BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESTRUSTED PAYMENTS

Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic

Days
14
Our saving
$83
From
US $ 1,654
Cost/day $118
Unlock $83 in extra savings
Check availability
24/7 Customer SupportAsk a question
This tour is operated by
Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic - Flying Kiwi
Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic - Flying Kiwi
Average
5 reviews
Starts
Queenstown
Destinations
+14
Ends
Auckland
Map

Highlights

Start in Queenstown and end in Auckland! With the adventure tour Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic, you have a 14 day tour package taking you from Queenstown to Auckland and through Queenstown, New Zealand and 14 other destinations in New Zealand. Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic is a small group tour that includes accommodation as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.
Age range
18 to 60 year olds
Accommodation
Hostel, Camping, Berth / Cabin
Max Group Size
26
Transportation
Coach / Bus, Ferry
Travel style
Adventure

5 Reviews

Excellent
40%
Good
0%
Average
0%
Rather Poor
40%
Bad
20%
Write a review
  • SE
    Written on March 13, 2018
    4.5 - Excellent

    If you enjoy camping in all weathers, love the camaraderie of meeting new people and touring with them. Happy to take up a challenge and try new experiences then this trip is for you. It is a way of seeing New Zealand and have lots of fun.
    Flying Kiwi commented on this review
    Thanks Sue and so glad you had a great trip. You're review is spot on for loving the outdoors though we do throw in some hostel nights and cabin upgrades for those who fancy taking a break from the canvas. :)
    Show detailed ratings

  • F
    Written on January 22, 2018
    1.0 - Bad

    Trudi and I raised the request to cancel the hostel booking prior to arriving in Auckland but the tour guide didn't bother calling the hostel to enquire about cancelling the booking and just told us it was already too late to get out of the booking. The guide then copied my credit card details down on a piece of paper to pay for the hostel which I didn't stay in as I didn't have cash at the time, and lo and behold, a fraudulent credit card transaction came through for online shopping today on my card which I've had for years and never had any issues with. There is no diagram which shows where you can get water from the bus on the onboard guide. I was also accused by one of the guides of breaking the cable ties for the sleeping mat when they were not broken. I had just tied two of them together as I had trouble tying the mat with just one of the cables. The tour guide then went on to tell everyone on the bus that they should report broken cable ties in an annoyed tone. I don't see why I would have to report anything when the cables were not broken in the first place. perhaps the guests who felt that there was enough food were the ones that were first in line to get the food, as I was the last on a few occasions and the salad was completely gone and I'd heard people saying they were hoping for more/larger pieces of fish but there wasn't enough. The company has also neglected to address the issue with me being left off the bus when it drove off. There was no apology or even acknowledgement when I opened the door myself and got on when I caught up to the bus when it stopped for traffic at an intersection.
    Show detailed ratings

  • M
    Written on January 17, 2018
    1.5 - Rather poor

    Where is the diagram which shows where you can get water from the bus on the onboard guide? I was also accused of breaking the cable ties for the sleeping mat when they were not broken. I had just tied two of them together as I had trouble tying the mat with just one of the cables. The tour guide then went on to tell everyone on the bus that they should report broken cable ties in an annoyed tone. I don't see why I would have to report anything when the cables were not broken in the first place. perhaps these guests who felt that there was enough food were the ones that were first in line to get the food, as I was the last on a few occasions and the salad was completely gone and I'd heard people saying they were hoping for more/larger pieces of fish but there wasn't enough. Trudi and I raised the request to cancel the hostel booking prior to arriving in Auckland but the tour guide didn't bother calling the hostel to enquire about cancelling the booking and just told us it was 'too late' to get out of the booking. you have also neglected to address the issue with me being left off the bus when it drove off. There was no apology or even acknowledgement when I opened the door myself and got on when I caught up to the bus when it stopped for traffic at an intersection.
    Show detailed ratings

