based on 92 reviews

Lauren Thurlow

7 day best of the west was truly a life changing experience! This was my first trip abroad and enjoyed every second of it. The hikes were surreal, the scenery breathtaking, and narration by Richard priceless. I didn't expect to find learning about the history of Scotland so fun. Richard truly made the experience one to remember and was easily the best tour guide we could have asked for. It was the thought and intentionality Macbackpackers put into giving us an insiders perspective that made this trip special! If I ever have the chance to go on another Macbackpackers trip, I will. You cant travel through Scotland without experiencing 7 days best of the west!!!!!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Lauren, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share all the lovely photos. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 7 Day Best of the West with Richard. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
30th November 2018

Bernadette Sirc

Neil was amazing full of knowledge and passion. Did the 5 day Highland fling. He let us stop for some quick happy snaps along the way, have ample time at places and made me laugh with his stories. I WOULD definalty recommend this company and tour and I would definalty do another tour. Thanks for the great experience. Thanks again Neil.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Bernadette, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share these lovely pics. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Hopefully, we'll see you soon again! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
5th November 2018

David Williams

The tour was amazing! We managed to go to a lot of places within 7 days but it didn't feel rushed. None of the journeys were really long and they'd be filled with Richard telling interesting Scottish stories and playing Scottish music so they were never boring. Would highly recommend and would use again!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey David, Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Richard. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
24th September 2018

Fred Cloutier

It was a dreams for me to visit Scotland. Seriously, this tour is a 7 days of paradise, hapiness, friendship and a little bit of scotch whisky. :) Swimming in the lochness, emerald isle, black house, rain forest, castles and seafood, all that with a knowledgable fantastic guide! I can't ask for more, so much fun 'souvenirs'. Thanks macBackpackers, thanks Richard and thanks to the friendly group. Will remember you forever.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
16th September 2018

Nathalie Moreau

IT was a marvelous 7 days with wonderful people. Our guide Richard was able to make the trip fun from his stories, he was pasionate. And what about Blacks houses.... amazing.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
16th September 2018
K

Katy

I had an amazing time with Macbackpackers. Everywhere we went was just stunning, and it was fantastic to be able to tailor our itinerary to things the group were most interested in. I saw some amazing things, learnt loads about Scottish history, and laughed pretty much non stop. Our guide, Richard, was fab from start to finish, and I was so sad to leave everyone behind when the tour ended. Couldn't recommend these guys more!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
14th September 2018
SR

Sergio Rodriguez Cadavid

This is the first time I do a long tour like this one while traveling solo, and it was awesome. The scenery, the castles, the guide...everything. You do spend a lot of time moving from one place to the other but you see sooo many things is only natural, also the tour is very flexible and if you feel like seeing something on the way or having a longer hike you just have to speak with the guide and the group. The guide, Richard, filled the trip with stories about Scotland's history, music and jokes that made the time at the bus very enjoyable; follow his food recommendations!! he knows where are the best restaurants and the best black pudding I've eaten. So, if you go to Scotland for a week, this is the thing you need to do.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hello Sergio, Thanks so much for the lovely feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Richard. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
10th September 2018

Raimie Lewis

What an experience! Let's be honest, in the 24 hours before our tour left I was thinking "maybe we should have done the 5 day tour...what if it's awful and we're stuck for 7 days...7 days can be a.long.time." Thankfully, within the first couple of hours of getting on our bus, meeting our group/awesome guide Mark, and crossing into the beautiful Highlands, those thoughts totally disappeared! We covered a lot of ground in one week, and I can't imagine having gone for any less! We had a fairly small group of 10, which was conducive to really experiencing things together rather than individually. The landscape and history of Scotland is impossible not to enjoy and fall in love with, and I always felt safe (in transport, accommodations, on some very windy "wee" hill climbs, etc...). I also appreciated that we had freedom to choose quite a few of our activities and tailor the week to really get the most out of it. I would go back in a second! Lastly, our guide Mark was a huge part of what made our week a great one- his humor, knowledge, and reverence for the places/people we were encountering were a gift. Thanks Macbackpackers for some incredible memories!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Raimie, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Mark and everyone else on tour. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon. Cheers, Jaz

Read more
6th September 2018

Natalie Romero

We took this tour right after the 6-day Orkney Stravaig (with Graeme, and also excellent). Richard was our guide on this tour and he was amazing. We went on some amazing hikes (despite the changeable weather) and he took us to some out-of-the way places. If you're thinking of taking this tour, do it! You will not regret it.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Natalie, Thanks so much for taking the time to rate us and share these lovely pics. We're delighted to hear that you had a fab time on tour with Graeme. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
5th September 2018

Lisa Raby

What an excellent tour this was. I lucked out and got the most incredible guide and travel group. There were only fourteen of us but we felt like best of friends by the last day. Richard made sure we were able to see everything we wanted to, and if we couldn't, he told us why. I appreciated the honesty, and the encouragement during our incredibly muddy hikes! I also really appreciated all the history and stories Richard told, he is a truly enthusiastic ambassador to his country. I felt like I saw real, authentic Scotland through that bus window! The blackhouse village was the most impressive place to stay - you have to see it! I'm already planning my next trip back to Lewis, Harris and Skye and I can't thank you enough for showing it to me.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Lisa, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and sharing the wonderful pictures. We're delighted to hear that you had a great tour with Richard. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
3rd September 2018
Load more reviews