BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESTRUSTED PAYMENTS

Jordan Encounters

This tour is operated by
Jordan Encounters - Encounters Travel
Jordan Encounters - Encounters Travel
Good
9 reviews
Starts
Amman
Destinations
+9
Ends
Amman
Map

Highlights

Start and end in Amman! With the discovery tour Jordan Encounters, you have a 8 day tour package taking you through Amman, Jordan and 8 other destinations. Jordan Encounters includes accommodation in a hotel as well as an expert guide, meals, transport and more.
Age range
5 to 99 year olds
Accommodation
Hotel, Berth / Cabin, Sleeper Train
Max Group Size
18
Transportation
Train & Rail, Coach / Bus, Boat
Travel style
Discovery, Adventure

9 Reviews

Excellent
0%
Good
0%
Average
50%
Rather Poor
50%
Bad
0%
Write a review
  • BL
    Written on November 28, 2017
    2.0 - Rather poor

    Beware booking Jordan Explorer package with Encounters Travel What we thought we had booked turned out to be very different from what we actually got! Our tour included; • staying at 2 named hotels (both of which were changed for substantially inferior... Read more

    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Barry, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Jordan Encounters tour however as you mentioned in your first sentence you didn't actually travel on this specific tour with us but our more budget Jordan Explorer package booked via Travelzoo. We have requested Tour Radar to remove this review for this reason. We also see you left the same review on TripAdvisor which is perfectly appropriate as it is not tour specific. We have also emailed you personally addressing each point individually outlined here and on TripAdvisor.
    Show detailed ratings
  • KD
    Written on September 7, 2017
    3.0 - Average

    Jordan has always been on my bucket list. So glad I've been. 4 days of our tour were awesome but Day 1 was a waste of time. Not good and not worth it Jerash, the Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum were all amazing beautiful places. Our first hotel was... Read more

    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Karen, Thanks for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, it’s very much appreciated and helps us to improve our tours for our future travellers. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your trip, we’ve tried to address each of the points you’ve raised below. I hope that this is helpful. Day 1 It's great to hear that you were able to tick off one of your bucket list destinations and that you felt most of the tour was awesome. However, I’m sorry if you felt that day 1 was a waste. I’m not sure if you are meaning the tour to Pella and Umm Qais here, or the arrival day, so will cover both here. As you had made your own pre-tour arrangements prior to joining the tour, you perhaps had more free time on the arrival day than is usual for our travellers who mostly arrive later on this day and appreciate some free time after their flights. We do offer some optional day trips in our Tour Notes for people who do arrive early. Pella and Umm Qais visited on Day 2, the first sightseeing day, are not Jordan’s most important or dramatic sites, but we do feel that they add something to the tour. Umm Qais shows a distinctive Roman city layout and has a lovely location high in the mountains, while Pella is rich in both antiquities and ruins covering thousands of years from a Chalcolithic settlement from 4000BC, Iron and Bronze age walled city remains, Byzantine churches a Greco Roman theatre, and early Islamic houses and a medieval mosque. Wadi Rum camp The tour includes a jeep safari in Wadi Rum in the morning, and then a free afternoon at the camp. The guide will sometimes return to Amman from Wadi Rum rather than staying overnight and we cover this in our tour notes (one of our shorter tours returns to Amman from Wadi Rum and if there are people on that trip the guide will return with them). This is something which we are considering changing for 2018 though as we agree that it would be better for the guide to stay overnight with the group here. The reason we haven’t done this in the past is because the crew at the Bedouin camp are normally very helpful in suggesting and arranging things to do during your free time (such as walks to the nearby sand dunes, longer hikes, camel rides of anything from 30 minutes to a whole afternoon, and then star gazing later at night). I’m sorry the camp staff weren’t as helpful as they should have been during your visit. It appears that this was because of the heat that you mention which made them assume that people would not want to be doing much activity in the middle of the day. We’re ensuring that assumptions are not made like this in future and all options are offered to fill your time to suit your preferences. Unfortunately due to the nature of camping in the desert, it can make the tents uncomfortably hot during daylight hours. There are some larger camps outside the desert reserve that can provide air conditioning, but this isn’t an option in the smaller camps that we like to use that are right inside Wadi Rum. Return to Amman We are ensuring that the communication is much better from the camp about the return to Amman. This tour is advertised as staying in 3 and 4-star level hotels with the final night in Amman being in a 3-star hotel. We do explain this in the tour notes and show the 3-star Antika Hotel as being used in Amman for the second stay. We like to use a Downtown hotel for your second stay in Amman so that you are much closer to areas of interest for your final evening, and the Antika Hotel has a great location at the top of Rainbow Street. This is a busy road with the locals (which is one reason we feel it is a good place to stay, as there are numerous cafes and restaurants to visit and relax in). Your stay coincided with the Eid Festival in Jordan which did result in downtown Amman being much busier and noisier than is usual. Overall I’m sorry once again that some elements of the tour didn’t live up to your expectations. I agree that communication could have been better in some sections and we are working on this, as well as planning some adjustments to the itinerary as a whole for 2018.
    Show detailed ratings
  • A
    Written on January 2, 2014
    4.0 - Good

    typically small group travel experiences can be very new and enduring. However, this one was moved by the presence of overwhelming tourisths that complained about all things. Their demeanor made it challenging to have a posititive vacation experience. Our... Read more

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    This has been an amazing tour. I've enjoyed the whole week from day one. I've felt very welcome here in Jordan and I would definitely return. Petra by night is incredible as well as walking to the top to see the monestary. The Dead Se we go to tomorrow but... Read more

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    Bashan the guide was fantastic. He kept us informed and answered all our questions. He is your best asset! Overall great tour. The hotel in Amman is quite far out of town center, and not a lot to do in the hotel or surrounding area. Maybe we would have... Read more

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    Whilst the standard of the hotel in Amman was fine, the towel smelled unwashed - small point. We appreciate the flexibility that the guide showed. May not have been possible for a larger group.

