109 reviews for 0 tours
M

MonicaAleStefySiroSara

We had a 16 days self drive tour Maun/Maun with 2 cars with tent on the roof. We spent nights camping in Mankwee, Khwai, Savute, Elephant Sands, Lekhubu, North Kalahari, Baines Baobab, Khumaga, and lodges in Maun, Kasane, Livingstone and Chief Island. Correspondence via e-mail, explanations, indications, road instructions everything was really precisely arranged, accurate and well done. They made a great job. We would definitively ask again Drive Botswana to arrange a trip for us.


Transportation
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
9th October 2018
S

SarahPhilipp

We travelled 30 days from Joburg to Cape Town through Botswana and Namibia. We visited Rhino Sanctuary, Vic Falls, Chobe, Savuti, Moremi, Okavango, Etosha, Sossusvlei and more. Andy planed our trip perfect. Best rental car which is available in Africa (Bushlore Toyota Hilux). All accomocations were great. We always had a good feeling because Andy gave us a perfect description of every Day - where to fill up petrol, food and cash - what we have to see on the way and more. THANKS!


Transportation
Meals
Guide
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
24th September 2018
B

BridgetGreen

We had a fantastic holiday a true adventure. The itinerary was well thought out with detailed instructions. At times it took us out of our comfort zone but then that made the holiday. We had good back up when we needed it. We saw amazing wildlife, an incredible country and have wonderful memories. We cannot wait to go back, thank you.


Transportation
Meals
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
12th August 2018
M

MichaelidesCon

We had a 28 day self drive from Windtown to Maun through Caprivi, the whole trip was very well organized the directions and times were accurate, and we were very happy with the support we we got from Phil and the rest of the team thank u


Transportation
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
30th July 2018
RS

Rebecca Singer

This trip was exhausting, stressful, not fun and a huge waste of money. The vehicle didn't function well, the drive times were inaccurate and much longer than on paper, there was no time to rest, and the itinerary was insane The GPS and phone didn't work most of the time. We were given wrong instructions regarding driving in deep sand. Campgrounds were often crowded, noisy, and not restful. The whole trip was very disappointing. There seems to be a network of Good Old Boys who all love Andy and Drive Botswana and if something is wrong, the implication is that the problem is really with the traveler, not the tour. I have about 4 great memories from this trip, which is about 28 too few.


Transportation
Meals
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
28th July 2018
S

sebcrawford

These guys are fantastic! 20 days self drive in Namibia/Botswana . We started with a half cooked idea of an itinerary and Phil made various suggestions and recommendations – all turned out to be absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much! Everything done via email. Nothing was too much trouble, he patiently helped us put together an incredible trip – Windhoek, Sesriem, Swakopmumd, Skeleton coast, Etosha, Caprivi strip, Kasane. We then dropped off the car and flew into the Okavango Delta. As we travelled we were constantly impressed by the organization and planning these guys had done. I couldn’t recommend them highly enough. Many thanks ! Seb and Steve, Sydney Australia.


Transportation
Meals
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
18th July 2018
H

havellfamily

This was a tailor made safari from Gaborone following a round trip through Maun Moremi and Chobi Water Front, Kasane, Victoria Falls, and back via Gweta and Francistown to Gaborone. The whole trip was fantastic - trip of a life time! I would thoroughly recommend Drivebotswana to arrange a trip, and look forward to more trips. It was well organised, all the lodges/campsites expected us and looked after us really well. The accommodation was always comfortable even under canvas we had mattresses! The food was well prepared and scrumptious! How Andy managed to arrange for us to see some rare sighting of rare animals I don't know but we saw leopard with its kill. Hippos which hadn't been seen for a year at the Thamalakane Lodge. Male lion on night safari roaring for its friend to go hunting and safari truck race on the dusty/sandy tracks chasing painted dogs which calmly crossed our path when he had got ahead of them. Apart from adventures getting stuck on the sandy track, being sham charged by a teenage elephant, so many experiences which made this a holiday of a lifetime.


Transportation
Meals
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
11th July 2018
A

AdrianBJoss

We had a self-drive tour and everything was well organized. We had a very good car, equipped with all what we were asking for. The choosen accomodation was excellent, good tents and Chalets, excellent Food and everywhere we had very nice staff.


