based on 26 reviews
L

LucasBeddington

We had Branka as our tour guide and I couldn't imagine doing this tour any differently. She kept everyone on the bus engaged, excited, and had some awesome tales to tell during the tour. We initially chose this tour because of how affordable it was when you take transportation and accommodation into account, but it ended up being way more fun than the expected 'sight seeing' tour.


Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hey Lucas, Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic Christmas with Branka. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
2nd January 2020
ZW

Zixuan Wang

We had a fantastic 5-day trip to the Scottish Highlands, celebrating Christmas with the great group. Branka did a good job as a tour guide, adding a lot of knowledge and laughter to the journey.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hey Zixuan, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share the lovely photos. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic Christmas with Branka. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
27th December 2019
B

BrandonWickman

This was an amazing tour that I would highly recommend to anyone that is looking for a fun take in history in Scotland it anyone wanting to see the beautiful scenery if the highlands. It tour guide was absolutely fabdanadozy! She was very knowledgeable in the history, while at the same time making it fun and easy to remember.


Overall rating
Read more
27th December 2019
K

Kost

The price is way less than half if you were considering renting a car instead. The tour guide was fun educated resourceful and overall a trustworthy guide that drove the hell out of that bus in the tiny highland roads. I say again branka was the bomb.com


Overall rating

Operator's comment: Hey Kost, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas with our bomb.com guide Branka. Come back soon! Cheers, Jaz / MacBackpackers

Read more
27th December 2019

Rebecca Dames

Stewart was just incredible. A true Scottish lad with an incredible love for his country and its history. The stories he told were magical, hilarious, and really brought our journey to life. Stewart changed the itinerary as we went to best suit our group which I loved. He created a really free and easy atmosphere that was just a joy to travel with. He swore and ranted and joked and told yarns and it was the most entertaining tour I've ever been on - cannot recommend highly enough if you want a unique, amazing trip around Scotland.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Rebecca, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share the lovely pics. Even managed to see Santa! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic Christmas tour with Stewart. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
3rd January 2019
NB

Nikhil Bachhawat

The tour was perfect in terms of time given to hike and the selection of sights to see in Scotland. The tour guide was very friendly and good at telling folklore and history of Scotland and funny which made it even more enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and thank you for the wonderful time!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Nikhil, Thanks so much for the lovely feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas with Stewart. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
27th December 2018
AS

Ariana Snell

Stewart was an absolute blast. Very knowledgeable and easy to get along with which is always great with a tour guide. The overall tour was absolutely breathtaking literally, the hike up Old man of Storr was challenging but the views were amazing. We were lucky enough to have amazingly clear weather on Skye which made Christmas even more Magical. Overall an amazing tour with an amazing group of people!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Ariana, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fab Christmas with Stewart. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
26th December 2018

Maniesha Kaur Salaken Singh

I loved the tour. I love hiking and also wanted to have an opportunity to view beautiful sceneries. This tour gave me both!!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Maniesha, We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas with us. Thanks so much for rating us. We hope to see you again very soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
26th December 2018
E

Elle

The 5-day Christmas Caper was everything we hoped for plus more! A great group of travelling companions, friendly locals and beautiful scenery made for a perfect mix of sightseeing, activities and fun; not forgetting a good dose of Christmas spirit. Our tour guide Richard was an absolute legend. His extensive and first hand knowledge of Scotland coupled with his fantastic story-telling abilities were second to none and made the trip one I will remember always. It really set the bar high for my first Christmas abroad.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hey Elle, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful Christmas with Richard and everyone else on the tour. Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz xx

Read more
14th January 2018
K

Kerry

I recently did the 5 day Christmas Caper tour and it was truly amazing. I am so glad I chose MacBackpackers (recommended by a friend). Our tour guide - Richard - was the perfect balance of funny, knowledgeable and friendly and with his Scottish humour left the bus in stitches most of the time. He was flexible when it came to planning our days and with that we got to see the best sites. The hostels themselves we very clean, warm and comfortable and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. We had an amazing Christmas lunch prepared by the staff the King Haakon Restaurant followed by games and plenty of drinking. This was definitely a tour I will never forget with awesome people and amazing organization. Thank you MacBackpackers and Richard for the best time!!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Kerry, We are delighted to hear that you had a great Christmas with Richard and everyone else on the tour. We are glad you enjoyed the Christmas lunch as well. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
9th January 2018
Load more reviews