based on 19 reviews

Elizabeth Holzman

This was an AMAZING tour! I had the best time. Our tour guide was stellar, hilarious, and kept everyone interested in the beauty and history and humor of Scotland.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Elizabeth, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fab time on our Hogmanay Hootenanny. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
22nd August 2018
LT

Liana Tsunechiro

MacBackpackers's Hogmanay Tour is the best experience so far!! I totally recomend this tour, Scotland is breathtaking.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hey Liana, Thanks so much for sending the great pictures and taking the time to review us. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed the Hogmanay with us. Hopefully, you'll be back soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
6th March 2018
H

Hannah

The tour was better than I expected. Our guide Richard was the best, I learned a great deal and he kept us entertained for the whole trip. I met so many lovely people and we all had such a fun time together. Would definitely recommend!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Hannah, So happy to hear you had a great Hogmanay and enjoyed the tour with Richard. Thanks for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
15th January 2018

Jenny Hung

So glad to have been on this trip to finish off 2017 with a bang and enter 2018 with a bunch of legends! The tour from start to finish was filled with laughter, fun, new experiences, new memories made and breathtaking views of the Highlands covered in snow! Our guide, Richard, definitely made the trip! He is so full of knowledge and shared a bunch of stories, jokes and was always ready for a laugh! It was sufficient! MacBackpackers were really helpful prior to the trip and also during. Highly recommend going on this tour!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Jenny, Thanks so much for writing the review. We are delighted to hear you had a blast on the tour with Richard and a brilliant Hogmanay. We look forward to seeing you soon again! Cheers, Jaz xx

Read more
13th January 2018
B

Bryan

From start to finish, this is one of the best tours I've ever done. I've stayed in a bunch of hostels over the years but Castle Rock Hostel is something special; a huge place with excellent facilities and views of castles from the windows. As for the tour itself, there really is no better way to round off your year. The Isle of Skye and the Scottish Highlands during winter are sublime. You HAVE to see it when it's blanketed by snow! You'll also have a load of fun on the bus with our tour guide, Richard being the most entertaining and knowledgeable guide I've ever experienced. His rich knowledge of the country's history and authentic Scottish humour will leave you with a deep understanding and love of Scotland by the time you leave. Your only problem then is the melancholy you'll feel for wanting to be back there! Overall a fantastic experience which I couldn't rate any higher.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Bryan, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear you had great Hogmanay and amazing time exploring the Highlands and Isle of Skye with Richard. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
8th January 2018
D

Daniel

MacBackPacker's Hogmanay Hootenany was the ultimate travel experience! It was a perfect blend of exciting festival celebrations in Edinburgh, one of the most beautiful cities in the world, and jaw-dropping natural and historical site exploration. What really made it stand out, however, was the enthusiasm, personality and incredible knowledge of our guide, Richard. Amazing!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hey Daniel, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the Hogmanay in Edinburgh and the 3 Day Isle of Skye tour with Richard. Thanks for rating us. We hope to see you soon again! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
3rd January 2018
SS

Sean Smith

Touring through Scotland and the Isle of Skye with MacBackpackers and Richard Galloway as our guide was an awesome experience. Richard kept the adventure fun, hilarious, and continuously entertaining with his banter, stories, and knowledge. All you need to do is show up and the team from MacBackpackers will be there to lead the way. 10/10


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Sean, Thanks so much for taking the time and writing the review. We're happy to hear you had a great Hogmanay Tour with Richard. We're looking forward to seeing you soon again! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
3rd January 2018
I

Isabella

Just finished the Hogmanay and Isle of Skye tour and it was worth every penny! Tour guides were absolutely fantastic and there was never a dull moment. Great value for money as well. Highly reccomend to anyone looking for a short trip over New Years.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hey Isabella, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Hogmanay Hootenanny with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Hopefully, you will come back again soon! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
2nd January 2018
SB

Sven Binder

I loved every minute of this tour, and I mean every single one. With our tourguide Richard Galloway (proper top bloke!) not only telling us about any- and everything you may want to know about the places we visited and travelled through, but also making sure we all had one hell of a laugh, even bus rides were fun. Also, when I had a question during the booking process, assistance was immediate, helpful and friendly. The hostels we stayed in were some of the best I have been to. Castel Rock Hostel is situated absolutly brilliantly, and the staff were great. The places we went to see were (of course) breathtaking, Skye and the Highlands are a must see, pictures simply can't convey them well enough to do them justice! I also liked that there was enough spare time in the evenings to get to know everyone, the others on the tour were great, that really lifted the experience right up there!


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Sven! Thank you for your review, we're so pleased to hear you loved your time with us! Hope you have an awesome 2017.

Read more
8th January 2017
B

Ben

This was the first ever tour I've done, and I couldn't reccommend it enough. Macbackpackers as a company were incredibly helpful throughout the booking process, and our tour guide Richard was absolutely brilliant. He was super interactive, and also was open to suggestions if anyone had anywhere they really wanted to check out on the trip. The accommodation provided for the duration of the trip was in great locations, and with good facilities too.


Transportation
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hello Ben! Thank you for your review, and for letting us take you out on your first tour adventure - Glad to hear you enjoyed it so much! All the best.

Read more
3rd January 2017
Load more reviews