  • PU
    Written on January 13, 2018
    4.5 - Excellent

    My experience with Flying Kiwi Reverse Traverse Queenstown to Auckland was fabulous. Staff were helpful and wanted everyone to have the best experience in New Zealand. I liked that they were actually from New Zealand. My only complaint was that there wasn't enough time to see and do everything but that is the nature of a two week trip to see an entire country.
    Flying Kiwi commented on this review
    Thanks for the comment Pamela and so pleased you loved your trip. Yep the 2 week trip does pack a lot in - all i can say is our 28 day option is the best to see "everytjing" but maybe you can join us and do the remainder another time. :)
    Show detailed ratings

  • M
    Written on January 11, 2018
    1.5 - Rather poor

    the Reverse traverse tour joins the Grand Traverse tour group halfway through the tour so I wasn't given a bus introduction and didn't find out how to get water from the bus and didn't even know there was a safe on board etc until my third last day when a new group joined the tour. There was apparently also an introduction to native NZ birds given to the earlier group which I wasn't given when I joined (I'm assuming the tour guides couldn't be bothered repeating the info to all the new people joining the tour). The tour guides change halfway and the groups of people on the bus change constantly, so you go from trying to integrate into established cliques to trying to remember all the new people joining the tour and saying goodbye to people constantly leaving throughout the tour after you've only just gotten to know them. the itinerary I was provided stated I would be able to visit the Waiwera hot pools but this only happened after I left the tour. I was given incorrect information about the tour right after booking and tried to sign up for a bunch of activities that I was later told weren't included in my tour. I was also asked to pay twice for a single tent. The tour guide complained about people asking him New Zealand sightseeing questions during a conversation. the other tour guide gave me a rude look when I asked where I could rejoin the group after doing an individual activity and i didn't end up getting an answer to my question. I just wandered around town aimlessly for a few hours after my activity until I saw the bus and got on. The tour bus forgot me and left me at Paihia even though there were 3 guides on board and apparently one of them even counted the number of heads before driving off. the second bus was old and the usb chargers were not working on one side of the bus. the knives were so blunt we struggled to even cut tomatoes and capsicums (a knife sharpener costs $5 from Countdown.. where does all our money go?) some of the campsites were dirty and the showers didn't drain and there was no hot water when there were 2 or more people showering at the same time. on one campsite we had to pay $2 for evey 4 minutes of hot water. all the hostels we stayed in were very dirty and had no air conditioning (Jucy Snooze Auckland smelled like pee and the sink didn't drain/toiler didn't flush properly at Hotel Waterloo). several people booked hotels instead and complained that they wanted to leave the tour early and go off on their own. We were still forced to pay for the hostels even though we didn't stay there. I heard the tour guide say to a guy that didn't speak much English that she hoped she would get a better group after we left. there were a few occasions where there was not enough food and I learned to buy extra food wherever I could so I wouldn't be hungry.
    Flying Kiwi commented on this review
    Hi Mei, It is very disappointing to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time on tour with us. I have tried to make contact with you directly to discuss some of your concerns, however I have not heard anything back from you. Thank you for taking the time to write, I will attempt to clear up some of your issues or misconceptions with my response here. When new guests join a tour, our driver and guides give an introduction to the bus and onboard facilities. This is sometimes over the bus PA if we are on the road, or as a personal introduction if joining at a camp as you did in Queenstown. We have a comprehensive printed onboard guide that is given to every passenger to read. The guide contains all of the information pertinent to your tour, such as the onboard safe and I am assured that you were given this to read and had an introduction from our senior team on arrival in Queenstown. The nature of a bus tour circumnavigating a whole country, will always lead to people joining and leaving in different