Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic
- Our saving
- US $ 1,725
- Age range
- 18 to 65 year olds
- Hostel, Camping, Berth / Cabin
- Max Group Size
- Coach / Bus, Ferry
- Rather Poor
- PUPamelaWritten on January 13, 20184.5 - ExcellentMy experience with Flying Kiwi Reverse Traverse Queenstown to Auckland was fabulous. Staff were helpful and wanted everyone to have the best experience in New Zealand. I liked that they were actually from New Zealand. My only complaint was that there wasn't enough time to see and do everything but that is the nature of a two week trip to see an entire country.Show detailed ratingsFlying Kiwi commented on this reviewThanks for the comment Pamela and so pleased you loved your trip. Yep the 2 week trip does pack a lot in - all i can say is our 28 day option is the best to see "everytjing" but maybe you can join us and do the remainder another time. :)
- MMeiWritten on January 11, 20181.5 - Rather poorthe Reverse traverse tour joins the Grand Traverse tour group halfway through the tour so I wasn't given a bus introduction and didn't find out how to get water from the bus and didn't even know there was a safe on board etc until my third last day when a new group joined the tour. There was apparently also an introduction to native NZ birds given to the earlier group which I wasn't given when I joined (I'm assuming the tour guides couldn't be bothered repeating the info to all the new people joining the tour). The tour guides change halfway and the groups of people on the bus change constantly, so you go from trying to integrate into established cliques to trying to remember all the new people joining the tour and saying goodbye to people constantly leaving throughout the tour after you've only just gotten to know them. the itinerary I was provided stated I would be able to visit the Waiwera hot pools but this only happened after I left the tour. I was given incorrect information about the tour right after booking and tried to sign up for a bunch of activities that I was later told weren't included in my tour. I was also asked to pay twice for a single tent. The tour guide complained about people asking him New Zealand sightseeing questions during a conversation. the other tour guide gave me a rude look when I asked where I could rejoin the group after doing an individual activity and i didn't end up getting an answer to my question. I just wandered around town aimlessly for a few hours after my activity until I saw the bus and got on. The tour bus forgot me and left me at Paihia even though there were 3 guides on board and apparently one of them even counted the number of heads before driving off. the second bus was old and the usb chargers were not working on one side of the bus. the knives were so blunt we struggled to even cut tomatoes and capsicums (a knife sharpener costs $5 from Countdown.. where does all our money go?) some of the campsites were dirty and the showers didn't drain and there was no hot water when there were 2 or more people showering at the same time. on one campsite we had to pay $2 for evey 4 minutes of hot water. all the hostels we stayed in were very dirty and had no air conditioning (Jucy Snooze Auckland smelled like pee and the sink didn't drain/toiler didn't flush properly at Hotel Waterloo). several people booked hotels instead and complained that they wanted to leave the tour early and go off on their own. We were still forced to pay for the hostels even though we didn't stay there. I heard the tour guide say to a guy that didn't speak much English that she hoped she would get a better group after we left. there were a few occasions where there was not enough food and I learned to buy extra food wherever I could so I wouldn't be hungry.Show detailed ratingsFlying Kiwi commented on this reviewHi Mei, It is very disappointing to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time on tour with us. I have tried to make contact with you directly to discuss some of your concerns, however I have not heard anything back from you. Thank you for taking the time to write, I will attempt to clear up some of your issues or misconceptions with my response here. When new guests join a tour, our driver and guides give an introduction to the bus and onboard facilities. This is sometimes over the bus PA if we are on the road, or as a personal introduction if joining at a camp as you did in Queenstown. We have a comprehensive printed onboard guide that is given to every passenger to read. The guide contains all of the information pertinent to your tour, such as the onboard safe and I am assured that you were given this to read and had an introduction from our senior team on arrival in Queenstown. The nature of a bus