based on 34 reviews

Shane

This was my first group tour and I was unsure really what to expect. Im a veteran backpacker having visited most of Europe, S.E Asia, Sth America and the U.S.A, doing things my way, on my time frame. I can honestly say I am a Tru fam convert and had the amazing time on the 19 day Island hopper tour. I wouldn't change a thing. If you think you can experience the itinerary we did in 19 days with such ease and carefree, I challenge you. Action packed canyoneering, waterfall jumps, rope swings and zip lining all await you and easy days cruising between deserted islands and castaway experiences. There isnt a van, ferry, boat, plane, night out or island hopper trip I would change. I decided on Tru Travels due to its eco friendly stance, involvement with charities and the opportunity to give back to the community. The Philippines is filled with stunning waterfalls, beaches, Island hopping and lagoons. We all want that picture perfect photo for instagram free of rubbish and plastic. The Beach clean ups give you the good vibe feels and really do make a difference for little effort. The locals are learning too! Go tru for helping us all make a difference. Our tour guide Fretchie was so passionate about the environment and community it really filtered through the group, collecting unwated clothes at the end of the trip for victims of Typhoons and volcano's. Our group was from all over the world, UK, Aus, Italy, Namibia and Germany to name a few. The group gynamics throughout and the good vibes we all shared really came down to our tour leader Fretchie. What a kind, gentle, smart, inclusive and all around amazing human with a soul so pure and giving we all felt like family. 19 days wasnt enough time in her company to be honest. No matter the time of day her bubbly personality, commitment to ensure everything was 100% really showed. Fretchie is an absolute valuable employee to Tru Travels and I want to boldy highlight this to her in my review. Forever going above and beyond. A holiday can be made up of stunning scenery such as the Philippines 19 day island hopper but for me and I speak for all of our group, Fretchie deserves all the credit for making this one of the most memorable adventures I have been on...


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey! Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy you had to a trip to remember for life! Fretchie will be so pleased with your sweet comments! We hope to see you on tour with us again :) Welcome to the TruFam x

Read more
25th February 2020

Vero Nika

amazing! Super organized, stunning places visited. Absolutely to recommend!! Well done!! Thx so much❤️ Best tour!!


Overall rating
Read more
30th January 2020

Abbey

I recently went on the 19 day island hopper tour in Philippines and had mixed opinions. Unfortunately the first day of the tour suffered a typhoon so myself and many others did not arrive in time, along with our tour guide. He made extreme efforts to be there, travelling on a 24hour boat journey to reach us at the next destination, but we were left with a flight to Peurto Princesa without much knowledge. The east part of the tour was filled with island hopping activities and the castaway experience was for sure a highlight. At points of the trip I felt very unaware of what was planned for the following days and meet time’s, for example I had read that big bags were not allowed on the castaway island, but it took myself messaging in a group chat at 7pm the night before leaving for the experience to ask before the group leader informed us.m. We appreciate ‘Filipino time’ and ‘going with the flow’ but in some cases not enough information was given. Aside from this, he was extremely outgoing and always engaged with the whole group to keep spirit levels high. I would not pay to do the west part of the tour again. I felt there was a lot of travelling, one day involved 2 ferries, 5 car journeys and a flight, of which could have been cut down to 1 ferry for sure. Perhaps 2 was taken to avoid expense? I appreciate the Philippines is difficult to move around and travel days are inevitable, but it was not balanced out with incredible activities at the destinations. Canyoneering was perhaps the only activity that I could see where our money was being used, most others included beach clean ups, sunsets and 100peso (approx £1,60) palm readings. Overall I had a good experience in the Philippines but I would be unlikely to use Tru Travels again due to the tour guide and the amount of money spent vs activities provided.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
1st January 2020

