Absolute Africa

Julia“Amazing! My husband and I just returned from the 73 day Absolute Safari. The tour was incredible! 1. The itinerary is fantastic. Each day is unique fascinating, and memorable. 2. The trip is very organized. The tour is very packed and diverse. Absolu...“

Absolute Africa

Absolute Africa

4.5/5 - Excellent
Headquarters in Waters Upton, Telford, England
Ask a questionSee all tours
TOURS
46
AGE RANGE
18-80
RESPONSE RATE
100%
Best price on your Absolute Africa tour
Ask a questionSee all tours

Absolute Africa Guides

Absolute Africa GuideAbsolute Africa Guide
  • One of the oldest overland companies in Africa
  • Specialize in budget camping safaris
  • Our own fleet of trucks and workshop
  • Fantastic value for money

With over thirty years of experience running safaris from London to Cape Town and living and working on the Continent, enjoy the thrills, laughs, smiles and challenges of Africa with us, knowing that our crew, staff and management are doing all possible to make your...

With over thirty years of experience running safaris from London to Cape Town and living and working on the Continent, enjoy the thrills, laughs, smiles and challenges of Africa with us, knowing that our crew, staff and management are doing all possible to make your safari memorable. In 1979 we crossed the Sahara Desert in a London taxi from Britain to Kenya. The company has grown from there and now operates 10 overland trucks in East and Southern Africa. Our choice of vehicle has changed whilst we retain the core idea of enabling passengers to experience Africa at an affordable price.

