based on 584 reviews
J

Jessica

Absolutely amazing! My second time going on tour with this company and it was even better than the first go around! Lovely stories, great company, and breathtaking views.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Jessica, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
3 days ago
DT

Daniel Thomas

Great tour and fantastic guides. Learnt a lot from Mark as he was exceptionally knowledge. Liked the range of different places visited; got a real in depth feel for Scottish history. Also liked the regular stops and opportunities to walk/hike. Would recommend to anyone interested in immersing themselves in a historic and cultural tour of Scotland. Would have preferred more of a selection of cereals at breakfast, however that is my only criticism.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Daniel, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fab time on our 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling with Mark. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
5 days ago
PK

Penka Karadjova

Thank you! One of the best tours I have taken.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Penka Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
6 days ago

Dorie Bachmann

Have you ever fallen so deeply in love with a place, that coming back to reality breaks your heart? That’s me right now. Considering having zero connections to Scotland at the start, it’s a bit of a strange feeling. I met so many wonderful people on this tour and made SO many connections, it was hard to just wave goodbye and be onto the next. I will never forget the incredible stories, the scenery, the hiking... and all of Neil's ridiculous jokes. Macbackpackers you have created one hell of an experience, your effort and love for your home truly shows in the knowledge and places you show in your tours. I'm already dreaming of the next time I can make it out there. Thank you, cheers!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Dorie, Thanks so much for taking the time to share the amazing pics and review us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 5 Day Skye & Highland Fling with Neil. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
15th April 2019

Irina Andreea

This tour was an amazing experience and I recommend this type of travel prior to car or train travel. The itinerary was well planed, we had so many different objectives included so that anyone would have something to enjoy. For example, we visited a few castles, a few museums, the battle field of Culloden and we did some hiking, more or less everyday. Our tour guide, Neil, was a great guy, he shared with us interesting and funny stories of the places we visited, legends and some history lessons. He also recommended us places to eat, shop and even the best angles to take pictures. The accommodation was in hostels and the price was £19.5 per night/per bed. The conditions were not that bad, but if you have any issue with the shared bathroom or sleeping with others in the same room, you can book something on your own, but make sure to be close enough to the hostels because in the morning the tour starts early at 9 or half past 8 and you don't want to be late. From my point of view, the itinerary was great because we had a bit of everything. For castles, museums and whiskey distillery we had guides, or at least audio guides, which was pretty nice and we also had some group discounts for the entrance fee. All in all, I'm so glad that I picked this tour, it really was an adventure and the people I've met were very friendly and kind. You can check the attached pictures with the amazing views that we had.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Irina, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share all these lovely photos. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Neil. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
15th April 2019
M

MihaiToma

Neil was fantastic! The combination between funny stories, jokes,history lessons and the places we visited really transformed our tour into an adventure I will never forget.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Mihai, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share the wonderful photo. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Neil. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
14th April 2019
AM

Abdallah Mohamed

The best thing about the trip was our tour guide Neil. He really knew what was worthy of seeing and added so much entairtainment all over the jouney aside from his historical knowledge and non ending stories. Also his ability to create a very joyful atmoshphere between the tour memebers was outstanding.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Abdallah, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Neil. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
13th April 2019
TN

Tram Nguyen

Neil was absolutely awesome, funny and friendly as a tour guide. He knew so many local folklores, which trail to take to have the best viewpoint, and good pubs in the towns we stayed at overnight. The trip itself was very fun! The views were breathtaking, especially on the third day of the trip where we hiked up to the Old man of Storr and some waterfall I forgot the name of. We did a lot of walking and hiking in general, but the magical view was totally worth it. The fish and chips in Oban were excellent - I'd highly recommend you try it! The accommodation was fine - the hostel in the small town of Skye has limited wifi (only worked in the first floor) but it wasn't a big deal. I felt a bit sad when the trip ended since we had a good group of people and I really liked getting to know them over these past few days.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Tram, thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic tour with Neil. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
12th April 2019
H

HannahGregory

I am not one to enjoy touristy things, I usually like to wander about and focus on the locals more than the sights. But I wanted to see Scotland and I didn’t know where to start, I am on a several month backpacking trip and wanted a break from planning and worrying about timetables, hostel bookings, etc. This tour was perfect for that! We definitely hit up classic tourist spots and such, but we also got out into nature and saw some really cool (and I think) unique things. I loved the hikes we did and the towns we stopped in. My tour guide was Mark, and wowzah, he is a WONDERFUL guide. The driving time was amazing, because we got to sit and look out the window and listen to Mark tell stories of Scottish history. He is most definitely the best storyteller I’ve ever had the privilege of listening to and I know everyone on the bus enjoyed his stories as well. He is also obviously experienced and knowledgeable in what he is doing- I never felt unsure or anything of that sort with him leading. A good leader, indeed. Additionally, what we wanted was taken into account. We were given options on what to do everyday and that was different than I expected, but a cool twist to have for the tour, and I think we had better experiences as a group because of it. If you’re looking to have a fantastic guided tour with lots of good food, laughter, walking, and choices, this is perfect for you. Oh, and did I mention laughing? There is plenty of that. 100% recommended.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Hannah! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Mark. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
6th April 2019

Marios

It was amazing! Mark was fantastic, knowledgable and made sure we had the best experience possible. Highly recommend! Next time I'll do the 7 day trip and will bring some friends. Keep up the good work! (The hostels were also pretty good, although one of them could be a bit cleaner).


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Marios, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant tour with Mark. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
2nd April 2019
Load more reviews