based on 941 reviews

Sarah LaFlamme-Munnis

Where do I even begin? My husband and I went to Scotland for our honeymoon and among the many things we planned for our trip-- this tour was one of them. We both are very private people and prefer to do things just the two of us if we can help it. Because of this we both worried what it would be like sharing a van with a dozen strangers as well as hostel style sleeping arrangements. I also get severe motion sickness (brought meds), have several chronic illnesses that require a certain eating schedule, and I have the bladder of an 80 year old woman. Needless to say, there was a lot of anxiety about going on this tour but for the price and destinations we couldn't pass up the opportunity. I am SO GLAD we chose MacBackers! Our tour guide and fellow tourists were very accommodating to my motion sickness and allowed my husband and I to sit up front the entire tour (3 days). I can't tell you how much this helped me positively experience everything-- it would have been real embarrassing getting sick on the bus. Health issues aside, our guide Neil (WHO IS BLOODY AMAZING) completely personalized the tour for each of his guests. He asked if any of us have Scottish ancestry-- I do. He asked me if I new the surname/Clan name and I told him MacDougall. From that point forward he made sure to point out everything that connects to MacDougall, he let me borrow a book that told me more about the MacDougall's, and he gave me my very own history lesson. All of this on top of doing the same for others AND hypnotizing us with the lore hew grew up learning as a child in the Highlands. He also played badass music in between places of interest. Bathroom stops and food stops were frequent enough (twice a day if I recall correctly) that even my old lady bladder managed the long drives all over the country. And even though I wouldn't personally seek out a hostel, that experience wasn't the worst either. haha. Neil really made us feel special, educated us on his beautiful country, and brought much laughter. At the end of the tour he even gifted my husband and I whisky and the entire group did a 'cheers' in honor of our honeymoon and marriage. We couldn't have asked for a better experience or tour guide. Neil is a f*cking gem! TLDR: BOOK THE TOUR! You won't regret it!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Sarah, Thanks so much for the lovely review and sending the amazing photos. We're so glad to hear that you and you hubby had a fantastic tour with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
24th March 2020
DR

Damir Rafi

Went on a 3 day Isle of Skye tour, was an excellent experience! Mark was a brilliant tour guide, his breadth of knowledge of Scotland was impressive and his friendliness made it a pleasant experience. The Highlands are stunning, and we were able to go on hikes/walks and various other things. It was well paced - we definitely got enough stops despite the distance we needed to cover. The Saturday was mostly spent out of the coach exploring skye. I would highly recommend this tour.


Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hey Damir, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Mark. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
24th March 2020
JC

Judit Csikasz

Overall was ok, but missed these two, that were in the route descrption: Highland Folk Museum (1st day, maybe this is only visited when the weather is really bad...) Doune Castle (last day)


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Judit, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you had a great time on the tour. As mentioned on our website, the itinerary is only an example and not set in stone. The places we visit are usually decided based on what the tour group wants to see, weather and opening hours. For instance, Highland Folk Museum is closed during the winter season. We hope to see you again soon and remember to tell the guide the places you want to visit next time! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
20th March 2020
MQ

Muhammad Rizwan Qaiser

I believe it was a good experience with alot of history of Scotland. I will definately recommend them.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Muhammad, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time on 3 Day Isle of Skye. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
20th March 2020

Sacheth Hegde

I would very highly recommend this tour! Our 3 day Isle of Skye tour was with Neil, and even though our group just had 4 people, the tour was the highlight of my one week stay in Scotland. Seeing all of the nature around the Isle of Skye and going on the various hikes was breathtaking. Additionally, the small village we stayed at in the Isle of Skye, Kyleakin, had a charm to it, and it was a great place to unwind after a day's travel. And of course, I want to recognize the awesome guide we had, Neil. Even though we hardly had a packed bus, he was great at grabbing our attention, throwing out quick jokes, and giving us a great historical view on Scotland. He also had great recommendations for various things to try (such as whisky). I had originally considered hiring a car and seeing many of these locations myself, but having an authentic Scottish guide made the journey around the highlands a much greater experience as I was able to understand the history/context behind many of these sites.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Sacheth, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
11th March 2020

Rachel

My first visit to Scotland and thanks to Macbackpackers it won’t be my last. I took the Three day Isle of Skye Tour and wasn’t disappointed. Marks knowledge of the area, history plus all the funny stories made the trip. Even the music choice just added that personal touch to whats been a great weekend. The hostel on Skye was brilliant and a perfect place to come back to after a very wet day out. Despite a day of dreadful weather, Mark showcased Scotland’s beauty and there was something for everyone over the weekend. No request was too much trouble and his driving was brilliant, especially in some really difficult weather. Whisky, wind of epic proportions, brilliant knowledge of each area, faeries, mountains, Hairy Coo, great story telling, terrible jokes (sorry Mark) and the most amazing scenery. Thanks for a fab weekend.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Rachel, Thank you so much for the lovely review and photos. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Mark. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
8th March 2020

KimTot Octaviano

It's a different feeling being told how beautiful Scotland is to actually experiencing it up close. On the get go, Macbackpackers delivered on the dot to what they said on the tour details. The tour started on time, the bus was comfortable and the hostel, private and accomodating. But the real star of the show, besides the amazing Scottish landscape, was our tour guide Neil/Neal (Sorry). When we started i tour i thought to myself, "oh dear, is he really going to talk for the whole trip?" But then as we drive around, i realized how interesting his stories were, on how he delivered the Scientific and Folk/Native explanation for the Sights, in between juggling roles as a Driver, Tour Guide, Dj, Storyteller and Authentic Angry Scottish Man, he delivered the tour in such a way that you can feel that he has a degree of Intimacy with the tour and you know that he is invested and devoted into what he does as a way of preserving his heritage. You can certainly see how passionate Neil/Neal (I do apologize) is about what he does especially when he talks about the clan MacLennon and their role in Scotlands past, this is where you see that he is telling a genuine story, rather than memorizing or mouthing off a script for the tour. Such a shame though, that he didn't have a chance to where his Kilt during the trip!!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey KimTot, Thanks so much for the lovely review and beautiful photos. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Neil (and no need to apologise! :)). Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
4th March 2020

Cai Gui Quan

I had Mark as our guide and I can say he really brings out the essence of Scotland by introducing all of the culture and history of the highlands with added sense of humour. The trip itself is nothing but fabulous as there are many nice scenic places that Mark have brought us to see. If I ever coming back again with more time on hand, I would definitely join MacBackpackers again.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Cai Gun, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Mark. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
3rd March 2020

Agnieszka Sobek

This was the first time i had taken a group road tour and I would have to say that it exceeded my expectations. Our guide Branka was great, it is a difficult job managing people on this type of trip. Everything was completely organized and well done. I look forward to another trip. I would without a doubt definitely recommend this trip maybe next for 7days


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Agnieszka, Thanks so much for the lovely feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Branka. We can't wait to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
20th February 2020

Emily Huteson

Go for it! It's a great experience.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Emily, Thanks so much for rating us. We're glad to hear you loved the 3 Day Isle of Skye tour. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
20th February 2020
Load more reviews