Read more

151 Absolute Africa Reviews

Excellent
75%
Good
17%
Average
6%
Rather Poor
1%
Bad
0%
Accommodation
4 / 5
Transportation
4.5 / 5
Meals
4.5 / 5
Value for money
5 / 5
Guide
4.5 / 5
Write a review
  • R
    The Classic Safari
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on March 6, 2020
    We are three seniors from Canada. One of the reasons we chose Absolute Africa is that many of the competing safaris had an age limit of 39 years old. The ones…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Hi Robert, Thank you for your feedback, if you could send us a link to your travelogue or you would like to email us direct about using your report on the trip that would be great, we can then see how we use this so everyone can read it :) Kind regards Absolute Africa
  •  reviewer 2
    Kili Trek and Safari
    4.0 - Good
    Written on February 19, 2020
    The Kikimanjaro climb was great the dream team from Kili Bound were fantastic and the food was out standing and the whole team were happy and helpful Leonard an…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Hi Ian, Thank you for leaving a review. We appreciate all feedback on our tours and are glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your Kilimanjaro climb and were impressed by all the staff and crew throughout your tour. With regard to tipping the Kili team, this is a very personal matter and we provide a rough guideline for this which applies regardless of the size of the group, as the trekking team size will always correlate with the group size. Tips are ultimately always down to the individual to decide how much they would like to give based on the usually excellent service provided. We are disappointed to hear that you felt the safari itinerary wasn’t clear. We always aim to be transparent with our trip information and do believe that we have clearly indicated the transit drives and game drives involved in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater safari in the itinerary provided online and also by email. The tour is a 3 day/2 night safari with a night in Arusha either side. There are two game drives in the Serengeti, aside from any transit drives, and then a full morning of game drives in the Crater. Day 2 is an inevitable long transit drive to get to the Serengeti due to the vast area we need to cover. This is largely through the Ngorongoro Conservation Area though and so wildlife can be viewed during this time as we travel so most people find this adds to the safari experience as a whole. We are sorry that you felt you were left waiting on day one in Arusha. Most of our clients find that having some time to rest in Arusha after a challenging trek on Kilimanjaro is very much needed, to refresh and regroup prior to the start of the safari. The final day of the Serengeti and Crater tour is a transit day back to Nairobi and so the tour officially finishes in the late afternoon of the last day in Nairobi. As you were flying out of Kilimanjaro airport instead, we then arranged a transfer to meet the flight you had booked. We are always more than happy to assist with flight timings if the arrangements differ from the standard information provided in the trip notes, and we are sorry we didn’t have the chance to do so in your case. Again, thank you for your comments and I hope that you have come away with some fantastic memories of your time in Africa and of your amazing achievement trekking its highest peak.
  • MH
    Kenya & Tanzania
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on February 3, 2020
    Our trip was fantastic - was all that we expected plus more. Highlight was Joseph (our cook) & Joe (our tour leader) who made the group's daily life so easy
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Michael. We are happy to hear from you that you had such a good trip that exceeded expectations! we will certainly pass on your lovely comments to Joe and and Joseph :)
  •  reviewer 4
    Maasai and Migration
    4.0 - Good
    Written on January 12, 2020
    The safari and visit to Zanzibar were excellent. Everything we could have wished for. I do have a complaint, though, and it concerns the Heron hotel in Nairobi.…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Dear Antoinette, Thank you for your review, its great to hear you enjoyed the tour. In regards to the airport transfers, we have contacted the hotel as they were booked for you and we were informed that due to the hotel changing taxi providers your booking unfortunately got lost, they have ensured us this will not happen again. We and the hotel sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to this as the taxis should have been there for you. We do hope to see you again in the future on on e of our other tours. Kind regards Absolute Africa
  • KM
    The Gorilla Stop
    4.0 - Good
    Written on December 4, 2019
    Incredible experience with wonderful guide and driver :)
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thanks for leaving your comments, Kerry. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your tour with us :)
  • NT
    Northern Star
    3.5 - Good
    Written on November 3, 2019
    STAFF Not sure if this is normal, but we had two guides. Although not a local, Natasja was professional, experienced, and very knowledgeable about the wildlife…
    Read more
  • PM
    Maasai and Migration
    3.0 - Average
    Written on October 12, 2019
    The trip curation and itinerary was really good. Pre and Post sale service by Natasja was absolutely amazing - she is a superstar and super helpful. Her advice …
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you for leaving a review, Prateek. We are glad to hear that you found the support of our team really helpful and that you felt you had all the information you needed for your trip. It's good to also hear that you were pleased with the accommodation and enjoyed tasty meals throughout the tour. In terms of the truck seats, we fit our trucks with coach seats which most people tend to find well-suited and comfortable for the long drives, in contrast to the often-used bench-style seats on other overland vehicles. We also have our own workshop in Tanzania and each truck is checked and maintained prior to every trip to ensure it is well prepared for the journey. We are sorry to hear that you were not so keen on Safari Lodge on Zanzibar Island. This is a hotel we have been using for many years and we have booked many passengers in here over that time. It is a simple lodge but is clean and well-located in the centre of Stone Town, and has always seemed to suit our passengers well for this reason. We're glad to hear that Jonasmus was helpful and friendly and we will pass on your comments to him. With regard to Joe, it is often the case that tour leaders do need to be more strict especially when groups merge and become larger. Whilst all passengers are adults, overseeing a large group - including many different backgrounds, opinions and personalities - is not always an easy task. It is often preferable to be proactive in ensuring the rules are laid out from the start rather than having to remind the group at a later point. There is though a way in which this can be done without patronising anyone and we will speak to Joe to ensure that he understands how his trip briefing may be received so he can make any necessary adjustments in the future. As you mention, tour leaders do generally tend to assess each group as to how much help they offer in areas such as cooking, or putting tents up and down, for example. Where the group is very capable, the tour leader will usually stand back and allow the group to take control, however if anyone is struggling then this is the tour leader's role to step in and assist in any way they can. Tour leaders do often get very involved in the food shopping, meal planning and cooking - they know what works well for group meals cooked on a campfire, and what foods are readily available as well, so are at an advantage here. I hope that overall you have come away with good memories from your tour and thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments.
  • P
    African Sky
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 6, 2019
    I am an older person(60) and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. I was worried about the camping as I did not want to share a tent. I had my own tent for the entire…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you for your review, Paul, and great to hear that you have come away with great memories and experiences from your time in Africa. Some great tips there too! As we always say, age is just a number and if you are happy with the style of trip and the fact there will generally be more passengers in their twenties and thirties (as you were), then this trip can cater for any age. We look forward to welcoming you back on the truck in the future, should you wish to see some more of this great continent!
  • JD
    The Garden Route
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on September 23, 2019
    My husband and I added on this 15 day Garden Route tour to the 73 day Absolute Safari tour. Highly recommend both tours. The Garden Route tour, like the Absolu…
    Read more
  • JD
    The Absolute Safari
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on September 23, 2019
    Amazing! My husband and I just returned from the 73 day Absolute Safari. The tour was incredible! 1. The itinerary is fantastic. Each day is unique fascinatin…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Hi Julia, Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy to hear you had such a good experience and took away so much from your trip to Africa. We have now in fact extended the tour to 77 days, allowing us to visit Ziwa rhino sanctuary, stay by Mount Kilimanjaro for a couple of days, safari in South Luangwa National Park and marvel at the Great Zimbabwe Ruins - so the Absolute Safari does now offer even more! We will let Peter and Steve know of your comments and best of luck with all your future travels.

About Absolute Africa

With over thirty years of experience running safaris from London to Cape Town and living and working on the Continent, enjoy the thrills, laughs, smiles and challenges of Africa with us, knowing that our crew, staff and management are doing all possible to make your safari memorable. In 1979 we crossed the Sahara Desert in a London taxi from Britain to Kenya. The company has grown from there and now operates 10 overland trucks in East and Southern Africa. Our choice of vehicle has changed whilst we retain the core idea of enabling passengers to experience Africa at an affordable price.

