based on 135 reviews

Rachel Williams

Stu was a bloody legend! This was such an epic week away visiting some of the most beautiful places on earth, and it was made all the more special by having such a knowledgeable and fun tour guide and a really solid crew. Thanks again for one of the most memorable weeks of my life!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Rachel, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Stewart. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
31st October 2019

Gema Sturrock

This tour was so amazing and at a really great price! I saw so much beautiful stuff that I definitely would not have seen on my own. I definitely recommend doing this tour! I fell so in love with Scotland on this tour. our tour guide had so much interesting history to tell us on the bus rides it was great! you get off the bus a lot so you aren't stuck on there for hours and hours while travelling between places which i really appreciated. I would definitely do another MacBackpackers tour based on my experience on this one.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Gema, Thanks so much for the fantastic photos and review. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time on the 7 Day Best of the West. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
15th October 2019
S

SofiaFarronato

Snatch this tour up if you have the possibility to do so! The places you'll visit are of stunning beauty and, although the bus trips might appear a bit boring or long as a concept, the wonderful music selection and the expert explanations of the guide will make the time spent in the minibus fly by. Our guide, Stewart, was very funny and knowledgeable about the history of Scotland: his approach to the subject (and his love of dogs!) made the trip even more enjoyable. Truth be told, the only thing that would have made the trip impeccable would have been a cute puppy on board.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Sofia, Thanks for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Stewart. Oh a wee tour doggo would be great! Hope you come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
11th September 2019
MG

Megan Glozer

Fantastic tour guide - fantastic trip. If you're considering it, just book it. I had a great time with some rad people in absolutely beautiful locations.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
10th September 2019
S

selvi

Amazing experience I would sure go back next year for another tour :) Tim exceeded all expectations with his Scottish humor and attitude


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Selvi, Thanks so much for rating us. We're happy to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Tim. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
9th September 2019
G

GenevieveRix

This tour is perfect for someone really wanting to experience Scotland's natural beauty and the rugged west coastline. Be prepared with hiking boots and woollen socks to make the most out of the adventures on offer.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Genevieve, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 7 Day Best of the West. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
9th September 2019
K

KimLuy

This was an amazing tour that crammed a lot in to a few days whilst still feeling a bit more relaxed and unrushed. The scenery was beautiful and ever changing and it was wonderful to be able to make it out to the outer islands. Stewart, our guide was an absolute gem who took care of us and was also really accommodated our needs. Please know though, that this is a hiking outdoorsy tour, you have to come prepared to hike and deal with Scottish weather, plans don't change if it starts to rain! Accommodation is basic for hostels but works well if you're on a budget. Breakfast is quite basic with just cereal, bread and fruit when eating in the hostels. Highly recommend this tour!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Kim, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you had a great time on 7 Day Best of the West with Stewart. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
8th September 2019
L

LeisaMorton

I had an absolutely incredible week with MacBackpackers, exploring Scotland! The group size was perfect. Small enough that you were really able to get to know people on the tour. The locations that we visited were amazing, and by going through the tour, it took all the hassle away from the individual traveller. A definite highlight for me was staying at the Gearrannan Blackhouse Village and visiting the Bosta Iron Age House - things I wouldn’t have known about without MacBackpackers. Stewart was incredible - he had a massive wealth of knowledge (for both the history and folklore) and a great sense of humour. It was really lovely to be able to get to chat to him and he was very easy to approach. I will definitely be recommending MacBackpackers tours and cannot wait to come back again! P.S. Would have been even better with a doggo


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Leisa, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Stewart. We agree about the doggo too! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
8th September 2019
A

AmberMorton

The tour was amazing, as was our tour guide Stewart! I loved the trip, it was a really fun way to learn about Scotland’s history and see the gorgeous scenery. We were lucky and were with a great group of people. I cannot recommend this tour enough, I loved every minute of it. Thanks for making our time in Scotland amazing!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Amber, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Stewart. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
8th September 2019

Oksana

What an amazing experience it was. Our guide Mark exceeded all expectations with his lovely Scottish humor, cheerful attitude and neverending stories of Scottish past.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Oksana, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Mark. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
7th September 2019
Load more reviews