BEST SELECTION & PRICESBEST SELECTIONBEST PRICESONLY $99 DEPOSIT
Absolute Africa

Amber“I was on a solo travel adventure for 8 month and this 56 day african drums tour was the absolute highlight of my time away. First things first... my guide Pete went above and beyond with everything that the group needed. he was a ball of knowledge and beco...“

Absolute Africa

Absolute Africa

4.6/5 - Excellent
Headquarters in Waters Upton, Telford, England
Ask a questionSee all tours
TOURS
46
AGE RANGE
18-99
RESPONSE RATE
100%
RESPONSE TIME
7h
Best price on your Absolute Africa tour
Ask a questionSee all tours

Absolute Africa Guides

Absolute Africa GuideAbsolute Africa Guide
Secure your getaway with a $99 DEPOSIT
ends on 6 Mar 2019

With over thirty years of experience running safaris from London to Cape Town and living and working on the Continent, enjoy the thrills, laughs, smiles and challenges of Africa with us, knowing that our crew, staff and management are doing all possible to make your...

With over thirty years of experience running safaris from London to Cape Town and living and working on the Continent, enjoy the thrills, laughs, smiles and challenges of Africa with us, knowing that our crew, staff and management are doing all possible to make your safari memorable. In 1979 we crossed the Sahara Desert in a London taxi from Britain to Kenya. The company has grown from there and now operates 10 overland trucks in East and Southern Africa. Our choice of vehicle has changed whilst we retain the core idea of enabling passengers to experience Africa at an affordable price.

