Encounters Travel

Encounters Travel

Headquarters in Leeds, England
4.3/5 - Excellent
See all tours


  • Wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours
  • Travel in complete safety
  • Local guides giving perfect insights on the destinations
  • Multi-cultural group tours

Awards & Recognitions

Tour of the Year  Luxury

68 Encounters Travel Reviews

Rather Poor
4 / 5
4.5 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Write a review
Looking for a specific tour? 76 Encounters Travel tours
Check it out
  • NA
    Jordan on a Shoestring
    3.5 - Good
    Written on November 17, 2017
    This was a great trip! Jordan was wonderful, especially Petra! Our guide, Sammy, was very knowledgable and personable. Hotels were ok. Another couple had an iss…
    Read more
  • JR
    Biblical Israel
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on October 30, 2017
    An excellent tour with an experienced and helpful guide, Hilik Silfin, who not only explained the historical significance of what we were seeing but related thi…
    Read more
  • JM
    Biblical Israel
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 11, 2017
    Our 10 day tour of Israel revealed the astounding layers of history (modern and ancient), culture, and sights. Our tour guide, Hilik, did an outstanding job bal…
    Read more
  •  reviewer 4
    Ancient Encounters
    3.0 - Average
    Written on October 4, 2017
    my girl friend and i went on a 2 week vacation with Encounters travel. 1st thing to know: they out source their tours. the egypt…
    Read more
  • FB
    Classic Greece
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on September 29, 2017
    We were a family of six. My 3 sons whose ages ranged from 17 to 22, my mum 73, my husband and me in a wheelchair. You would think that's a tricky bunch to pleas…
    Read more
  • LP
    Discover Egypt
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on September 14, 2017
    My husband and I had a really great time. However we felt as if the price of the trip was really expensive towards the end because all the good stuff were add-o…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Lina, Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback. I’m really pleased to hear that you had a good time in Egypt and that you were happy with the accommodations provided. Over the last few years we’ve worked hard on improving the accommodations on this tour to 5-star level to ensure our clients get the best possible experience. When planning our tours in Egypt and in particular with our Discover Egypt tour we include most of the highlights of Egypt in the itinerary. This includes the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Philae Temple, Edfu & Komombo temples, the Valley of the Kings, Luxor temple and Karnak Temple. We don’t include entrance fees as these are changed by the Egyptian authorities from time to time (both up and down) so it’s therefore more accurate and cost effective for you if they are paid locally. To further enhance the tour we do also offer a selection of additional extras such as Hot Air Balloon flights, a morning tour to Abu Simbel, Red Sea activities and some extra tours in Cairo too. We don’t include these in the base price of the tour as not everybody can afford to or wants to do all of these options. They are therefore left to be missed out, booked prior to arrival or arranged whilst you are on the tour. Also, Abu Simbel and the hot air balloon flight in particular require very early morning starts which many people don’t want to do, particularly as we have a few early starts in the trip already. We do feel that even if none of these additional options are selected, you’ll still receive a very comprehensive tour, visiting the most of the main highlights of Ancient Egypt in the Nile Valley. I hope this information is helpful and that we can help you with another tour in the future.
  • KD
    Jordan Encounters
    3.0 - Average
    Written on September 7, 2017
    Jordan has always been on my bucket list. So glad I've been. 4 days of our tour were awesome but Day 1 was a waste of time. Not good and not worth it Jerash,…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Karen, Thanks for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, it’s very much appreciated and helps us to improve our tours for our future travellers. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your trip, we’ve tried to address each of the points you’ve raised below. I hope that this is helpful. Day 1 It's great to hear that you were able to tick off one of your bucket list destinations and that you felt most of the tour was awesome. However, I’m sorry if you felt that day 1 was a waste. I’m not sure if you are meaning the tour to Pella and Umm Qais here, or the arrival day, so will cover both here. As you had made your own pre-tour arrangements prior to joining the tour, you perhaps had more free time on the arrival day than is usual for our travellers who mostly arrive later on this day and appreciate some free time after their flights. We do offer some optional day trips in our Tour Notes for people who do