Transportation
Meals
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
22nd June 2018
A

AnneCollard

The experience we had in Namibia/Botswana/and briefly Zimbabwe was unforgettable. We have seen countless beautiful animals and birds, experienced the most gorgeous and varied scenery, met some lovely people, and driven for 3,500 km over the most dreadful roads we have ever encountered. A friend had recently been to Namibia and told me how much she loved it, and loaned me her copy of Lonely Planet We decided it was something that we really wanted to do and looking through Lonely Planet I saw very good reviews for Drive Botswana as a company to approach for tailor made self drive tours. I realty thought it wouldn't be possible or affordable to do what we wanted to do, but working with Phil it all became a reality. We started off in Windhoek where we stayed in a guest house for the first night and went to Joe's for dinner and a beer or two (apparently you haven't been to Windhoek if you haven't been to Joes! The next morning we were collected by a guy from Bushlore and taken to their offices where we were to collect our rented double cab Hilux 4x4 rooftop camper. Once all the details were sorted and we had learned all there was to know about our future home on wheels, and how to use the SatNav, we set off to buy groceries in preparation for our first two nights of camping. From Windhoek we went to Sesriem Campsite a great base for visiting the amazing dunes of Sossuslvei - absolutely gorgeous. We were lucky enough to be camped right below a huge weaver bird nest (more like a city really). From Sesriem we drove to Swakopmund where we stayed for two nights in the really nice Sandcastle apartments where the host delivered a massive breakfast directly to the apartment in the morning. One thing I would highly recommend is the Living Desert Tour driving through the dunes around Swakopmund. Great guide and totally fascinating learning about the desert and its life. From there we drove North stopping one night in the beautiful Madisa campsite, and into the Etosha Park. Our very first evening at the campsite we wandered down to the watering hole and a small family of elephants were approaching. That was me satisfied. Elephants were the animal I most wanted to see so I was sorted. We saw a 'live' zebra crossing (very exciting) and loads of other animals. Three nights in the park, the final night in the really upmarket Onguma Tamboti campsite. Lovely private site with personal toilet and shower. Quite a luxury. We then drove further North to the River Dance Lodge, our last stop in Namibia before crossing the border into Botswana. It's an absolutely gorgeous place where we had our private chalet on the river. The place was built and run by local people who make you feel incredibly welcome. We then drove to Maun, in Botswana, and stayed at the Mochoba Campsite where, in the morning, our guides drove us into the Okavango Delta where another guide took us out in a mokoro canoe, followed by a long walk through the bush where we saw elephants and giraffe, all very exciting. Our final stop in Botswana was at the Old House in Kasane. This was an amazing stop. We did the Sunset cruise on a small craft with 4 other people and saw just about every animal I could wish to see. We got really involved with a huge herd of elephants, saw countless wonderful hippos, giraffe, baboons, gorgeous birds, and many many beautiful antelope etc. etc. Totally wonderful. Our vehicle was collected from the Old House, and then we were collected by a driver and taken into Zimbabwe where we eventually arrived at our lodge at Victoria Falls. Sadly we were only there for one night, but the Falls were massive and amazing, and well worth visiting. From Victoria Falls we flew back to J'Burg and then the flight back to the UK. The campsites for the most part were great, and the accommodation was really good, some really excellent. There were times when we would have liked to have stayed put for a day but it wasn't possible in the time we had, and with everything we wanted to see. This was a vacation (not quite the word really) that we shall never forget. I feel we have seen some of Africa from the ground up, rather than being carted around from lodge to lodge in clean buses and missing out on all the dust and dirt! One thing I would add to the list of first aid things to take. As pharmacies are few and far between I would very much recommend packing some Dioralyte to avoid becoming dehydrated in the event you eat or drink something you shouldn't!. Thanks so much Phil for your assistance and your expertise in making this possible! We are very grateful to have had such an experience!


Transportation
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
19th June 2018
R

RichKraft

Our trip was fantastic! Having never visited Africa before, Andy at Drive Botswana helped us develop a tailor-made, two-week trip in Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe. The highlights were Damarland, Etosha, Chobe, and Moremi Parks and Victoria Falls. Andy's itinerary was just what we were looking for. Also, the vehicle hire from Bushlore was trouble-free. Our wildlife viewing highlights were rhino in Damarland and Etosha, elephants and hippo in Chobe, and lions roaring all night in Sauvuti campsite. We are already thinking about going back.


Transportation
Meals
Overall rating
Accommodation
Read more
9th June 2018
Load more reviews