BIGGEST SELECTIONBEST PRICES24/7CUSTOMER SUPPORT

Jordan Encounters

Jordan Encounters - Encounters Travel
Jordan Encounters - Encounters Travel
Good
8 reviews
Starts
Amman
Destinations
+9
Ends
Amman
Map

Highlights

Start and end in Amman! With the discovery tour Jordan Encounters, you have a 8 day tour package taking you through Amman, Jordan and 8 other destinations. Jordan Encounters includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.
Age range
5 to 99 year olds
Accommodation
Hotel, Berth / Cabin, Sleeper Train
Max Group Size
18
Transportation
Train & Rail, Coach / Bus, Boat

8 Reviews

Excellent
0%
Good
0%
Average
100%
Rather Poor
0%
Bad
0%
Write a review
  • KD
    Written on September 7, 2017
    3.0 - Average

    Jordan has always been on my bucket list. So glad I've been. 4 days of our tour were awesome but Day 1 was a waste of time. Not good and not worth it Jerash, the Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum were all amazing beautiful places. Our first hotel was fantastic. Sulaf Hotel. But we were dropped off to our camp on Friday morning at 11.30 at Wadi Rum with no guide and no idea what was happening. It was 40 degrees our accommodation was a tent which was hotter inside it. We sat at camp the remainder of the day with no electricity or guide or plan. Our guide wanted to get back to Amman early to spend time with his family. Odd when you pay top $$$ for a tour and your left on your own. On the Saturday morning we asked one of the staff who was coming to pick us up to go back to Amman and no one knew anything. We were told to wait. Our accommodation in Amman on the Saturday night was terrible. It was on a busy roundabout which was so so noisy and you couldn't sleep. This was no 4 star accommodation which our tour was rated. Some itinerary changes need to be made.
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Karen, Thanks for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, it’s very much appreciated and helps us to improve our tours for our future travellers. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your trip, we’ve tried to address each of the points you’ve raised below. I hope that this is helpful. Day 1 It's great to hear that you were able to tick off one of your bucket list destinations and that you felt most of the tour was awesome. However, I’m sorry if you felt that day 1 was a waste. I’m not sure if you are meaning the tour to Pella and Umm Qais here, or the arrival day, so will cover both here. As you had made your own pre-tour arrangements prior to joining the tour, you perhaps had more free time on the arrival day than is usual for our travellers who mostly arrive later on this day and appreciate some free time after their flights. We do offer some optional day trips in our Tour Notes for people who do arrive early. Pella and Umm Qais visited on Day 2, the first sightseeing day, are not Jordan’s most important or dramatic sites, but we do feel that they add something to the tour. Umm Qais shows a distinctive Roman city layout and has a lovely location high in the mountains, while Pella is rich in both antiquities and ruins covering thousands of years from a Chalcolithic settlement from 4000BC, Iron and Bronze age walled city remains, Byzantine churches a Greco Roman theatre, and early Islamic houses and a medieval mosque. Wadi Rum camp The tour includes a jeep safari in Wadi Rum in the morning, and then a free afternoon at the camp. The guide will sometimes return to Amman from Wadi Rum rather than staying overnight and we cover this in our tour notes (one of our shorter tours returns to Amman from Wadi Rum and if there are people on that trip the guide will return with them). This is something which we are considering changing for 2018 though as we agree that it would be better for the guide to stay overnight with the group here. The reason we haven’t done this in the past is because the crew at the Bedouin camp are normally very helpful in suggesting and arranging things to do during your free time (such as walks to the nearby sand dunes, longer hikes, camel rides of anything from 30 minutes to a whole afternoon, and then star gazing later at night). I’m sorry the camp staff weren’t as helpful as they should have been during your visit. It appears that this was because of the heat that you mention which made them assume that people would not want to be doing much activity in the middle of the day. We’re ensuring that assumptions are not made like this in future and all options are offered to fill your time to suit your preferences. Unfortunately due to the nature of camping in the desert, it can make the tents uncomfortably hot during daylight hours. There are some larger camps outside the desert reserve that can provide air conditioning, but this isn’t an option in the smaller camps that we like to use that are right inside Wadi Rum. Return to Amman We are ensuring that the communication is much better from the camp about the return to Amman. This tour is advertised as staying in 3 and 4-star level hotels with the final night in Amman being in a 3-star hotel. We do explain this in the tour notes and show the 3-star Antika Hotel as being used in Amman for the second stay. We like to use a Downtown hotel for your second stay in Amman so that you are much closer to areas of interest for your final evening, and the Antika Hotel has a great location at the top of Rainbow Street. This is a busy road with the locals (which is one reason we feel it is a good place to stay, as there are numerous cafes and restaurants to visit and relax in). Your stay coincided with the Eid Festival in Jordan which did result in downtown Amman being much busier and noisier than is usual. Overall I’m sorry once again that some elements of the tour didn’t live up to your expectations. I agree that communication could have been better in some sections and we are working on this, as well as planning some adjustments to the itinerary as a whole for 2018.
    Show detailed ratings