Absolute Africa Guides

Exclusive benefits with

What makes us unique

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions.

  • Why choose Absolute Africa for your Kilimanjaro Trek?

    At 5,895 metres Kilimanjaro is a really exciting venture and for Absolute’s climbs our team is led by our chief guide, Samson Lauwo. Samson is the grandson of the famous Kinyala ' Mzee Lauwo'' who led Hans Mayer, the first European to summit in Kilimanjaro in 1889, so we bring a proud history, dedication and great amount of experience to your trek. This is our own local Tanzanian team, organised and overseen by Samson and our Tanzanian sister company based in Arusha, Tanzania, who arrange treks solely for Absolute Africa

    Having our own team we can easily make arrangements at short notice and catering to specific requirements. We have a range of routes from which to choose with the actual typical trekking time varying in length from 6 to 8 days. The routes vary in difficulty, comfort and in regards to the amenities available, as well as the scenery through which we trek.

  • Are your departures guaranteed?

    All of the published departures are guaranteed and there is no minimum passenger number required in order for the tour to go ahead, so you can feel safe to go ahead with flight bookings and other travel arrangements when booking with Absolute Africa.

  • When is the best time to go?

    Any time of year you are guaranteed to have the time of your life travelling in Africa. However it is worth knowing what sort of weather to expect and what you are more likely to see at certain times of the year.

    East Africa has two rainy seasons - long rains from mid March through to the end of May and a short rains in November/December characterised by brief showers. East Africa doesn't have a summer or winter. That being said, the hottest months in East Africa are from December to March. June to August can get cooler, particularly at altitude.

    Zanzibar's weather is similar to the mainland. Water temperatures average around 27 degrees all year. For water clarity July through to November, and January to April are usually best. The western side of the island particularly is well protected, making diving enjoyable for most of the year.

    Kilimanjaro creates its own weather. Mid January through to mid March can have superb conditions with little cloud prior to the arrival of the rains. From there there is an increased chance of rain, snow and a lot of cloud. From mid June the rains ease and visibility improves whilst it is very cold. Temperatures remain very cold through to the end of August. Temperatures improve again September to October and this is the driest time on the mountain, making for very good conditions trekking during this time. From mid October through to the end of December there can be rain, temperatures dropping on the mountain with the risk of snow from November onwards, through December.

    Southern Africa
    The rains come during the hot summer months from November to March in much of southern Africa, often experienced as afternoon thunderstorms making for spectacular skies. Cape Town and the Western Cape have a separate pattern with winter rains from June to August, and the Eastern Cape and along the Garden route receive rains on a lot less predictable pattern.

    Winter is from May to September. This is prime time for safaris with animals congregating around water holes, making them easier to spot as it is dry season.

    Remember weather in Africa, as everywhere, can never be guaranteed. Each country and regions within countries has its own variables as well. The above is provided as a general guide. Note weather can always surprise so be prepared for anything!

  • Why choose Absolute Africa?

    We offer a wealth of experience, having a long history of over 35 years operations on the Continent, with an office in both the UK and Africa. We also have our own workshop and fleet of 10 overland trucks in Arusha, Tanzania, and our knowledgeable, experienced staff and crew will support and back you up all the way. Focusing solely on Africa we are able to offer some original routes on what is a well-carved overland trail, and we are able to do so at very affordable prices.

    Knowing you are travelling with a company that has a reliable overland fleet, plus the experience and knowledge-base to deliver all the great highlights - the wildlife, culture, landscapes and fun adventure activities that bring clients to Africa - is essential.

  • What are the trucks like?

    Our trucks are specialised overland adventure trucks which are serviced and maintained in our own workshop in Arusha, Tanzania. They have all the essential features needed to maximise your viewing from the truck, as well as your comfort and security. Truck features include: forward facing coach seats with head rests and seat belts; large viewing spaces for unimpeded panoramic views from the side and front of the truck; an on-board fridge; resource library; personal lockup for your valuables, easily accessible under your seat; fire extinguisher & First Aid kit; and charge points, including UK power sockets to charge your camera and other electrical items, plus additional 12V sockets.

    The trucks are also equipped with an all-weather awning, a kitchen area with gas cooker and BBQ grill, trestle tables, camping stools and outside lighting. There are lockers to store your main backpack, tents and the high-density roll mats we provide.

  • Do I need to get visas prior to going?

    Most visas are easily obtained while on tour and are payable on the borders in USD cash, so it is not necessary to get them prior to your trip. This advice applies to most passports including Australians, New Zealanders, British, US, Canadian and most European passport holders.

    Feel free to check with us if you are unsure about the visa requirements for your particular passport.

Loading