based on 724 reviews

Madison Lundberg

Fantastic tour! Everything about this tour exceeded my expectations. Neil showed us so many beautiful parts of Scotland without the crowds of people and heavily trafficked tourist areas. Neil was very flexible and open to allowing the group contribute to decision making with regard to where we went and what we did. He also shared So many stories and histories of places we saw, making our adventures even more interesting! Excellent value, beautiful sites, wonderful stories! It couldn’t have been a better trip. I would love to go on another tour with Macbackpackers!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Madison, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
6 days ago
GK

Greta Keating

Thanks for such a wonderful week! Have been to Scotland before, but learnt and explored so much more than I was expecting. Thanks to Neil and Macbackpackers for the trip. Lots of exploring and hikes and loads of funny interesting facts about this beautiful country. Thanks also to Scotland for turning on the weather for some sunny gorgeous days. Would recommend and definitely trying to swing some more annual leave for another Macbackpackers trip ;)


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Greta, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share all the lovely pics. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Neil. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
11th November 2019

David Gregg

MacBackpackers provided an unforgettable travel experience. Neil was an excellent tour guide. He went out of his way every day to make sure you got to see as much as possible, and kept the group at a comfortable pace. Having a guide to navigate and manage time is absolutely critical to get the most out of exploring the highlands. The hikes were excellent, and Neil gave us a very personalized experience.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi David, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
5th November 2019
NE

Nicolas Estrada

Awesome guide, great itinerary, we loved it immensely!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hey Nicolas, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
5th November 2019
A

alleycatwh

Stewart was a fantastic guide! Super knowledgeable about the subject matter and incredibly funny. Made me feel at home in a foreign country and always had good recommendations and advice. Played total bangers in the bus and felt more like a friend than a guide! Booking another tour and I hope he’ll be my guide :)


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Stewart. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
5th November 2019

Charline Dubois

Had an amazing time ! Neil was great, very good story teller :) He always had good advice and knows his country very well ! I would recommend this trip !


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Charline, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
4th November 2019
T

Tanvi

What an amazing experience! We always exoect d Scotland to be amazing but were still overawed by how beautiful it is. Niel was simply amazing- his knowledge of Scotland, its history and culture and his unique sense of humor really elevated the entire experience. He was spot on with his advice about the best things to do in the towns we stayed in and we were amazed by his knowledge, not just of Scotland but the countries and cultures of each of the backpackers. We're really going to miss his wit! My husband and I were looking for a more outdoorsy and active trip and Macbackers delivered. Loves the many trails and hikes that Niel took us on and the lively and lovely group of backpackers. Also liked the flexibility of being able to book our own BnBs all through. Esp loved the one at Kyleakin, i think Glenarrock, with an amazing breakfast at Saucy Mary's included. Niel took great care in understanding the group's interests and customising the stops. Would recommend a 100% for anyone looking for a reasonably activity-based tour of the highlands. Kudos to Niel and Macbackers


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hey Tanvi, Thanks so much for taking the time to share all the wonderful photos and review us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
2nd November 2019
J

Jana

Amazing tour with an amazing and hilarious tour guide and super nice. Definitely a great way to see the highlands.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Jana, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear that you had a great time on our 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling tour. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
2nd November 2019
R

RachaelLeis

The 5 day Skye and Highland Fling was amazing!! We had Neil as our guide and could not be happier with the experience. Having 2 days in Skye allowed us to see everything we wanted. It was nice that Neil offered his honest opinion in the best sites to visit and we were able to go to locations that were not overrun with tourists! This trip showed us more than just the “touristy” areas of Scotland and we were able to experience the culture.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Rachael, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
2nd November 2019
A

AberdeenHinze

Scotland and this tour is one of the greatest holidays I’ve ever been on. I’m currently sitting in a Japanese pub in Edinburgh only hours after Neil (the funniest, most genuine guide I’ve met) dropped us back to the city after 5 days of hiking and exploring with the 17 new friends I’ve made this week. Value for money is amazing, most of the attractions we attend are free or cheap (under £10). I’ve been on contiki’s before- and although they are also fun, the macbackpackers tour was more personalised to the group. Neil our guide was fabulous! His story telling whilst transporting us around the country made time fly by. He told us at the beginning of the tour his goal was to make us fall in love with Scotland, and I can tell you officially, I sure have. Can’t wait to do a 7 day tour soon. Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou Neil


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Aberdeen, Thanks so much for taking the time to share all these lovely photos and review us. We're happy to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
1st November 2019
Load more reviews