  • A
    Written on January 2, 2014
    4.0 - Good

    typically small group travel experiences can be very new and enduring. However, this one was moved by the presence of overwhelming tourisths that complained about all things. Their demeanor made it challenging to have a posititive vacation experience. Our driver, Yousef, made all the difference for us. His pleasant, helful and attentative approach turned what could have been a bad experience into a very pleasant one. I was very amazed by the way that he so calmly and professionally handled two tourist that were so difficult to please. Overall I had a wonderful Jordan experience.

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    This has been an amazing tour. I've enjoyed the whole week from day one. I've felt very welcome here in Jordan and I would definitely return. Petra by night is incredible as well as walking to the top to see the monestary. The Dead Se we go to tomorrow but realy looking forward to that. All in all this has been a memorable trip and I'll be keeping these memories I've made here close to my heart forever. The history and culture is incredible and thanks for running the tour. Thanks to Bashan for being a great driver / guide too!

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    Bashan the guide was fantastic. He kept us informed and answered all our questions. He is your best asset! Overall great tour. The hotel in Amman is quite far out of town center, and not a lot to do in the hotel or surrounding area. Maybe we would have preferred a night at the Dead Sea or Medaba instead of penultimate Amman night

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    Whilst the standard of the hotel in Amman was fine, the towel smelled unwashed - small point. We appreciate the flexibility that the guide showed. May not have been possible for a larger group.

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    A very big thank you to our driver Yusef for taking such good care of us on our holiday. We had a really relaxing holiday and my back and my back is feeling much better because we had time to re couperate. We will make sure we tell our friends and family back home all about it and hopefully we may even come back to Jordan for a second holiday soon!

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    4.0 - Good

    Our driver was exceptional and we would love to recoomend him. He arranged everything brilliantly and his time keeping was immaculate. The Geneva Hotel in Amman was oor for a 4-star hotel. Boathroom was poor. Service was poor. The tour would have been better if we stopped overnight in a Dead Sea resort on day 6 instead of traveling back to Amman. Alot of time was wasted driving between Amman, Jerash and teh Dead Sea on day 7. This could be avoided by staying in the Dead Sea overnight and give you more time there. We had 1.5 hours at the Dead Sea which was nowhere near enought. Thank you for helping to make this a holiday we will never forget!

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012

    We swopped Jerash for Hot Springs. It was incredible. We didn’t do Kerak as we didn’t want to. Our guide was excellent. Overall a good tour. We wish we had more assistance with the hotel situation as by the time we got internet access, Joseph told us to contact you directly

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
  • Introduction
  • Expand all
  • Day 1: Arrive in Jordan. Transfer to hotel
  • Day 2: Pella and Umm Qais
  • Day 3: Jerash and the Dead Sea
  • Day 4: Kings Highway to Petra via Madaba & Kerak
  • Day 5: Petra tour and free time
  • Day 6: To Wadi Rum via Little Petra
  • Day 7: Return to Amman
  • Day 8: Amman. Free time. Transfer to airport

What's included

Expand all
  • Accommodation

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Meals

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Additional Services

  • Flights

  • Insurance

Download PDF Brochure

Video

Encounters Travel

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.

    • November 1, 2016

      I'm going as a solo traveller for this trip, I'd like to know what are the other types of travellers going on this trip?

      Generally there would be a good mix of passengers, from couples, singles, friends, family.

    • January 1, 2016

      I'm a solo traveller, will I be sharing a room?

      Yes, if there is an available. You will be sharing with a same gender solo traveller. However if sharing is not available then you have to pay for the single supplement. Please contact us to arrange this.

