30) but in reality the bus was there at 11 thank god we asked around while haveing lunch in the bus area also it’s doesnt explain you need to find your own transport back to the town and then to the bus station one of our hostels didn’t have the deposit yet everytime we called the emergency phone number they were either closed or spoke Spanish even though we call the us number this is more of a self guided tour no our guide no tour group my boyfriend and I were completely on our own the whole time and completely relied on locals with obviously is not very safe but atleast we were lucky it says meals are included they are not we felt very unsafe and had to catch a sooner flight
    Bamba Experience commented on this review
    Hello Kimberly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We'll work to make it clearer for everyone, the services are safe and booked in advance and we apologise if it wasn't what you were looking for. If you please revise the Q&A on TourRadar's site, you'll see that we inform which activities include a guide because it is necessary but we do not have any full-time guide, this is not promised at any moment. We are sorry you expected something different but our services are clearly independent travelling, self-guided as you mention. Take care, Rene Rodarte, Customer Service Manager
    Show detailed ratings

  • EK
    Written on March 5, 2017
    4.5 - Excellent

    I have to thank you for helping us have such an amassing experience. All the connections were easy to make, and although the travel was uncomfortable at times it was amazing to see the country. In all the stops, at all the tours and hostiles we simply had to say the tour companies name and everything was taken care off. All the tours were great, the ppl amazing and the lodgings clean and comfortable. We have seen the best of Guatemala, thank you.
    Bamba Experience commented on this review
    Dear Erzsebet, Thank you for posting such a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you consider our tour to be an amazing experience! We are constantly working to improve our trips in order to satisfy our travellers, so we greatly appreciate your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back soon on another Bamba adventure! Take care, Clement Bamba Happiness Team
    Show detailed ratings

  • Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N reviewer 5
    Written on February 13, 2017
    1.0 - Bad

    This was a horrible purchase. It is not really a tour. You just pay a lot of money for them to organize transportation and tours for you. In Guatemala, this is extremely easy and cheap to do at any hostel. Also, Bamba is incredibly disorganized, and hard to reach when things go wrong. So many things went wrong on my trip, that I was able to get a small refund, but it took a long time to convince them to give me even that small refund. Again,this is not a tour, this is false advertising. This should be taken down from tour radar.
    Bamba Experience commented on this review
    Hello Joshua, We’re sorry you found that our services disappointing. Our team did their best to fix the situation that arose from you taking the wrong bus on the first day, then going to another different city than the ones on your route. As explained already, the services you paid also include the quality-checking of the agencies that do have cheaper prices locally since they don’t have to pay for the international charges we deal with. We believe the refund we sent you is quite considerable, taking into account the services were provided. We have thousands of travellers who have no problems with taking the arranged shuttles. It is explained on the site that we offer a Self-Guided tour for independent travellers and which services are included. We’re sorry that you were unsatisfied with the services that we arranged for you since it was not what you were looking for. Take care, Rene/The Bamba Happiness Team
    Show detailed ratings

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
Expand all
  1. Introduction
  1. Day 1
  2. Day 2
  3. Day 3
  4. Day 4
  5. Day 5
  6. Day 6

What's included

Expand all
Download PDF Brochure
  • Accommodation

    Rated Good by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Rather poor by past passengers

Not included

  • Insurance

  • Meals

  • Additional Services

Videos

  • Happy World Adventures - Bamba Experience
  • Happy World Adventures - Bamba Experience
Happy World Adventures - Bamba Experience

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.

    • Can you assist with booking additional accommodation?

      Of course we can! If you wish to arrange additional accommodation then please contact our customer support team once you have a confirmed booking.

    • What would the nearest airport be, Guatemala City(GUA) or Flores (FRS)?

      The closest airport would be Guatemala City.

    • What are the inclusions of the tour price?

      Whats included -
      Transportation
      4 nights Accommodation (2N Lanquin, 1N Flores, 1N Antigua)
      1 night bus
      Kanba Caves & Semuc National Park Day Trip with Entrance Fees and English Speaking Guide
      Tikal Early Morning Day Trip with Entrance Fees and English Speaking Guide
      Pacaya Volcano Trek with Local Guide (Spanish Speaking)

      What's not included:
      Meals/Drinks
      Tips for Guide
      Personal Expenses
      Hiking Stick, Flashlight, Horseback Riding for Pacaya Volcano Trek
      Meals/Drinks
      Tips for Guide
      Personal Expenses

    Ask a question

    Review.io logo What are people saying about TourRadar?