tour circumnavigating a whole country, will always lead to people joining and leaving in different places. We have 5 departure or end points to a tour throughout the country, it would be impractical to have all passengers joining and leaving in the same place as guests holiday dates almost always differ. Our teams always try their absolute best to help newcomers to the tour integrate into the group. Of note would be mealtimes, designed with rotating cook groups, actively encouraging social interaction. Getting to know new people and making new friends is one of the many reasons that people join our tours and our staff will do all they can to help with that process. My apologies if you found this difficult or not the case, whilst on board. Waiwera Hot pools are part of the tour that you were on, they are located close to Orewa North of Auckland. Unfortunately on the day that you were due to visit, the pools were closed for construction work, this is completely out of our control and was explained by your guide to the group. The next opportunity to visit Hot Pools was at Hot Water Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, this would have been after you left the tour in Auckland. Again my apologies if this was a confusing situation. Having booked through a travel agent as you did, your single tent upgrade was paid for at the time of booking, the pre-trip email that you received simply outlines extra costs that passengers may want to consider before their departure. I have looked back through your email correspondence and I can see that when you queried the upgrade cost that you had already paid, Penny replied immediately with this explanation. Similarly, the activities that were listed in the pre trip email are those activities that are extremely popular across New Zealand and therefore we recommend pre booking to secure a place. Some of those activities may not have been on the tour that you did. I realise that this may have led to confusion and I will look to implement a more tour specific pre trip email in the future. The “old” bus that you mention you were in for the second half of your tour is a custom built 2016 Mitsubishi Fuso. It is in its second season of use. I am surprised that you felt that this was an old bus! I was aware and acknowledge that the USB ports failed on one side of the bus after leaving Wellington, however they were repaired within 4 days, as soon as practically possible to get to an auto electrician to fix. My apologies if this issue left you feeling inconvenienced. The fully stocked kitchen on board has multiple kitchen knives for food preparation, the team do their best to keep them sharp and we do have a very good knife sharpener on board. I will let my teams know to verbalise this fact in future so that guests don’t struggle on with a blunt knife. The menus on tour are designed to be wholesome, healthy and filling. We have many years of experience providing meals to our guests and also cater to many specific dietary requirements. The guides shop to a menu that is worked out for the number of people on board. Again I am surprised to hear that you felt that there wasn’t enough food supplied on your tour, this is definitely not echoed in the feedback left by other members of your tour. We have spent many years building relationships with campsite and hostel operators. We try to pick the best of the best for your tour and we have a variety of upgrade options to suit all budgets, in most of the places that we stay. If our guests have issues with camps or hostels, we actively encourage communication of those issues and are happy to report back to the accommodation providers. If we don’t know of an issue at the time, then it is very difficult for us to put it right, or at least inform the campsite owner to see what can be done to find a resolution. You were required to pay for your Jucy hostel in Auckland as you were booked to stay there and didn’t inform us of your intention to stay somewhere else. My team actually spent over an hour in Auckland city centre trying to locate you after you left without word to find your own alternate accommodation. The only other customers who made their own arrangements had finished their tour and were leaving the group in Auckland. My apologies again if you found this situation confusing, had we known that you wanted to find your own accommodation that night we could have cancelled your booking. Once again I am sorry that your tour didn’t live up to your expectations. Customer experience and satisfaction sits extremely high on our priority list. If guests are having problems on tour, generally we find that issues can be resolved quite easily, but only if those issues are brought to our attention at the time.
