Madventure

Anon“I travelled with Madventure in South America and it totally lived up to and exceeded my expectations. The crew went out of their way to ensure everything ran as smoothly as possible, obviously there are challenging times, unexpected changes and breakdowns ...“

Madventure

Madventure

4.3/5 - Excellent
Headquarters in Abingdon, England
Ask a questionSee all tours
TOURS
10
AGE RANGE
18-80
RESPONSE RATE
100%
Best price on your Madventure tour
Ask a questionSee all tours

Madventure Guides

Madventure Guide

We are an overland adventure tour company specialising in a few unique expeditions such as London to Sydney Overland, Alaska to Brazil Overland, Silk Road & Central Asia Tours. Iceland Overland and Trans-Africa Expeditions. Madventure tours are unique, challengi...

We are an overland adventure tour company specialising in a few unique expeditions such as London to Sydney Overland, Alaska to Brazil Overland, Silk Road & Central Asia Tours. Iceland Overland and Trans-Africa Expeditions. Madventure tours are unique, challenging and life-changing so if you are looking for a true adventure then we definitely have an expedition for you. You only live once – go mad!

Read more

37 Madventure Reviews

Excellent
78%
Good
3%
Average
8%
Rather Poor
5%
Bad
5%
Accommodation
4 / 5
Transportation
4.5 / 5
Meals
4.5 / 5
Value for money
4.5 / 5
Guide
4.5 / 5
Write a review
  •  reviewer 1
    Cape Town to Cairo Trans Africa Overland Tour
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on February 20, 2020
    In 2019 I joined madventure on the 5 month Cape to Cairo tour - and it was amazing! I had the time of my life on this trip - I ticked off many bucket list items…
    Read more
    Madventure commented on this review
    Hey Maki, thank you very much for your review of your trip, it was awesome having you guys with us and we can't wait to travel with you again! "Good times" indeed ;-) Cheers, Karen
  •  reviewer 2
    Africa Encompassed Overland
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on January 23, 2020
    In September 2019 I completed the 10 month Africa Encompassed trip and it was definitely a once in a lifetime adventure. We travelled overland to over 30 count…
    Read more
    Madventure commented on this review
    Thanks for your comments Brad. Was a pleasure travelling with you and thanks for all your help along the way. Would be great to travel with you again sometime, maybe on the Alaska to Brazil one day ;-) Cheers, Will
  • JC
    Silk Road Overland Tour
    1.0 - Bad
    Written on January 6, 2020
    This trip should've been brilliant but turned out mediocre. Thinking Madventure, just don't. Spend the extra for a much better run organisation. Karen, the com…
    Read more
    Madventure commented on this review
    Hi Julie. I am sorry to hear your trip experience with us was only mediocre. We have been running that tour for 15 years and strive to improve it every time. Unfortunately before your tour started China changed their foreigners driving age limits and did not allow foreign drivers over 50 to be able to drive in their country any more. This was completely unexpected and as your driver was 53 we had to make last minute alternative arrangements to get through China by local transport. I appreciate this meant that you had to carry your bags to the vehicles, hotels, etc. but that would have happened even if you were on the truck. The big difference you experienced by not having the truck was that we had to accommodate everyone in hotels in China instead of wild camping as we would have usually done and I apologise for this as it did change the camping ratio overall. The Silk Road trip also has other sections where no camping is done so when you asked if you could camp more we said yes, by all means do, but when you were then presented with the opportunities to camp it is my understanding that you chose not to. Your driver had worked for us for 10 years and your guide had worked for us for 4 years so they were both very experienced. In saying that we do appreciate that it can be tough going on these expeditions and they can get stressed at times, especially in a situation such as when a broken leaf spring caused you delay on the Pamir Highway. Passenger safety is a priority so he had no other option but to go ahead and find a replacement part. We do try and stress on our website that things like this can and usually do happen on every trip we run as it is the nature of overlanding. On another such occasion waiting for the unreliable Turkmenistan ferry I believe you then got verbally abusive with the tour leader when she was trying her utmost to explain she has no control over the situation. I know it can be frustrating hanging around in a foreign country but these things are to be expected in places like Turkmenistan, the ferry simply has no schedule so we have to wait at the terminal until it arrives or we risk missing it. Food can be difficult to find on occasion so we always recommend people have a small stash of food when we are travelling through remote areas but your complaint has now lead us to insist the crew have emergency lunches available to prepare on the truck when in remote areas so I can assure you that will not happen again. On your tour we actually exceeded the meal quota but lunches are generally not included. I understand you did not get along with your crew for various reasons so I apologise if you thought they handled any situations unsatisfactorily. Both crew no longer work for us but they did run successful tours for Madventure over many years. Our tour itinerary is outlined very clearly on our website and is designed to take in as many highlights as possible within reason so if you wanted extra time in certain countries perhaps this was not the right tour for you. 3 months is a long time for most travellers and adding extra weeks into huge countries like Kazakhstan would make the trip unnecessarily long. We also feel that our trucks and equipment are a step above all other companies vehicles but we do appreciate it can get rough back there on many of the gravel tracks we encounter so I apologise if you were uncomfortable at times. Finally, it is never nice for us to hear that someone did not enjoy a trip with us but I do hope you at least took some good experiences away with you. I have taken all your points on board and wish you happy travels for the future. Best regards, William