    • Carlos4th June 2018
      Was very pleased with the ease that I was able to understand, and navigate your website. Have actually been looking at several other tour companies, some have played phone tag with me. Others have not bothered to return calls. Their websites have been difficult, to work and understand. Am super excited to be working with you. Am now working on finding affordable airfare. Thanks again. Looking forward to a wonderful adventure. Have already been giving several friends your info.

    Availability

    NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N

    Select Departure Month
    • Upcoming departures
    • October 2018
    • November 2018
    • December 2018
    • January 2019
    • February 2019
    • March 2019
    • April 2019
    • May 2019
    • June 2019
    • July 2019
    • August 2019
    • September 2019
    • October 2019
    STARTENDSEATS LEFTSAVE NOW PRICE
    • Tuesday
      Oct 23, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Sunday
      Oct 28, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Wednesday
      Oct 24, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Monday
      Oct 29, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Thursday
      Oct 25, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Tuesday
      Oct 30, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Friday
      Oct 26, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Wednesday
      Oct 31, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Saturday
      Oct 27, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Thursday
      Nov 1, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Sunday
      Oct 28, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Friday
      Nov 2, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Monday
      Oct 29, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Saturday
      Nov 3, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Tuesday
      Oct 30, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Sunday
      Nov 4, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Wednesday
      Oct 31, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Monday
      Nov 5, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    • Thursday
      Nov 1, 2018
      from Antigua
      6 Days
      Tuesday
      Nov 6, 2018
      to Antigua
      10+ seats left
      $12
      USD $379
      Based on Hostel Dorm
    Show more departures

    Monthly price comparison

    About the countries

    Useful things to know before you go

    Currencies

    Q
    Quetzal
    Guatemala

    Plugs & Adapters

    GuatemalaGuatemalaGuatemala

    Visa

    Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

    Vaccinations

    These are only indications, so please visit your doctor before you travel to be 100% sure.
    Typhoid
    Recommended for Guatemala. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Hepatitis A
    Recommended for Guatemala. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Tuberculosis
    Recommended for Guatemala. Ideally 3 months before travel.
    Hepatitis B
    Recommended for Guatemala. Ideally 2 months before travel.
    Yellow fever
    Certificate of vaccination required if arriving from an area with a risk of yellow fever transmission for Guatemala. Ideally 10 days before travel.

    Policies

    Location
    Start and end in Antigua.
    Trusted
    Your money is safe with TourRadar, as we only pay the tour operator after your tour has departed.
    Deposit
    TourRadar only requires a deposit of 30% to confirm this Bamba Experience booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 19 December 2018 the full payment of $379 is necessary.
    Cancellation policy
    No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $379 for Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N, but the deposit of 30% is non-refundable. If you cancel via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
    Availability
    Some departure dates and prices may vary and Bamba Experience will contact you with any discrepancies before your booking is confirmed.
    Credit Cards
    The following cards are accepted for Bamba Experience tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express

    Destinations

    Covering a total distance of approx 746 km.
    • Antigua (Guatemala)
    • 152 km
    • Grutas de Lanquin (Guatemala)
    • 16 km
    • Semuc Champey (Guatemala)
    • 16 km
    • Grutas de Lanquin (Guatemala)
    • 141 km
    • Flores (Guatemala)
    • 44 km
    • Tikal (Guatemala)
    • 306 km
    • Guatemala City (Guatemala)
    • 23 km
    • Antigua (Guatemala)
    • 24 km
    • Volcan Pacaya (Guatemala)
    • 24 km
    • Antigua (Guatemala)

    Why book with TourRadar

    Best Price Guarantee
    If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $379 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
    Safely book online
    All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
    3,820 tours in Latin America
    covered by 162 different operators in Latin America
    No Cancellation Fee
    TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date. If you cancel your booking for Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
    5 Genuine Reviews
    All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Tikal & Semuc Champey Experience 6D/5N