    • January 1, 2016

      What is the minimum number of passengers needed for this tour to depart?

      A minimum of 2 passengers is required for this trip to depart.

    Ask a question

    Who's going

    AppStoreGoogle Play

    5 travellers met using the Meet App before going on their Encounters Travel Jordan Encounters tour.

      Start new meet
      Submit

      What are people saying about TourRadar?

      • Tom, 72 years old20th April 2017
        TourRadar responded quickly to my questions and had helpful information to give.

      Availability

      NO CREDIT CARD FEES

      Jordan Encounters

      • Upcoming departures
      • October 2017
      • November 2017
      • December 2017
      • January 2018
      • February 2018
      • March 2018
      • April 2018
      • May 2018
      • June 2018
      • July 2018
      • August 2018
      • September 2018
      • October 2018
      • November 2018
      • December 2018
      STARTENDOUR SAVING PRICE SPACE LEFT
      • Sunday
        Oct 29, 2017
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Nov 5, 2017
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $34
        Price
        USD $1,345
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Nov 5, 2017
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Nov 12, 2017
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $34
        Price
        USD $1,345
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Nov 19, 2017
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Nov 26, 2017
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $32
        Price
        USD $1,267
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Dec 3, 2017
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Dec 10, 2017
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $32
        Price
        USD $1,267
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Dec 17, 2017
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Dec 24, 2017
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $34
        Price
        USD $1,345
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Dec 24, 2017
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Dec 31, 2017
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $34
        Price
        USD $1,345
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Dec 31, 2017
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Jan 7, 2018
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $37
        Price
        USD $1,432
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Jan 7, 2018
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Jan 14, 2018
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $34
        Price
        USD $1,345
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Jan 28, 2018
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Feb 4, 2018
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $34
        Price
        USD $1,345
        10+ spaces left
      • Sunday
        Feb 11, 2018
        from Amman
        Sunday
        Feb 18, 2018
        in Amman
        Our saving
        $34
        Price
        USD $1,345
        10+ spaces left
      Show more departures

      Monthly price comparison

      About the countries

      Useful things to know before you go

      Currencies

      Дин.
      Dinar
      Jordan
      £
      Pound
      Egypt

      Plugs & Adapters

      Jordan and EgyptJordanJordanJordan

      Visa

      Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

      Vaccinations

      These are only indications, so please visit your doctor before you travel to be 100% sure.
      Typhoid
      Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
      Hepatitis A
      Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
      Hepatitis B
      Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 2 months before travel.
      Rabies
      Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 1 month before travel.
      Yellow fever
      Certificate of vaccination required if arriving from an area with a risk of yellow fever transmission for Jordan. Certificate of vaccination required if arriving from an infected area for Egypt. Ideally 10 days before travel.

      Policies

      Location
      Start and end in Amman.
      Trusted
      Your money is safe with TourRadar, as we only pay the tour operator after your tour has departed.
      Deposit
      TourRadar only requires a deposit of 20% to confirm this Encounters Travel booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 21 December 2017 the full payment of $1,267 is necessary.
      Cancellation policy
      No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $1267 for Jordan Encounters, but the deposit of 20% is non-refundable. If you cancel via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
      Availability
      Some departure dates and prices may vary and Encounters Travel will contact you with any discrepancies before your booking is confirmed.
      Credit Cards
      The following cards are accepted for Encounters Travel tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express

      Destinations

      Covering a total distance of approx 801 km.
      • Amman (Jordan)
      • 285 km
      • Aqaba (Jordan)
      • 41 km
      • Wadi Rum (Jordan)
      • 82 km
      • Petra (Jordan)
      • 98 km
      • Kerak (Egypt)
      • 61 km
      • Madaba (Jordan)
      • 13 km
      • Mt Nebo (Jordan)
      • 34 km
      • Amman (Jordan)
      • 36 km
      • Jerash (Jordan)
      • 90 km
      • Dead Sea (Jordan)
      Show all destinations

      Why book with TourRadar

      Best Price Guarantee
      If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $1,267 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
      Safely book online
      All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
      3,845 tours in Asia
      covered by 136 different operators in Asia
      No Cancellation Fee
      TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date. If you cancel your booking for Jordan Encounters via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
      5 travellers have already met
      before they left for Jordan Encounters tour
      Download TourRadar Meet App
      1 Genuine Review
      All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Jordan Encounters