based on 723 reviews
A

AmyCameron

What a brilliant tour! As a Scot myself, I went on this tour with friends visiting from Germany and Austria, and learned so much more about my home country. We were within a small tour group of around 10, with Mark as our tour guide. We loved all of Mark's stories about Scotland, as well as his music playlist! It was such an enjoyable five days in the highlands that exceeded our expectations. Highlights included the scenery of the Isle of Skye, getting up close with Highland Cows and seeing the beautiful Eilean Donan Castle. I would definitely recommend this tour!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Amy, Thanks so much for reviewing us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Mark. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
25th March 2020

BrookeBaigent

I had Mark for our guide who was energetic, passionate and his knowledge about the history of Scotland was incredible, and he told it in a way that was interesting. We were not constrained to be at locations at certain times but he took us to places dependant on weather and what the group wanted so we got a better experience. I'm glad I chose this over other tour companies for the flexibility, so if your thinking of booking do it! Scotland is incredible!


Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hi Brooke, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Mark. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
22nd February 2020

BrookeBaigent

I had Mark for our guide who was energetic, passionate and his knowledge about the history of Scotland was incredible, and he told it in a way that was interesting. We were not constrained to be at locations at certain times but he took us to places dependant on weather and what the group wanted so we got a better experience. I'm glad I chose this over other tour companies for the flexibility, and seeing the hidden gems of Scotland that other companies might miss. If your thinking of booking do it! Scotland is incredible!


Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hi Brooke, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Mark. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
22nd February 2020

Pajack Lyu

A unforgettable travel, our tour guide Neil is a very funny and patient guy, we all love him. The scenery in Scotland is amazing, and I think 5 days to visit just a beginning, next time I will try to stay longer. Of course, MacBackpackers will be my first choice.


Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hey Pajack, Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling with Neil. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
26th December 2019
LO

Luccia Oates

This tour was fantastic!! Fabulous tour guide (Neil) who even in the winter weather planned out exciting days for us. Would definitely recommend.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Luccia, Thanks so much for taking the time to share the beautiful photos and review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
14th December 2019
EL

Emma Lucas

Had a great trip with Neil! Would recommend to anyone was a trip I'll remember for a long time to come!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Emma, Thanks so much for the lovely photos and review. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
14th December 2019
TC

Tara Cochrane

Had a brilliant time on this tour. Mark was fantastic- very knowledgeable and even tried to find out more information about the History of my family! The tour was very well organised and saw some great sites.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Tara, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time on tour with Mark. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
25th November 2019
MS

Matthew Shen

Had a fantastic 5 day tour of Scotland. Our guide, Mark, was super funny and extremely knowledgeable about Scotland and its history which made it very engaging and interesting. The itinerary was not packed which gave us the time to experience things at a good pace, and this tour really allows you to enjoy the natural beauty of Scotland. Had an excellent time with the tour group (13 of us) where are out most nights at local pubs before heading off to comfortable hostel accomodation. Highly recommend this tour especially Mark our tour guide!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Matthew, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time on the 5 Day Skye and Highland Fling with Mark. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
24th November 2019
AE

Aaron Espiritu

I came to Scotland on a whim, not really knowing what to expect before I arrived. I’ve had others tell me it is a beautiful country and I had to see it for myself, but that was it. The first few days of my trip were in Edinburgh and while Edinburgh is a nice city with plenty to do, I will describe it as a “very okay” experience - not the most amazing I’ve seen, but hey, at least I got to see it at least once and I guess the history and architecture was pretty cool. It wasn’t until this tour that I decided this was my favourite trip I have ever taken. For me, I was most looking forward to seeing the countryside and touring the highlands on my trip - this tour did not disappoint. Mark is an excellent guide with a lot of knowledge and passion for this country. Funny too. He was very professional when guiding us through the day, but while everyone would spend the evening at the pub he was very easy to talk to and was just another member of the group to share stories with. The tours were very flexible and Mark did not force anyone into any activity they did not want to do. The weather for the duration of the tour was very generous to us which allowed us to see some incredible sights, but that may not always be the case. Your mileage may vary. The people I met on this tour, as well as my experiences through the Highlands & Isle of Skye made the price of this tour well worth it. I will definitely be back in Scotland, it’s just a matter of when. Maybe next time I will go for the 7 day tour. Also... hairy coos. That is all.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Aaron, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share the lovely photos! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time on tour with Mark. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
24th November 2019
A

AliceAntonov

This was an amazing tour! If you’re unsure of whether to go with MacB or another tour group, this is the tour for you if you’re young, active, enjoy a lively atmosphere/experience, and want to be within a cohort of your peers. Each day we did a really good amount of activities and we weren’t overwhelmed with info or going at 150% to fit everything in. It was a really great pace!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Alice, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share the lovely photos! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time on the 5 Day Skye and Highland Fling. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
23rd November 2019
Load more reviews