BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICES0% INTEREST PAYMENTS
Haka Tours
Haka Tours

Haka Tours

4.5/5 - Excellent
Headquarters in Auckland, New Zealand
Ask a questionSee all tours
TOURS
22
AGE RANGE
18-99
RESPONSE RATE
100%
RESPONSE TIME
2d
Best price on your Haka Tours tour
Ask a questionSee all tours

Awards & Recognitions

Guide of the Year  Adventure

Haka Tours Guides

Haka Tours GuideHaka Tours GuideHaka Tours Guide
+1
Unlock up to $600 off Fall Season Sale Unlock up to $600 in extra savings
ends in 14:50:25
  • Small group NZ tours – max 16 people
  • All tours include transport, accommodation, breakfast + more
  • 100% NZ Owned and Operated – travel with the locals
  • Spontaneous exploration and heaps of secret stops
  • Your choice of lots of optional add-on activities
  • New Zealand's #1 tour company

Haka Tours was born over a decade ago from the dreams of one man who wanted to reimagine how small group adventure tours were run. From the very first tour in June 2007 until now there’s been no looking back, and 12 years on we’re incredibly proud to be regarded as N...

Haka Tours was born over a decade ago from the dreams of one man who wanted to reimagine how small group adventure tours were run. From the very first tour in June 2007 until now there’s been no looking back, and 12 years on we’re incredibly proud to be regarded as New Zealand’s leading small group adventure operator. As we’ve grown, we’ve stayed true to our core values which remain the key to our success. Ultimately, when you travel with Haka, you’re not travelling with a multinational corporate or a big international brand, but with an authentic, locally-owned business that puts you, the customer, at the centre of everything we do.

Read more

286 Haka Tours Reviews

Excellent
73%
Good
23%
Average
3%
Rather Poor
1%
Bad
0%
Accommodation
4 / 5
Transportation
4.5 / 5
Meals
4 / 5
Value for money
5 / 5
Guide
5 / 5
Write a review
  • South Island Lick Tour
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 30, 2019
    It was an amazing tour, we managed to see the most beautiful places in a very short time period! Our tour guide also gave us lots of background information.Plus…
    Read more
  • Amplified NZ Tour
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 25, 2019
    New Zealand is AWESOME! clean, pristine lots of H2O and lushly beautiful landscape. I'm glad to be with Si group, with his vast knowledge and experience about …
    Read more
  • North Island Adventure Tour
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on October 18, 2019
    Fantastic experience. High end hostel accommodation exceeded expectations. Guides were friendly, knowledgeable & had a great sense of humour. Highly recommend H…
    Read more
  • South Island Lick Tour
    2.0 - Rather poor
    Written on October 18, 2019
    Honestly, if Andy was the tour guide I would not recommend this tour. Overall, I loved Haka Tours and exploring New Zealand, but Andy's unprofessionalism and un…
    Read more
  • North Island Adventure Tour
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 17, 2019
    Do it! It's awesome!
  • Amplified NZ Tour in reverse
    3.0 - Average
    Written on October 14, 2019
    I took this tour because someone above suggested in a review that if you get the single room option, it would be like staying in a hotel. It's definitely NOT li…
    Read more
    Haka Tours commented on this review
    Kia Ora Craig, Thanks for getting in touch. We are sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience with us. We have provided some comments to your feedback but should you require any further information please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly at info@hakatours.com. 1. For accommodation - we try and make it as clear as possible on our marketing materials that our Haka Adventure Tours stay at high-end backpacker lodges. So that is unfortunate you were under the impression from previous feedback you had read that the tour would have hotel-standard accommodation. 2. The fleet of buses we utilise is continually updated to ensure we are providing the best value and service for our guests. Obviously from time to time there are operational issues. On your tour there was an unfortunate issue with the A/C which we apologise for however we worked hard to ensure the issue was fixed at the earliest possible opportunity on tour. 3. Mandatory days off for tour guides are a legal requirement and the tour guide is expected to check in with all guests prior to their day off to ensure the guests have everything they need. The tour guide also leaves all relevant information for the day ahead with the current accommodation provider, and the Haka Tours head office details are also provided for guests. 4. With regards to the Milford Sound excursion, this is an option add-on activity and we make it apparent on our marketing communications that this is a coach-cruise-coach arrangement. Milford Sound is obviously a very popular tourist attraction and owing to this as well as the nature of the roads there are only a couple of possible transport options to experience this iconic wonder. The alternative to a bus/coach ride is a fly-cruise-fly option which we also offer as an optional activity add-on. 5. We do have preferred relationships with activity suppliers who have “approved insurance” to ensure that we are working with (and offering) safe operators for our guests which is our paramount concern. We are also the only tour company to offer the ability to pre-book activities which is especially beneficial with popular activities such as Hobbiton and Milford Sound which have limited availability. This is an added advantage of Haka Tours, as well as the tour guide ensuring you are booked onto and transported to the appropriate activity - thus taking some of the hassle away. 6. For guests wanting a more “upscale” style of tour, then our Haka Plus tours are recommended. These tours offer hotel style twin share accommodation with ensuites; high-value inclusions; and a higher-quality standard of bus. Nga? mihi (Kind regards), The Haka Tours Team
  • South Island Lick Tour
    4.0 - Good
    Written on October 13, 2019
    Great tour, nice group size, included meals were good. Tour guide Lizzie was excellent, very friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about her country. The Sout…
    Read more
  • South Island Lick Tour
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 4, 2019
    Awesome Tour, I would highly recommended this tour. Time in Bus was kept at a minimum with plenty of stops for photos and short walks. Good mix of people from a…
    Read more
  • North Island Adventure Tour
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on September 27, 2019
    It's a very good experience as it's only a small group so it's got a personal touch. Lizzie has great knowledge about the country and the culture and makes ever…
    Read more
  • South Island Snow Safari
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on September 16, 2019
    The easiest and most convenient way to explore the ski fields on the South Island! Great itinerary, group size is small, accommodation all clean and cosy (they …
    Read more