arrive early. Pella and Umm Qais visited on Day 2, the first sightseeing day, are not Jordan’s most important or dramatic sites, but we do feel that they add something to the tour. Umm Qais shows a distinctive Roman city layout and has a lovely location high in the mountains, while Pella is rich in both antiquities and ruins covering thousands of years from a Chalcolithic settlement from 4000BC, Iron and Bronze age walled city remains, Byzantine churches a Greco Roman theatre, and early Islamic houses and a medieval mosque. Wadi Rum camp The tour includes a jeep safari in Wadi Rum in the morning, and then a free afternoon at the camp. The guide will sometimes return to Amman from Wadi Rum rather than staying overnight and we cover this in our tour notes (one of our shorter tours returns to Amman from Wadi Rum and if there are people on that trip the guide will return with them). This is something which we are considering changing for 2018 though as we agree that it would be better for the guide to stay overnight with the group here. The reason we haven’t done this in the past is because the crew at the Bedouin camp are normally very helpful in suggesting and arranging things to do during your free time (such as walks to the nearby sand dunes, longer hikes, camel rides of anything from 30 minutes to a whole afternoon, and then star gazing later at night). I’m sorry the camp staff weren’t as helpful as they should have been during your visit. It appears that this was because of the heat that you mention which made them assume that people would not want to be doing much activity in the middle of the day. We’re ensuring that assumptions are not made like this in future and all options are offered to fill your time to suit your preferences. Unfortunately due to the nature of camping in the desert, it can make the tents uncomfortably hot during daylight hours. There are some larger camps outside the desert reserve that can provide air conditioning, but this isn’t an option in the smaller camps that we like to use that are right inside Wadi Rum. Return to Amman We are ensuring that the communication is much better from the camp about the return to Amman. This tour is advertised as staying in 3 and 4-star level hotels with the final night in Amman being in a 3-star hotel. We do explain this in the tour notes and show the 3-star Antika Hotel as being used in Amman for the second stay. We like to use a Downtown hotel for your second stay in Amman so that you are much closer to areas of interest for your final evening, and the Antika Hotel has a great location at the top of Rainbow Street. This is a busy road with the locals (which is one reason we feel it is a good place to stay, as there are numerous cafes and restaurants to visit and relax in). Your stay coincided with the Eid Festival in Jordan which did result in downtown Amman being much busier and noisier than is usual. Overall I’m sorry once again that some elements of the tour didn’t live up to your expectations. I agree that communication could have been better in some sections and we are working on this, as well as planning some adjustments to the itinerary as a whole for 2018.
  • A
    Jordan & Egypt on a Shoestring
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on August 28, 2017
    The trip was great well organized, lot see, the accomodations were good. Would definitly recommend the tour. The tour guides were knowledgeable, specially appri…
    Read more
  • AZ
    Imperial Cities
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on August 2, 2017
    The trip was good, the guide was really friendly and knowledgable. Some days are a little too jam packed with sightseeing though which leaves little free tim…
    Read more
  • IS
    Imperial Cities
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on July 10, 2017
    I have enjoyed my trip in Morocco I learnt all the history about Morocco and Berber. The transportation was excellent and the accommodation was good. I liked s…
    Read more

About Encounters Travel

Encounters Travel is an adventure tour operator, based in the UK but with representatives in Canada, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. We run a wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours around the world, each carefully designed to help you get the most out of the country you're visiting. Our tours range from historical sightseeing and Nile cruises in Egypt, through to long strenuous treks and white water rafting in Nepal or swimming with whales in Tonga. You can join other travellers on a small group departure, or personalise and tailor-make an itinerary for you to enjoy privately. Whatever your preference, we have a team of experienced travel consultants ready to advise you and help arrange your next great adventure!

Encounters Travel videos

  • South Africa with Encounters Travel
  • Encounters Travel
South Africa with Encounters Travel

Exclusive benefits with

Learn More

Questions & Answers

We are there for you! If you have any questions about this operator, then please don't hesitate to contact us 24/7 and we will get back to you latest within 2 hours!