I’ve been on 2 previous TruTravels tours and they were amazing! This one was no exception, I’ve known Dom from a previous tour, he’s a genuine nice guy, will help you out anyway he can, and as a tour leader blossoms. We had a few mishaps due to extreme weather but he soon sorted it out with no issues. TruTravels should be grateful and so proud that a charming lad works for you. I’ll be honest I wasn’t thinking of coming on this trip as I didn’t quite feel up to it but once I knew Dom was my leader, I handed over the credit card! I really do think Dom’s got huge potential in the company, so if I was you, I’d really like to see him in your new Latin America tours. He would be absolutely fantastic to demonstrate these new tours to the public! Anyway that’s me over with, I think you get the idea of how fantastic it was and how investable Dom is. Every single bit of this trip was excellent! Dom was so professional and a credit to the company, I’d like to see Dom progress in his career, and to see him start the Latin America tours. This will be my last Tru tour unless Dom starts the Latin America tours then I will head over there due to the fact due to the fact I consider Dom to be more of a friend because that’s the way he makes you feel. Such a top bloke, amazing tour guide and full of energy which is essential in his role. Keep up the good work and hopefully see him in Latin America! Much love, Rich


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: What's up TruTraveller - thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Dom is a legend, we're glad he made your third trip so awesome! You'll have to get in contact with us next year and see where Dom is based. Pop the team an email to info@trutravels.com if you have any friends you would like to refer to us and we can reward you for doing so. Peace & love, TruCrew! :)

Read more
6th December 2019

As this is my first group tour I didn’t know what to expect, I was unsure what to expect. I have been so pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival the airport transfer was so seamless (despite it being at 3am). Dom’s communication was great and always checking in to ensure all was going to plan. First impression really set tone for the rest of the trip. The group dynamics throughout was so lovely and Dom has a lot to do with that. His approachable and level headed personality, mixed with his good craic and tunes ensured at all times everyone was always having a TRU-ly good time (LOL) He showed his unbelievable maturity and genuine commitment to and interest in his job, company and tour guests. When the weather went against him 3 days in a row and cancelled parts of the trip. He pulled it out of the bag with style like a pro everyday and for that he is 10/10! All in all, great people, unreal activities and experiences and unbelievable country! What an absolute delight to be toured around this beautiful country with this absolute hero, Dom Stevens. Forever going above and beyond to ensure everyone is having a good time and feeling included. The perfect gentleman at all times, with his warm and bubbly personality is so infectious. Positive energy always and so respectful to all the people we met along the way, and the Filipino culture and way of life. Dom was also so much fun and really enjoyed his tunes and travel stories. He’s an absolute credit to TruTravels and feel very happy to have had him as our tour guide and friend! Wee legend! Thank you Dom


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Sup TruTraveller - thank you for taking the time to leave us a review ya legend! Amazing to see you had a great time in the Philippines - we're sorry about what happened with the weather but glad you still had a good time. Pop the team an email to info@trutravels.com if you have any friends you would like to refer to us and we can reward you for doing so. Peace & love, TruCrew! :) #TruFam

Read more
6th December 2019

Our time in the western Philippines has been an incredible time. With 10 days just flying by. From the first moments when everyone met for the first time, we had directly a good, positive mood in the whole group like we all knew each other before. Strangers became good friends in just days with all the crazy and cool stuff we were doing all day and night. Dom, our group leader, kept everything under his full control at all times, even when the weather forced us to change our plans several times. Dom worked all mornings to get an alternative organised and every time found a perfect one for all!! Could not of thought of a better guide then him. From waterfall walks and jumps, several boat trips around lagoons and beaches the Philippines has to offer, slip and fly was our alternative to to the cancelled zipline and cool nights in town always kept good vibe aswell as Dom’s great great music choices.cant recommend this tour enough to anyone who wants to travel the Philippines, incredible! The Eastern Philippines - it was a blast, action packed days mixed with beautiful sunsets made it one of the best experiences ever. Activities like canyoneering, the sardine run and boat trips to beautiful islands made it so worth the visit. Our group leader Dom always kept a good vibe and was also definitely a highlight of the tour. Without him it would not have been the same.i can not recommend enough to also visit this site of the Philippines to everyone who thinks about going, it is a beauty!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Heya, thanks for your epic review - we’re stoked that you had an amazing time in the Philippines with us, paradise hey! Welcome to the TruFam and hope to see you on another trip soon! Where's next on your bucket list? Big love, Tru Crew :D