About Haka Tours

Haka Tours was born over a decade ago from the dreams of one man who wanted to reimagine how small group adventure tours were run. From the very first tour in June 2007 until now there’s been no looking back, and 12 years on we’re incredibly proud to be regarded as New Zealand’s leading small group adventure operator. As we’ve grown, we’ve stayed true to our core values which remain the key to our success. Ultimately, when you travel with Haka, you’re not travelling with a multinational corporate or a big international brand, but with an authentic, locally-owned business that puts you, the customer, at the centre of everything we do.

Haka Tours videos

  • 16 Day Amplified Tour of New Zealand
  • Experience the very best of the North Island of NZ
  • Haka Snow Tours: 7 Day South Island Snow Safari
  • South Island Tour of New Zealand with Haka Tours
  • NZ Heli Ski Tour
  • Show more...
  • Visit New Zealand - Experience an Adventure of a Lifetime
  • NZ Mountain Bike Tours
  • The Ultimate New Zealand Road Trip with Haka Tours
  • How to Pack Your Bike - Haka MTB
  • Explore Christchurch NZ - Haka Tours
  • Haka Tours - Small Group Adventure Tours
  • Main Page Video
  • South Island Snow Safari Highlights - Haka Tours
  • New Zealand's Ultimate Heli Snow Tour - Haka Tours
16 Day Amplified Tour of New Zealand

Why Haka Tours

Travel with the Locals

We are one of the few owned and operated New Zealand Tour companies. We are a small team that loves New Zealand and loves what we do. We really do get a buzz when we see our customers having a unique experience.

We get it, after all, we’re Travellers ourselves

Our core philosophy is that small group travel makes for the best experience. It’s why we limit the size of our groups to just 16. It’s an intimate small group journey, which transforms from bus trip to road trip, complete with like-minded travellers that become your new best mates.

Size Matters

Because the trip of a life time is not a bus pass with 40 other people, getting herded from one place to another. We don’t herd you anywhere. (after all you are not a sheep). It means that while the big group must stick to the main road, we can easily get to those magical, hard to reach places, such as secluded beaches or dramatic cliff tops. It means that while the big group must stick to the main road, we can easily get to those magical, hard to reach places, such as secluded beaches or dramatic cliff tops.

We don’t have Bus Drivers

We have fully fledged, super passionate tour guides that do more than drop you off near a town centre with a list of hostels you could stay at. They are our heroes and because of the smaller group size, they quickly end up becoming a trusted friend, in a way that simply cannot happen on the big bus.

Who travels with us?

So, while there is no typical Haka Tours guest - we've found that over the years, they are all like-minded - and this is why our guests make lifelong friends while on our tours. Of course, they are individuals with different tastes. But the one, crucial thing they have in common is attitude. Without exception, our guests want adventure, spontaneity and fun. They want more than just amazing photos. They want to soak up New Zealand, and absorb all that this beautiful country has to offer. Like you, they want to travel with great people. They are open minded. They know that age is just a number, and that attitude is far more important. They converge from all over Earth to have a unique and incredible experience. Whilst these are "adventure" tours, we don't require a high level of fitness. There is nothing compulsory on our trips other than getting on the tour bus. Whilst some people want adrenalin hit, others prefer to soak up the sun, enjoy the beautiful scenery or immerse themselves in our culture. As with any tour operator, we don’t suit everyone. If you expect a military-style organised trip, or a giant bus/coach packed full of passengers you are probably best to look elsewhere. Otherwise, get started by choosing a tour.

Haka Tours Guides

Exclusive benefits with

What makes us unique

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

  • Do I need a visa for this tour?

    Visa requirements are always changing so it is best to contact your local embassy or consulate for the most up-to-date information.

Loading