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    5.0 - Excellent

    A very big thank you to our driver Yusef for taking such good care of us on our holiday. We had a really relaxing holiday and my back and my back is feeling much better because we had time to re couperate. We will make sure we tell our friends and family... Read more

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012
    4.0 - Good

    Our driver was exceptional and we would love to recoomend him. He arranged everything brilliantly and his time keeping was immaculate. The Geneva Hotel in Amman was oor for a 4-star hotel. Boathroom was poor. Service was poor. The tour would have been... Read more

  • A
    Written on September 4, 2012

    We swopped Jerash for Hot Springs. It was incredible. We didn’t do Kerak as we didn’t want to. Our guide was excellent. Overall a good tour. We wish we had more assistance with the hotel situation as by the time we got internet access, Joseph told us to... Read more

Itinerary

Download PDF Brochure
Expand all
  1. Introduction
  1. Day 1: Arrive in Jordan, transfer to hotel
  2. Day 2: Pella and Umm Qais
  3. Day 3: Jerash and the Dead Sea
  4. Day 4: King's Highway to Petra via Madaba and Kerak
  5. Day 5: Petra tour and free time
  6. Day 6: Little Petra, Wadi Rum safari & Bedouin camp
  7. Day 7: To Amman via Wadi Mujib (seasonal)
  8. Day 8: Amman, free time, transfer to airport

What's included

Expand all
Download PDF Brochure
  • Accommodation

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Guide

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Meals

    Rated Average by past passengers
  • Transport

    Rated Rather poor by past passengers
  • Additional Services

Not included

  • Flights

  • Insurance

Video

Encounters Travel

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions about this tour.

    • I'm going as a solo traveller for this trip, I'd like to know what are the other types of travellers going on this trip?

      Generally there would be a good mix of passengers, from couples, singles, friends, family.

    • I'm a solo traveller, will I be sharing a room?

      Yes, if there is an available. You will be sharing with a same gender solo traveller. However if sharing is not available then you have to pay for the single supplement. Please contact us to arrange this.

    • What is the minimum number of passengers needed for this tour to depart?

      A minimum of 2 passengers is required for this trip to depart.

    Ask a question

    Review.io logo What are people saying about TourRadar?

    • Desislava12th June 2018
      Service is fast and proficient! Well developed site, easy to find what are you looking for. Adequate filters that save time and give you the most accurate result. All is build in - trips, providers with options to compare, details, contacts and payment.

    Availability

    NO CREDIT CARD FEES

    Jordan Encounters

    STARTENDSEATS LEFT PRICE

    Monthly price comparison

    About the countries

    Useful things to know before you go

    Currencies

    Дин.
    Dinar
    Jordan
    £
    Pound
    Egypt

    Plugs & Adapters

    Jordan and EgyptJordanJordanJordan

    Visa

    Here is an indication for which countries you might need a visa. Please contact the local embassy for help applying for visas to these places.

    Vaccinations

    These are only indications, so please visit your doctor before you travel to be 100% sure.
    Typhoid
    Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Hepatitis A
    Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 2 weeks before travel.
    Hepatitis B
    Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 2 months before travel.
    Rabies
    Recommended for Jordan and Egypt. Ideally 1 month before travel.
    Yellow fever
    Certificate of vaccination required if arriving from an area with a risk of yellow fever transmission for Jordan. Certificate of vaccination required if arriving from an infected area for Egypt. Ideally 10 days before travel.

    Policies

    Location
    Start and end in Amman.
    Trusted
    Your money is safe with TourRadar, as we only pay the tour operator after your tour has departed.
    Deposit
    TourRadar only requires a deposit of $250 to confirm this Encounters Travel booking. The remaining balance is then payable 60 days prior to the departure date. For any tour departing before 16 January 2019 the full payment of $0 is necessary.
    Cancellation policy
    No additional cancellation fees! You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date and you will not need to pay the full amount of $0 for Jordan Encounters, but the deposit of $250 is non-refundable. If you cancel via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
    Availability
    Some departure dates and prices may vary and Encounters Travel will contact you with any discrepancies before your booking is confirmed.
    Credit Cards
    The following cards are accepted for Encounters Travel tours: Visa - Master Card - American Express

    Destinations

    Covering a total distance of approx 801 km.
    • Amman (Jordan)
    • 285 km
    • Aqaba (Jordan)
    • 41 km
    • Wadi Rum (Jordan)
    • 82 km
    • Petra (Jordan)
    • 98 km
    • Kerak (Egypt)
    • 61 km
    • Madaba (Jordan)
    • 13 km
    • Mt Nebo (Jordan)
    • 34 km
    • Amman (Jordan)
    • 36 km
    • Jerash (Jordan)
    • 90 km
    • Dead Sea (Jordan)
    Show all destinations

    Why book with TourRadar

    Best Price Guarantee
    If you book with TourRadar and within 24 hours you find a better price than $0 for the same tour, TourRadar will pay you the difference
    Safely book online
    All your details are safely protected by a secure connection
    6,418 tours in Asia
    covered by 342 different operators in Asia
    No Cancellation Fee
    TourRadar does not charge any additional cancellation fees. You can cancel the tour up to 60 days prior to the departure date. If you cancel your booking for Jordan Encounters via TourRadar the standard cancellation policy applies.
    2 Genuine Reviews
    All reviews are verified from travellers who went on Jordan Encounters