Read more
6th December 2019
YC

Yasmin Chambers

The last 19 days have been incredible! I had heard good things about the Philippines and the tour but I was still very pleasantly surprised at how amazing it is!! Patrick and Dom were amazing tour guides, if anyone needed anything they were there to help and were so easy to go to with any questions. I felt more like I was travelling with friends than being on a tour also as they were always out with us and so easy to talk to and get along with. There were so many activities included in the tour, the value for money is amazing.. canyoneering is definitely one of my biggest highlights! And just the places in general are so beautiful, the whole 19 days seemed pretty surreal in the most amazing way! Massive thanks to Patrick and Dom and to TruTravels for the past 19 days and I will 100% be recommending it to people!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Sup TruLegend!! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Patrick and Dom are legends, glad they made your trip so awesome! Pop the team an email to info@trutravels.com if you have any friends you would like to refer to us and we can reward you for doing so. Peace & love, TruCrew! :)

Read more
28th October 2019
E

EmilyTaylor

I really enjoy my Philippines island hopping trip with tru-travels. The itinerary was busy and fitted all the important activities, yet we still had a sufficient amount of chill time. The activities were a great mix of seeing the local culture and participating in more adventurous activities. I also really liked how much flexibility there was in participating in the nightlife - for someone who loves all the day time activities, drinking and clubbing weren’t my priorities but I still wanted to be involved and enjoy them - the guides were great, reiterating it was my holiday and I could chose when I wanted chilled nights in or bigger nights out! I couldn’t have asked for a better lead guide than Justin - he was caring, always making sure we were safe and comfortable with what we were doing, very organised and in control of all situations, yet so much fun, participated in and encouraged us to get involved in all activities and ensured ‘smiles & positivity’ were kept on our trip at all times! We were also accompanied by guides training for the Philippines tour - Delaney was amazing, very experienced in tour guiding, great fun, always enthusiastically getting involved in all activities, and I can see her adapting excellently to touring in the Philippines! Both tour guides helped me plan my travels from the Philippines onwards, from logistics of transfers to tips on activities in other countries. Generally the guides were good at not being on their phones unless necessary, but it would be nice if there could be an aim to not using phones during meal/other social times, as I found if the guides were on their phones, this encouraged other group members to also! I really loved this trip, and early on made friends with my group but also saw my guides as friends too! Thank you Tru, Justin & co!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey there TruTraveller, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you loved Justin just as much as we do, we will take your feedback on board! Pop the team an email to info@trutravels.com if you have any friends you would like to refer to us and we can reward you for doing so. Peace & love, TruCrew! :)

Read more
23rd October 2019
M

Meldarling

I did the Philippines island hopper, The tour was fantastic, Justin and Fretchie were the tour guides and they were amazing, so helpful if anything was needed they were there to sort it. The activities were incredible, pictures really don’t do justice! I highly recommend using TruTravels I’ve been on two tours with them now and would love to do more.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Thanks for your epic review - we’re stoked that you had an amazing time in the Philippines with us. Welcome to the Trufamily and hope to see you on another trip soon! Big love, Tru Crew

Read more
20th August 2019

I had the time of my life doing the TruTravels Bali tour so, I decided to go on the Philippines Island Hopper Tour. Tru travels, again, didn't disappoint. It's been fantastic! We have done so many activities and the weather has been beautiful. My absolute favourite activities were the Port Barton island hopping, the zip line in El Nido, canyoneering in Kawasan and the surf lessons in Siargao! Although I loved all the itenerary on this tour. The accommodation was great in all islands. Fretchie was our tour guide and was great, couldn't have asked for anything better, she was very organised with all the transport and restaurants/bars and was there if we needed anything. She also gave us great history from the Philippines. Overall it's been a fantastic and I would highly recommend to anyone. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Thank you TruTravels ❤️x


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
20th August 2019
Load more reviews