based on 23 reviews

Rebecca Dames

Stewart was just incredible. A true Scottish lad with an incredible love for his country and its history. The stories he told were magical, hilarious, and really brought our journey to life. Stewart changed the itinerary as we went to best suit our group which I loved. He created a really free and easy atmosphere that was just a joy to travel with. He swore and ranted and joked and told yarns and it was the most entertaining tour I've ever been on - cannot recommend highly enough if you want a unique, amazing trip around Scotland.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Rebecca, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share the lovely pics. Even managed to see Santa! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic Christmas tour with Stewart. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
3rd January 2019
NB

Nikhil Bachhawat

The tour was perfect in terms of time given to hike and the selection of sights to see in Scotland. The tour guide was very friendly and good at telling folklore and history of Scotland and funny which made it even more enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and thank you for the wonderful time!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Nikhil, Thanks so much for the lovely feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas with Stewart. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
27th December 2018
AS

Ariana Snell

Stewart was an absolute blast. Very knowledgeable and easy to get along with which is always great with a tour guide. The overall tour was absolutely breathtaking literally, the hike up Old man of Storr was challenging but the views were amazing. We were lucky enough to have amazingly clear weather on Skye which made Christmas even more Magical. Overall an amazing tour with an amazing group of people!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Ariana, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a fab Christmas with Stewart. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
26th December 2018

Maniesha Kaur Salaken Singh

I loved the tour. I love hiking and also wanted to have an opportunity to view beautiful sceneries. This tour gave me both!!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation

Operator's comment: Hi Maniesha, We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas with us. Thanks so much for rating us. We hope to see you again very soon! Cheers, Jaz

Read more
26th December 2018
E

Elle

The 5-day Christmas Caper was everything we hoped for plus more! A great group of travelling companions, friendly locals and beautiful scenery made for a perfect mix of sightseeing, activities and fun; not forgetting a good dose of Christmas spirit. Our tour guide Richard was an absolute legend. His extensive and first hand knowledge of Scotland coupled with his fantastic story-telling abilities were second to none and made the trip one I will remember always. It really set the bar high for my first Christmas abroad.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hey Elle, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful Christmas with Richard and everyone else on the tour. Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Jaz xx

Read more
14th January 2018
K

Kerry

I recently did the 5 day Christmas Caper tour and it was truly amazing. I am so glad I chose MacBackpackers (recommended by a friend). Our tour guide - Richard - was the perfect balance of funny, knowledgeable and friendly and with his Scottish humour left the bus in stitches most of the time. He was flexible when it came to planning our days and with that we got to see the best sites. The hostels themselves we very clean, warm and comfortable and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. We had an amazing Christmas lunch prepared by the staff the King Haakon Restaurant followed by games and plenty of drinking. This was definitely a tour I will never forget with awesome people and amazing organization. Thank you MacBackpackers and Richard for the best time!!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Kerry, We are delighted to hear that you had a great Christmas with Richard and everyone else on the tour. We are glad you enjoyed the Christmas lunch as well. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
9th January 2018
E

Elyne

I did the 5 day Christmas Caper tour and it went above and beyond any expectations I had. This being my first tour and hostel experience I was a bit nervous but the hostels were wonderful, clean and comfortable, and the tour experience was fist rate. Nothing beats sightseeing and hiking the highlands with a guide as passionate, funny and genuinely in love with his country as Richard. I loved the flexibility of the schedule and the variety of sites and activities. A special mention goes out to the staff at the King Haakon Restaurant that put together and amazing Christmas dinner. Thank you MacBackpackers for a trip that I will be daydreaming about for a long time to come.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Elyne, It's great to hear you had a fab Christmas on tour with Richard. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Christmas dinner too. Thank you so much for taking the time and writing this lovely review. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
4th January 2018
S

Sumit

It was an awesome trip ! My best ever coach/guide trip & i have done a few of them. Richard is a hilarious guide & made our trip extra special with all the jokes / stories. We had a lovely Christmas with a group of 29 people & it was probably the best Christmas yet !


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money

Operator's comment: Hi Sumit, Thanks for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time on the Christmas Caper with Richard. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Jaz xx

Read more
3rd January 2018
CL

Camie Lynn Bennett

We (my daughter and I) enjoyed the 5-day Christmas Caper thoroughly. Richard was an excellent tour guide, he was very knowledgeable on Scotish history and the geography of Scotland. MacBackpackers and Richard made Christmas memorable with gifts, champagne, and dinner. We met many great people on the tour and would highly recommend it.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money
Read more
31st December 2016
N

Natalie

I had an amazing time on the tour to the highlands! Richard was a great guide and I had a great time meeting and socializing with other people in my group. It was a wonderful way to spend Christmas.


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Value for money
Read more
29th December 2016
Load more reviews