Read more

149 Absolute Africa Reviews

Excellent
81%
Good
14%
Average
4%
Rather Poor
1%
Bad
0%
Accommodation
4.5 / 5
Transportation
4.5 / 5
Meals
4.5 / 5
Value for money
5 / 5
Guide
5 / 5
Write a review
  •  reviewer 1
    Maasai and Migration
    4.0 - Good
    Written on February 22, 2019
    Amazing trip, well organised, we were able to see lots of animals.
  • MM
    African Sky
    3.0 - Average
    Written on January 24, 2019
    For the price, the trip was amazing. We saw tons of wildlife, which was my main goal. Campsites were generally good although, as advertised, hot water was not a…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, Margaret. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and saw all the wildlife you came to Africa to see on your trip. Our tours are affordable, camping safaris. Basic facilities are often the norm, as you mention. Rougher conditions are generally short-lived, with facilities then available the next day when we move to the next campsite. On the African Sky particularly we travel through some very remote areas though, such as in rural Tanzania, and the area by the gorilla parks. Amenities such as power and water (for washing) can become an issue on occasion. Our travellers usually appreciate time on the road less travelled, rather than solely sticking to the main tourist routes. We will though keep searching out for the best facilities we can, and ways to ensure all is as comfortable as possible including ensuring the best meals available and adequate measures to keep food fresh. With regard to food, it is not as easy to source a large range of foods. Fresh fruit and toast is a regular on tour, as well as cereals,whilst we do also endeavour to mix things up where we can by doing cooked breakfasts etc at times. Eggs particularly are a popular option for those days we have more time particularly. Again, with evening meals we tend to stick to stews with rice or potatoes, or pasta dishes, that are filling and tasty. We generally find that clients are happy with the food on offer and are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy it so much. We are concerned to hear your comment regarding the guides’ language skills, and particularly your comments on the vehicle and guide for the Crater. We will follow up with our different operators to see where there can be improvements. Especially good performance standards for the Crater safari are critical, and your comments will be addressed at the earliest. Thanks again for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
  • AG
    Rainforests and Reefs
    3.5 - Good
    Written on January 8, 2019
    Nice guide and highlights. Some full acommodations.
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thanks for your review Alvaro! Hopefully we can take you on another trip sometimes :)
  •  reviewer 4
    The Garden Route
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on December 19, 2018
    It was an real awesome tour. We saw lots of different things. Nature, Citys, Highlights like Cape Agulhas, Addo Nationalpark & the Truck itself.
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Lukas. We are glad to hear you had an interesting and fun tour with us!
  • LC
    Maasai and Migration (Reverse)
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on November 25, 2018
    Well organized tour.
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thanks for your feedback Leticia!
  • QY
    The Southern Safari
    3.5 - Good
    Written on November 25, 2018
    I did the 52 day Southern Safari trip with Absolute Africa traveling from Nairobi to Cape Town. Highlights include rafting along the Zambezi river, Spitzkoppe a…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable tour and got to see all the fantastic wildlife and more that you would hope to see in Africa. At the same time we are disappointed to read your assessment of aspects of your tour and experience overall. The staff of Absolute Africa are a small team that do all work around the clock endeavouring to deliver tours that enable our clients to enjoy and appreciate all the wonderful highlights on the overland route in Africa. In regard to Martin, your tour leader, he has been working for us for a long time. We know that he does care very much about how his trips go and that each client gets the very most from their trip. He can bring a lot to a trip having such an extensive knowledge and experience developed over years. We know that during your tour he was endeavouring to work through some issues arising with the group dynamics on tour, and he was doing what he could to encourage teamwork and good relations. Staff were also looking to support him with this as well. Tour leading though is a very demanding job and we are concerned where his manners and demeanour on tour may not have been as a mature professional tour leader should be. Where Martin’s actions didn’t reflect the caring professional tour leader he can be, this is a real disappointment, and we are looking at how this came about and where we can learn lessons. We continually need to assess how our team are supporting each other to ensure all are able to work to their best ability at all times and to help each other as much as we all can to meet the challenges that arise on tour. You also mentioned your issues with some optionals. We provide a list of optional activities in the pre departure information and depending on the length of the tour the list usually provides a good number of choices. The same list is on display in the vehicles tour after tour. As explained with each list, the lists are a guide only, there being many reasons why an excursion may not be available or have changed. We endeavour to keep our information as up to date as possible. Particularly in regard to the core big highlights as well as the pricing we know accuracy is very important for our travellers to really enjoy their trips. Given the number of options that are available en route and the very changeable nature of the places that we visit it is though always a challenge to stay up to date with every option that can arise. To this end we receive reports back from each trip and are in constant contact with each trip as it progresses as well as maintaining regular contact with our operators.That being said, we are looking at instances where there has been some mixed/conflicting information about optionals and/or a serious lag in information coming through or information being assessed after the office receives it, resulting in some changes having slipped through unnoticed. Clearly then we need to work harder to keep communication lines open with operators, and ensure crew and office staff get the time needed to provide detailed feedback after the tours, as well as time to accurately inform clients where changes have occurred where possible. And we do apologise if there was an activity you were considering doing that was not available on your tour. We appreciate this would be disappointing. As mentioned also we are making itinerary changes for 2019. Currently exploratory visits are being conducted to alternative destinations including to replace the visit to Antelope Park. Changes involve taking a fresh look at different aspects of overlanding, with itinerary adjustments being made in direct response to feedback we receive from our clients. These reflect our commitment to creating itineraries that allow clients to get the very most from their tour in Africa. We are sorry if our last email was wanting and if you felt we weren’t wanting to be accountable following your feedback email at the end of the tour. We did attempt to speak to you by phone several times last week, leaving messages to invite you to come back to us to discuss your concerns directly. We do take our obligations as an African tour operator very seriously and wanted to take the time to discuss with you the elements of the tour you were unhappy with in person rather than via emails. Please feel free to get back to us if you would like us to follow up with a call about any aspect of your tour.
  • GA
    Maasai and Migration
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on October 29, 2018
    It was fantastic! Highly recommended for people who loves some adventure
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thanks for your feedback Glenn! Hopefully we can take you on another tour sometime Kind regards, Absolute Africa
  • RK
    Maasai and Migration
    4.0 - Good
    Written on October 2, 2018
    Overall a very well organized tour and excellent, experienced guides. Room for improvement at the Ngorongoro/Serengeti tour as this is lead by a different opera…
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you for your review Rene. It’s great to hear you had a good time on your tour. We have had discussions with the local operator about your Serengeti tour. Sadly your game drive time was unfortunately cut short due to some poor management decisions over the period of your safari. The local operator we use in the Serengeti is usually very good and well respected. Usually everyone is very happy with their services. We have informed them of your comments and emphasised the need for better servicing and organisation to ensure such shouldn't happen again. We know the operator is looking at all appropriate actions to ensure such is the case. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you on another one of our tours in the future.
  •  reviewer 9
    African Drums
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on September 30, 2018
    I was on a solo travel adventure for 8 month and this 56 day african drums tour was the absolute highlight of my time away. First things first... my guide Pete …
    Read more
    Absolute Africa commented on this review
    Thank you, Amber, for leaving a review of your African Drums tour. Pete and Mugo will love to hear your comments and we are really glad that you had such a good time. If you ever fancy another trip with us, Kenya will be waiting for you!
  • A
    African Adventurer
    1.5 - Rather poor
    Written on September 23, 2018
    It was obvious on my tour that Absolute Africa cares very little for Africa. This tour rarely involved local experiences- not because it was a group tour but be…
    Read more

About Absolute Africa

With over thirty years of experience running safaris from London to Cape Town and living and working on the Continent, enjoy the thrills, laughs, smiles and challenges of Africa with us, knowing that our crew, staff and management are doing all possible to make your safari memorable. In 1979 we crossed the Sahara Desert in a London taxi from Britain to Kenya. The company has grown from there and now operates 10 overland trucks in East and Southern Africa. Our choice of vehicle has changed whilst we retain the core idea of enabling passengers to experience Africa at an affordable price.