  •  reviewer 4
    Iceland Overland
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on November 18, 2018
    Awesome way to experience Iceland. Six wheel drive truck allowed us to get up into the spectacular Highlands, view the majestic fjords and glaciers and visit t…
    Read more
  •  reviewer 5
    Iceland Overland
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 9, 2018
    We had a great two weeks camping around Iceland this summer with Madventure despite some challenging weather! Having looked at quite a few trips we chose to our…
    Read more
  • D
    London to Sydney Overland Adventure Tour
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on September 1, 2018
    Firstly, this trip is not for everyone and by no stretch of the imagination is it an easy way to travel. However having said that, if you love adventure and are…
    Read more
    Madventure commented on this review
    Thanks for your review of the 2017 London to Sydney Tour Denise, much appreciated! Hope to see you on the Africa tour in the next year or two ;-) Cheers, Will
  •  reviewer 7
    Iceland Overland
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on August 11, 2018
    My husband and I just returned from a two weeks overlanding trip to Iceland. Even though the weather was really bad Madventure gave us a fabulous experience for…
    Read more
    Madventure commented on this review
    Hi Gaby and Norbert! Thank you so much for your review of our 2018 Iceland Tour! It was just wonderful having you both on board and I really hope you will join us again one day! Cheers, Karen
  • M
    Alaska to Panama Overland Tour
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on February 19, 2018
    I recently finished Madventure's Alaska to Panama tour & cannot recommend them highly enough. This was my 3rd tour with Madventure having done 2 different rout…
    Read more
  • A
    Alaska to Brazil Overland Adventure
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on February 6, 2018
    I travelled with Madventure in South America and it totally lived up to and exceeded my expectations. The crew went out of their way to ensure everything ran as…
    Read more
  •  reviewer 10
    Silk Road Overland Tour
    2.5 - Average
    Written on February 6, 2018
    The countries we visited were amazing,the tour guide was not knowledgeable nor polite , she was always swearing with a bad language at the driver “her boyfriend…
    Read more
    Madventure commented on this review
    Hi Rania, You were not issued a visa for Iran so with out a valid visa you were not able to enter Iran by land, it is as simple as that. As we were not issued a permit to enter Thailand with the vehicle due to recent foreign vehicle restrictions they have imposed we continued the trip on local transport through South East Asia, as we state can happen on our website, and as per our baggage restrictions, you were not able to travel with the 4 large bags you had with you (we restrict the baggage to one main bag per person and state that everyone must be able to carry all of their own baggage in case we have to use local transport). You were informed of all of this in writing prior to joining the tour and no amount of abuse to the tour leader was going to change the fact that you had too much luggage and could not carry this yourself. Aside from this, after receiving several written complaints from your fellow passengers early in the tour about your abusive behaviour towards them and the local people (complete with a video of you abusing our local Turkmenistan guide because you refused to pay the $2 entrance fee to an ancient heritage site and proceeded to sneak in and take photos of the site even though taking photos was strictly forbidden, therefore placing the entire group at risk) and after receiving a complaint from our Turkmenistan travel agency that your abusive behaviour was extremely disrespectful and they no longer wished to work with us if we continued to bring people like you, I issued you a 'final warning letter' explaining the various reasons that your behaviour was not acceptable and why and that if it continued then you would be asked to leave (again as we state on the website). After receiving even more complaints from your fellow passengers stating that your behaviour had in fact worsened you were asked to leave the expedition. I realise this is upsetting for you but the tour leader was acting on my behalf, as I informed you at the time. Again, as we state on the website, our 'tour leaders' are not a 'tour guides' and you knew this before joining. Besides all this I am glad you at least enjoyed all the countries we took you to. Regards, Karen

About Madventure

We are an overland adventure tour company specialising in a few unique expeditions such as London to Sydney Overland, Alaska to Brazil Overland, Silk Road & Central Asia Tours. Iceland Overland and Trans-Africa Expeditions. Madventure tours are unique, challenging and life-changing so if you are looking for a true adventure then we definitely have an expedition for you. You only live once – go mad!

Madventure videos

  • London to Sydney 2011
  • Madventure - The Truck
London to Sydney 2011

Madventure Guides

  • Guide Gayle Taylor
    "I love to travel, so this job is perfect. I get to meet passengers of all ages and from all over the…"

Exclusive benefits with

What makes us unique

Madventure Photos

Loading

Questions & Answers

We are there for you! If you have any questions about this operator, then please don't hesitate to contact us 24/7 and we will get back to you latest within 2 hours!

Loading