ItineraryDownload PDF Brochure
DAY 1: QUEENSTOWN - MOUNT ASPIRING NATIONAL PARK
- DAY 2: MOUNT ASPIRING NATIONAL PARK - FOX GLACIER
- DAY 3: FOX GLACIER - OKARITO LAGOON
- DAY 4: OKARITO LAGOON - PAPAROA NATIONAL PARK
- DAY 5: PAPAROA NATIONAL PARK - ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK
- DAY 6: ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK
- DAY 7: ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK
- DAY 8: ABEL TASMAN NATIONAL PARK - WELLINGTON
- DAY 9: WELLINGTON - NEW PLYMOUTH
- DAY 10: NEW PLYMOUTH - AUCKLAND
- DAY 11: AUCKLAND - BAY OF ISLANDS
- DAY 12: BAY OF ISLANDS
- DAY 13: BAY OF ISLANDS - OREWA
- DAY 14: OREWA - AUCKLAND
AccommodationRated Average by past passengers
GuideRated Good by past passengers
MealsRated Good by past passengers
TransportRated Good by past passengers
- Optional Extras
Questions & Answers
Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.
- September 15, 2016
We are an easy going couple in our early 30's and would like to be with like minded people, What is the general age group of the people on the tour?
Age REALLY is only a number on our tours. The ages can range from 20-70 on some tours and rather than being of a similar age, our travellers have a love for the Great Outdoors, camping in stunning locations, an active holiday and meeting people from all walks of life and all over the world in common.
The average age however is generally between 25-45 years.
- March 1, 2016
Do you arrange bus/service that will take me from the airport to the meeting point?
Yes. We can help arrange a shuttle from the airport to our pick up point.
What are people saying about TourRadar?
- Jefferey24th January 2018
Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic
- Upcoming departures
- February 2018
- March 2018
- April 2018
- November 2018
- December 2018
- January 2019
- February 2019
- March 2019
- April 2019
- TuesdayFeb 27, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysMondayMar 12, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$44USD $1,725
- ThursdayMar 8, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysWednesdayMar 21, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$44USD $1,725
- SaturdayMar 17, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysFridayMar 30, 2018to Auckland0 seats left$44USD $1,725Sold outSee similar tours on this date
- MondayMar 26, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysSundayApr 8, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$44USD $1,725
- WednesdayApr 4, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysTuesdayApr 17, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$44USD $1,725
- FridayNov 2, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysThursdayNov 15, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$47USD $1,813
- SundayNov 11, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysSaturdayNov 24, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$47USD $1,813
- TuesdayNov 20, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysMondayDec 3, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$47USD $1,813
- ThursdayNov 29, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysWednesdayDec 12, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$47USD $1,813
- SaturdayDec 8, 2018from Queenstown14 DaysFridayDec 21, 2018to AucklandOnly 2 seats left$47USD $1,813
Monthly price comparison
About the countries
- DollarNew Zealand
Plugs & Adapters
- Queenstown is the starting point and Auckland is the endpoint.
- Your money is safe with TourRadar, as we only pay the tour operator after your tour has departed.
- TourRadar only requires a deposit of 20% to confirm this Flying Kiwi booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 23 April 2018 the full payment of $1,725 is necessary.
- Cancellation policy
- No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $1725 for Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic, but the deposit of 20% is non-refundable. If you cancel via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
- Some departure dates and prices may vary and Flying Kiwi will contact you with any discrepancies before your booking is confirmed.
- Credit Cards
- The following cards are accepted for Flying Kiwi tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express
- Queenstown (New Zealand)
- 68 km
- Lake Wanaka (New Zealand)
- 137 km
- Fox Glacier (New Zealand)
- 29 km
- Okarito (New Zealand)
- 157 km
- Punakaiki (New Zealand)
- 189 km
- Abel Tasman NP (New Zealand)
- 95 km
- Picton (New Zealand)
- 65 km
- Wellington (New Zealand)
- 255 km
- New Plymouth (New Zealand)
- 253 km
- Auckland (New Zealand)
Why book with TourRadar
- Best Price Guarantee
- If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $1,725 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
- Safely book online
- All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
- 928 tours in Australia/Oceania
- covered by 55 different operators in Australia/Oceania
- No Cancellation Fee
- TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date. If you cancel your booking for Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
- 2 Genuine Reviews
- All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Reverse Traverse from Queenstown - Top rated by National Geographic