Absolute Africa Guides

Exclusive benefits with

What makes us unique

Questions & Answers

Here we have collected and answered the most frequently asked questions.

  • Is my departure guaranteed?

    All our published departures are guaranteed and there is no minimum passenger number required in order for the tour to go ahead, so you can feel safe to go ahead with flight bookings and other travel arrangements when booking with us.

    Can you help with travel and accommodation arrangements before and after the tour?
    We can book airport transfers and accommodation for you both before and after the tour. This is booked in advance by us with trusted, reliable operators whom we regularly use and is then payable out in Africa direct to the local operator. There is no extra charge by booking through us, it just helps in making your trip planning easier!

  • When is the best time to go?

    Any time of year you are guaranteed to have the time of your life travelling in Africa. However it is worth knowing what sort of weather to expect and what you are more likely to see at certain times of the year.

    East Africa has two rainy seasons - long rains from mid March through to the end of May and a short rains in November/December characterised by brief showers. East Africa doesn't have a summer or winter. That being said, the hottest months in East Africa are from December to March. June to August can get cooler, particularly at altitude.

    Zanzibar's weather is similar to the mainland. Water temperatures average around 27 degrees all year. For water clarity July through to November, and January to April are usually best. The western side of the island particularly is well protected, making diving enjoyable for most of the year.

    Kilimanjaro creates its own weather. Mid January through to mid March can have superb conditions with little cloud prior to the arrival of the rains. From there there is an increased chance of rain, snow and a lot of cloud. From mid June the rains ease and visibility improves whilst it is very cold. Temperatures remain very cold through to the end of August. Temperatures improve again September to October and this is the driest time on the mountain, making for very good conditions trekking during this time. From mid October through to the end of December there can be rain, temperatures dropping on the mountain with the risk of snow from November onwards, through December.

    Southern Africa
    The rains come during the hot summer months from November to March in much of southern Africa, often experienced as afternoon thunderstorms making for spectacular skies. Cape Town and the Western Cape have a separate pattern with winter rains from June to August, and the Eastern Cape and along the Garden route receive rains on a lot less predictable pattern.

    Winter is from May to September. This is prime time for safaris with animals congregating around water holes, making them easier to spot as it is dry season.

    Remember weather in Africa, as everywhere, can never be guaranteed. Each country and regions within countries has its own variables as well. The above is provided as a general guide. Note weather can always surprise so be prepared for anything!

  • Why choose Absolute Africa?

    We offer a wealth of experience, having a long history of over 35 years operations on the Continent, with an office in both the UK and Africa. We also have our own workshop and fleet of 10 overland trucks in Arusha, Tanzania, and our knowledgeable, experienced staff and crew will support and back you up all the way. Focusing solely on Africa we are able to offer some original routes on what is a well-carved overland trail, and we are able to do so at very affordable prices.

    Knowing you are travelling with a company that has a reliable overland fleet, plus the experience and knowledge-base to deliver all the great highlights - the wildlife, culture, landscapes and fun adventure activities that bring clients to Africa - is essential.

  • What are the trucks like?

    Our trucks are specialised overland adventure trucks which are serviced and maintained in our own workshop in Arusha, Tanzania. They have all the essential features needed to maximise your viewing from the truck, as well as your comfort and security. Truck features include: forward facing coach seats with head rests and seat belts; large viewing spaces for unimpeded panoramic views from the side and front of the truck; an on-board fridge; resource library; personal lockup for your valuables, easily accessible under your seat; fire extinguisher & First Aid kit; and charge points, including UK power sockets to charge your camera and other electrical items, plus additional 12V sockets.

    The trucks are also equipped with an all-weather awning, a kitchen area with gas cooker and BBQ grill, trestle tables, camping stools and outside lighting. There are lockers to store your main backpack, tents and the high-density roll mats we provide.

  • Do I need to get visas prior to going?

    Most visas are easily obtained while on tour and are payable on the borders in USD cash, so it is not necessary to get them prior to your trip. This advice applies to most passports including Australians, New Zealanders, British, US, Canadian and most European passport holders.

    Feel free to check with us if you are unsure about the visa requirements for your particular passport.

Loading