BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESTRUSTED PAYMENTS
Encounters Travel

Shanthi“The tour was very good and covered most of the sights that I wanted to see. The City tour on day 2 was only for half day and I took the option to visit Cape Sounio with the tour company (not part of the overall tour). It was well worth a visit to see the T...“

Encounters Travel

Encounters Travel

4.3/5 - Excellent
Headquarters in Leeds, England
Ask a questionSee all tours
TOURS
80
AGE RANGE
5-99
RESPONSE RATE
100%
RESPONSE TIME
5h
Best price on your Encounters Travel tour
Ask a questionSee all tours

Awards & Recognitions

Tour of the Year  Luxury

Encounters Travel Guides

+1
Unlock up to $600 off Member-Only Savings Unlock up to $600 in extra savings
ends on 23 Jun 2018
  • Wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours
  • Travel in complete safety
  • Local guides giving perfect insights on the destinations
  • Multi-cultural group tours

Encounters Travel is an adventure tour operator, based in the UK but with representatives in Canada, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. We run a wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours around the world, each carefully designed to help you get the most...

Encounters Travel is an adventure tour operator, based in the UK but with representatives in Canada, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. We run a wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours around the world, each carefully designed to help you get the most out of the country you're visiting. Our tours range from historical sightseeing and Nile cruises in Egypt, through to long strenuous treks and white water rafting in Nepal or swimming with whales in Tonga. You can join other travellers on a small group departure, or personalise and tailor-make an itinerary for you to enjoy privately. Whatever your preference, we have a team of experienced travel consultants ready to advise you and help arrange your next great adventure!