places. We have 5 departure or end points to a tour throughout the country, it would be impractical to have all passengers joining and leaving in the same place as guests holiday dates almost always differ. Our teams always try their absolute best to help newcomers to the tour integrate into the group. Of note would be mealtimes, designed with rotating cook groups, actively encouraging social interaction. Getting to know new people and making new friends is one of the many reasons that people join our tours and our staff will do all they can to help with that process. My apologies if you found this difficult or not the case, whilst on board. Waiwera Hot pools are part of the tour that you were on, they are located close to Orewa North of Auckland. Unfortunately on the day that you were due to visit, the pools were closed for construction work, this is completely out of our control and was explained by your guide to the group. The next opportunity to visit Hot Pools was at Hot Water Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, this would have been after you left the tour in Auckland. Again my apologies if this was a confusing situation. Having booked through a travel agent as you did, your single tent upgrade was paid for at the time of booking, the pre-trip email that you received simply outlines extra costs that passengers may want to consider before their departure. I have looked back through your email correspondence and I can see that when you queried the upgrade cost that you had already paid, Penny replied immediately with this explanation. Similarly, the activities that were listed in the pre trip email are those activities that are extremely popular across New Zealand and therefore we recommend pre booking to secure a place. Some of those activities may not have been on the tour that you did. I realise that this may have led to confusion and I will look to implement a more tour specific pre trip email in the future. The “old” bus that you mention you were in for the second half of your tour is a custom built 2016 Mitsubishi Fuso. It is in its second season of use. I am surprised that you felt that this was an old bus! I was aware and acknowledge that the USB ports failed on one side of the bus after leaving Wellington, however they were repaired within 4 days, as soon as practically possible to get to an auto electrician to fix. My apologies if this issue left you feeling inconvenienced. The fully stocked kitchen on board has multiple kitchen knives for food preparation, the team do their best to keep them sharp and we do have a very good knife sharpener on board. I will let my teams know to verbalise this fact in future so that guests don’t struggle on with a blunt knife. The menus on tour are designed to be wholesome, healthy and filling. We have many years of experience providing meals to our guests and also cater to many specific dietary requirements. The guides shop to a menu that is worked out for the number of people on board. Again I am surprised to hear that you felt that there wasn’t enough food supplied on your tour, this is definitely not echoed in the feedback left by other members of your tour. We have spent many years building relationships with campsite and hostel operators. We try to pick the best of the best for your tour and we have a variety of upgrade options to suit all budgets, in most of the places that we stay. If our guests have issues with camps or hostels, we actively encourage communication of those issues and are happy to report back to the accommodation providers. If we don’t know of an issue at the time, then it is very difficult for us to put it right, or at least inform the campsite owner to see what can be done to find a resolution. You were required to pay for your Jucy hostel in Auckland as you were booked to stay there and didn’t inform us of your intention to stay somewhere else. My team actually spent over an hour in Auckland city centre trying to locate you after you left without word to find your own alternate accommodation. The only other customers who made their own arrangements had finished their tour and were leaving the group in Auckland. My apologies again if you found this situation confusing, had we known that you wanted to find your own accommodation that night we could have cancelled your booking. Once again I am sorry that your tour didn’t live up to your expectations. Customer experience and satisfaction sits extremely high on our priority list. If guests are having problems on tour, generally we find that issues can be resolved quite easily, but only if those issues are brought to our attention at the time.
    Show detailed ratings

