based on 799 reviews
DD

Devanshu Dixit

It was the great experience and our guide Dave was awesome ,fantastic we really enjoyed a lot.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
12 hours ago
PC

Parmela Chohan

Great itinerary, very interesting facts and stories told by mark. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Mark was great Hostel we stayed in was very poor however, only downside


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
15 hours ago
A

Anja

This was my first guided tour ever and I couldn’t be happier! We got to see so much in three days. Stewart was amazing, he gave us so much insights to Scotland while keeping it entertaining too. I would recommend this tour, company and tour guide 100%.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Anja, Thanks so much for taking the time to share the fantastic pics and review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Stewart. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
3 days ago
C

CharlotteTague

A lot of fun. Would highly recommend! Stewart adapted our itinerary for the weather and gave us options meaning we got the best out of our 3 days. We were mainly a bus of solo travellers from all over. It was a great way to spend the Easter weekend. Bring proper shoes as this tour really gets you off the bus and into the open air. I was advised to choose MacBackpackers over alternative companies who were offering similar itineraries - so glad I did! Great vibes. Great tunes. Great stories. Great views.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Charlotte, Thanks so much for taking the time to share the amazing photo and review us. We're delighted to hear that you had amazing time on tour with Stewart. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
3 days ago
G

Gloria

From start to finish, the tour was brilliant. Scotland is such a beautiful country, particularly the Highlands. Neil was the cherry on top - he was such an amazing guide! He looked after us with humour, with knowledge, with folklore - all the while, wearing a kilt! It was a truly breathtaking tour. Memories were made, never to be forgotten. Thanks so much for giving us a brief but wonderful experience of the Highlands and Isle of Skye.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Gloria, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fab tour with Neil. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
6 days ago

Sarah McLeod-Nibbs

So Mark and Branca were our beautfil tour guides. I honestly can not thank them enough for making our time absolutely magic. My expections of the tour were well exceeded and blown away. Mark and Branca shared so much knowledge about the land and history, they had so many great stories to tell. At the beginning of the tour I happened to mention to Mark that I am a McLeod and that I had heard my ancestors were from Isle of Skye and Dunvegan. The next day Mark was explaining to us what the plans for the day were, and they had incorporated a detour to Dunvegan to visit the land of the MacLeods and their castle. I was over the moon! These guides will literally go out of their way to make sure everyone has a great experience. Great tour company, awesome tour guides and beautiful locations. Love it all!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Sarah! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Mark and Branka. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
11th April 2019
J

James

It is simply not possible to overstate how fantastic this trip was. The itinerary, weather, and sights were incredible. What made this tour though was Neil. Combining exceptional historical knowledge with brilliant storytelling of Scottish folklore enabled us all to truly immerse ourselves in the enigmatic and beautiful Isle of Skye and those parts of Scotland we explored. No other guide would provide you with a whole new found appreciation for Rick Redbeard and the Corries! Thank you Neil for making this trip. My only criticism was I never got the chance to see a Sabre-toothed Haggis XD! You can go to Scotland by yourself, or via another tour operator but you honestly won't find a better option than MacBackpackers, for price or passion.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
5th April 2019
Z

ZoFrancis

Excellent tour! Neill was a captivating and highly entertaining storyteller. Well informed about Scottish history and folklore and frequently cracked us up. I was planning on visiting Skye on my own but so glad I chose to do the tour as I would have missed out on so much sightseeing, new friends, new knowledge and stories to recreate. Plus it's so worthwhile not having to do all the meticulous research and to just enjoy the views out of the window. Can't praise this tour and Neill enough. We also had a guide in training with us, Branca (probably way off with the spelling) who smashed it too and will evidently make a great guide.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Zo, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
4th April 2019

Nina Danilyan

If I could leave more than 5 stars, I would. I do not like to take tours but this one really changed my mind. Tim was an absolute dream and definitely one of the best people I have met throughout my travels over the years. From the first moment, he made everyone on the tour laugh and get comfortable. He was easy to talk to and tailored the tour to what the group wanted to do. We got to go to a place that the group does not often visit because of the tough drive up. Isle of Skye is at the top of my favorites list after this tour. I got to see everything I had been dreaming about for years and that is truly special. So happy we went on this trip.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Nina, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Tim. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
1st April 2019

Taylor Veltman

The tour was amazing! Mark was an amazing story teller & full of history. We got to see some beautiful country and the only downside was I didn't go on the longer tour! I love how the activities were interchangeable depending on what the group felt like and what weather permitted. Such a great time. Definitely will be joining the longer tour next time!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Taylor! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Mark. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
31st March 2019
Load more reviews