Read more

119 Encounters Travel Reviews

Excellent
67%
Good
19%
Average
9%
Rather Poor
4%
Bad
1%
Accommodation
4 / 5
Transportation
4.5 / 5
Meals
4 / 5
Value for money
4.5 / 5
Guide
4.5 / 5
Write a review
  • D
    Imperial Cities
    3.5 - Good
    Written on June 5, 2018
    The tour was a great overview of Morrocco. Would pick a non-mixed language tour tour next time, as we were the only 2 people on the tour that did not speak Fre…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Don, Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your tour feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you felt this was a great overview of Morocco. Thank you for the great star ratings, I'm pleased to see that you were happy with the accommodations and guiding provided. However, I'm sorry to learn that you weren't entirely happy with the multi-lingual concept used on this tour. We do explain this within our trip notes and in general we do find that it works pretty well and allows us to continue offering budget tours in Morocco. I think on your departure it was unfortunate and unlucky that you were the only 2 English speakers. This is certainly not normally the case as while there are often some French or Italian speakers in the group, the majority of these speak English too and its very rare that we only have one couple like yourselves speaking English on a particular date. So, I am sorry for any impact you had on your enjoyment of the trip. Thank you again for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback and for choosing to travel with us in Morocco.
  • J
    Moroccan Melodies
    3.0 - Average
    Written on June 2, 2018
    Our trip was 12 day customized tour of "Moroccan Melodies". We paid extra in order to see Chefchaouen and Essouira. What we got was a 3 hour evening experience …
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Julienne, Thank you for your review about your customised tour with us in Morocco. As you have noted in your review there were a couple of parts of the trip that didn't go to plan or as we would have liked. The Midelt cooking demonstration in particular was not at all run as it should have been and the hygiene issues were unacceptable. We stopped arranging anything else there immediately after you contacted us about it during your tour and now offer this kind of experience in a completely different location. The time in Chefchaouen was limited due to some confused communication with your guide and we did provide a refund in relation to this shortened time after you returned from the tour. We were pleased to hear how happy you were with your guide after that though. Unfortunately transport costs in particular for private tours for just one or two people in Morocco do make tailor-made tours that cover a lot of ground quite expensive. The extra cost that you mention was in part to add in the extra locations of Chefchaouen and Essaouira, but was also based on the difference between the pricing of the original group tour itinerary (where we may hold hotel allocations and get different rates from the hotels), and a completely private and more flexible tour, run on different dates. Tipping is also something that we do advise about in advance and cover in the tour notes, and is something that is expected by guides in this part of the world as a personal gesture from their clients, on top of their general wage and the daily tour arrangements. It is certainly a different way of working to what we may be used to back home, but it is normal in this part of the world. Again, thank you for choosing to travel with us in Morocco and for taking the time to review your experience.
  •  reviewer 3
    A Week in Jordan
    4.0 - Good
    Written on May 18, 2018
    I really enjoyed my Jordan tour. The itinerary was planned well... everyday was great, and then the next day was better! Of course the peak was Petra, but Jeras…
    Read more
  • HC
    The Grand Southern Safari
    4.0 - Good
    Written on May 16, 2018
    The itenerary was not always followed. The most egregious problem was staying 250 km (3 hrs.) on an extremely rough road from the gate of sossusvlei (dunes). …
    Read more
  •  reviewer 5
    Morocco on a Shoestring
    2.0 - Rather poor
    Written on May 12, 2018
    The hotels lacked adequate meals just the same mush every day and except for one no egg station... The hotel in Marrakech checked us in after 1800, and the room…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Hi Geoff, Thanks for your review. I’m sorry that you weren’t happy with the meals in the hotels. This is a Shoestring level tour and as such the hotels used (Moroccan 3 & 4-star level) are fairly simple and lower budget and don’t have the same variety or extensive options available in higher standard hotels. We do offer hotel upgrades on the tour in which more variety for the meals is available. You’re also very welcome to eat out in local restaurants rather than in the hotels if you wish, and many people do choose to do this, particularly in places like Marrakech where there are numerous different options available in the city centre. The issue with your hotel room sounds like the room was wrongly allocated to you by the hotel reception staff. I hope that they were able to swiftly change you to a different room when you notified them. Our guides and local office are also there to help with any issues like this. Thanks again Encounters Travel Team
  • VL
    Classic Greece
    4.0 - Good
    Written on April 24, 2018
    We were not given accurate information by Encounters Travel. While this was being resolved, my parents experienced harassment and threats to their safety. Even …
    Read more
  •  reviewer 7
    Egyptian Legacy
    4.0 - Good
    Written on April 23, 2018
    Overall, I loved the trip. It was a fantastic time and I would recommend Egypt to anyone who is considering going. ITINERARY "Good"- The balance between Aswan/…
    Read more
  • R
    Biblical Israel
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on April 12, 2018
    Range of things we saw, the excellent guide and other tour members
  •  reviewer 9
    Discover Egypt
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on April 11, 2018
    I travelled to Egypt for the very first time in January 2018 and I was blown away by how efficiently the tour was run. Our guide Mohamed Kareem was so knowled…
    Read more
  • SS
    Classic Greece
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on April 10, 2018
    The tour was very good and covered most of the sights that I wanted to see. The City tour on day 2 was only for half day and I took the option to visit Cape Sou…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Shanthi, Thanks for taking the time to get back to us with this feedback and for your fantastic review, we very much appreciate your 5-star rating! Thank you also for your tips on the itinerary and the additional day trip on day 2. We do offer the Cape Sounio tour locally, but will certainly look at offering it as a standard option available in advance too. The tour does concentrate on the classical sites and museums, though we're planning to extend it and include the monasteries and spectacular scenery at Meteora for 2019 which will add some more variety. I'm sure our future travellers will find your advice very helpful when they embark on this adventure and I hope that you'll decide to join us again in the future!

About Encounters Travel

Encounters Travel is an adventure tour operator, based in the UK but with representatives in Canada, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. We run a wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours around the world, each carefully designed to help you get the most out of the country you're visiting. Our tours range from historical sightseeing and Nile cruises in Egypt, through to long strenuous treks and white water rafting in Nepal or swimming with whales in Tonga. You can join other travellers on a small group departure, or personalise and tailor-make an itinerary for you to enjoy privately. Whatever your preference, we have a team of experienced travel consultants ready to advise you and help arrange your next great adventure!

Encounters Travel videos

  • South Africa with Encounters Travel
  • Encounters Travel
South Africa with Encounters Travel

Encounters Travel Guides

Exclusive benefits with

Learn More

Questions & Answers

We are there for you! If you have any questions about this operator, then please don't hesitate to contact us 24/7 and we will get back to you latest within 2 hours!