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
Expand all
  1. Introduction
  1. DAY 1: QUEENSTOWN - MOUNT ASPIRING NATIONAL PARK
    Start point Corner Shotover and Camp Street, The Station, Queenstown, Otago Region 9300, New Zealand 14:30
  2. DAY 2: MOUNT ASPIRING NATIONAL PARK - FOX GLACIER
  3. DAY 3: FOX GLACIER - OKARITO LAGOON
  4. DAY 4: OKARITO LAGOON - PAPAROA NATIONAL PARK
  5. DAY 5: PAPAROA NATIONAL PARK - ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK
  6. DAY 6: ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK
  7. DAY 7: ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK
  8. DAY 8: ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK - WELLINGTON
  9. DAY 9: WELLINGTON - NEW PLYMOUTH
  10. DAY 10: NEW PLYMOUTH - AUCKLAND
  11. DAY 11: AUCKLAND - BAY OF ISLANDS
  12. DAY 12: BAY OF ISLANDS
  13. DAY 13: BAY OF ISLANDS - OREWA
  14. DAY 14: OREWA - AUCKLAND
    End point Bus stop (opposite ferry terminal), 172 Quay Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand 18:00

Travel guide

Prepare for an adventure in this stunning destination with our travel guide.

What's included

Expand all
Download PDF Brochure
  • Accommodation

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Meals

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Additional Services

Not included

  • Optional

  • Additional Services

Video

Flying Kiwi Tour Video

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.

  • We are an easy going couple in our early 30's and would like to be with like minded people, What is the general age group of the people on the tour?

    Age REALLY is only a number on our tours. The ages can range from 20-70 on some tours and rather than being of a similar age, our travellers have a love for the Great Outdoors, camping in stunning locations, an active holiday and meeting people from all walks of life and all over the world in common.

    The average age however is generally between 25-45 years.

  • Do you arrange bus/service that will take me from the airport to the meeting point?

    Yes. We can help arrange a shuttle from the airport to our pick up point.

Ask a question

Review.io logo What are people saying about TourRadar?

  • Shereen22nd June 2018
    It is a great site for looking at different offers. I am very excited about my upcoming trip later down in the year. I have recommended TourRadar to friends and family who want to travel. It is simple to book and secure tours. The communication is fast from tour companies which are needed when considering investments such as tours.

Availability

NO CREDIT CARD FEES

Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic

Select Departure Month
  • Upcoming departures
  • November 2018
  • December 2018
  • January 2019
  • February 2019
  • March 2019
  • April 2019
STARTENDSEATS LEFTSAVE NOW PRICE
  • Friday
    Nov 2, 2018
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Thursday
    Nov 15, 2018
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Sunday
    Nov 11, 2018
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Saturday
    Nov 24, 2018
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Tuesday
    Nov 20, 2018
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Monday
    Dec 3, 2018
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Thursday
    Nov 29, 2018
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Wednesday
    Dec 12, 2018
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Saturday
    Dec 8, 2018
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Friday
    Dec 21, 2018
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Monday
    Dec 17, 2018
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Sunday
    Dec 30, 2018
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Wednesday
    Dec 26, 2018
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Tuesday
    Jan 8, 2019
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Friday
    Jan 4, 2019
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Thursday
    Jan 17, 2019
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Sunday
    Jan 13, 2019
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Saturday
    Jan 26, 2019
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
  • Tuesday
    Jan 22, 2019
    from Queenstown
    14 Days
    Monday
    Feb 4, 2019
    to Auckland
    4 seats left
    $83
    USD $1,654
Show more departures

Monthly price comparison

About the countries

Useful things to know before you go

Currencies

$
Dollar
New Zealand

Plugs & Adapters

New Zealand

Visa

Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

Policies

Location
Queenstown is the starting point and Auckland is the endpoint.
Trusted
Your money is safe with TourRadar, as we only pay the tour operator after your tour has departed.
Deposit
TourRadar only requires a deposit of 20% to confirm this Flying Kiwi booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 14 December 2018 the full payment of $1,654 is necessary.
Cancellation policy
No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $1654 for Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic, but the deposit of 20% is non-refundable. If you cancel via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
Availability
Some departure dates and prices may vary and Flying Kiwi will contact you with any discrepancies before your booking is confirmed.
Credit Cards
The following cards are accepted for Flying Kiwi tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express

Destinations

Covering a total distance of approx 1,744 km.
  • Queenstown (New Zealand)
  • 68 km
  • Lake Wanaka (New Zealand)
  • 137 km
  • Fox Glacier (New Zealand)
  • 29 km
  • Okarito (New Zealand)
  • 157 km
  • Punakaiki (New Zealand)
  • 189 km
  • Abel Tasman NP (New Zealand)
  • 46 km
  • Nelson (New Zealand)
  • 60 km
  • Picton (New Zealand)
  • 65 km
  • Wellington (New Zealand)
  • 255 km
  • New Plymouth (New Zealand)
Show all destinations

Why book with TourRadar

Best Price Guarantee
If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $1,654 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
Safely book online
All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
937 tours in Australia/Oceania
covered by 68 different operators in Australia/Oceania
No Cancellation Fee
TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date. If you cancel your booking for Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
5 Genuine Reviews
All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic