BIGGEST SELECTIONBEST PRICES24/7CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Encounters Travel

Encounters Travel

Headquarters in Leeds, England
OVERALL RATING
4.3/5 - Excellent
TOURS
72
AGE RANGE
5-99
RESPONSE RATE
92%
See all tours

Highlights

  • Wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours
  • Travel in complete safety
  • Local guides giving perfect insights on the destinations
  • Multi-cultural group tours

Awards & Recognitions

Tour of the Year  Luxury
Save up to 60% across the globe
ends on 26 Sep 2017

63 Encounters Travel Reviews

Excellent
76%
Good
10%
Average
8%
Rather Poor
5%
Bad
2%
Accommodation
4 / 5
Transportation
4.5 / 5
Meals
4 / 5
Value for money
4.5 / 5
Guide
4.5 / 5
Write a review
Looking for a specific tour? 72 Encounters Travel tours
Check it out
  • LP
    Discover Egypt
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on September 14, 2017
    My husband and I had a really great time. However we felt as if the price of the trip was really expensive towards the end because all the good stuff were add-o…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Lina, Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback. I’m really pleased to hear that you had a good time in Egypt and that you were happy with the accommodations provided. Over the last few years we’ve worked hard on improving the accommodations on this tour to 5-star level to ensure our clients get the best possible experience. When planning our tours in Egypt and in particular with our Discover Egypt tour we include most of the highlights of Egypt in the itinerary. This includes the Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Philae Temple, Edfu & Komombo temples, the Valley of the Kings, Luxor temple and Karnak Temple. We don’t include entrance fees as these are changed by the Egyptian authorities from time to time (both up and down) so it’s therefore more accurate and cost effective for you if they are paid locally. To further enhance the tour we do also offer a selection of additional extras such as Hot Air Balloon flights, a morning tour to Abu Simbel, Red Sea activities and some extra tours in Cairo too. We don’t include these in the base price of the tour as not everybody can afford to or wants to do all of these options. They are therefore left to be missed out, booked prior to arrival or arranged whilst you are on the tour. Also, Abu Simbel and the hot air balloon flight in particular require very early morning starts which many people don’t want to do, particularly as we have a few early starts in the trip already. We do feel that even if none of these additional options are selected, you’ll still receive a very comprehensive tour, visiting the most of the main highlights of Ancient Egypt in the Nile Valley. I hope this information is helpful and that we can help you with another tour in the future.
  • KD
    Jordan Encounters
    3.0 - Average
    Written on September 7, 2017
    Jordan has always been on my bucket list. So glad I've been. 4 days of our tour were awesome but Day 1 was a waste of time. Not good and not worth it Jerash,…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Karen, Thanks for taking the time to get back to us with your feedback, it’s very much appreciated and helps us to improve our tours for our future travellers. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your trip, we’ve tried to address each of the points you’ve raised below. I hope that this is helpful. Day 1 It's great to hear that you were able to tick off one of your bucket list destinations and that you felt most of the tour was awesome. However, I’m sorry if you felt that day 1 was a waste. I’m not sure if you are meaning the tour to Pella and Umm Qais here, or the arrival day, so will cover both here. As you had made your own pre-tour arrangements prior to joining the tour, you perhaps had more free time on the arrival day than is usual for our travellers who mostly arrive later on this day and appreciate some free time after their flights. We do offer some optional day trips in our Tour Notes for people who do arrive early. Pella and Umm Qais visited on Day 2, the first sightseeing day, are not Jordan’s most important or dramatic sites, but we do feel that they add something to the tour. Umm Qais shows a distinctive Roman city layout and has a lovely location high in the mountains, while Pella is rich in both antiquities and ruins covering thousands of years from a Chalcolithic settlement from 4000BC, Iron and Bronze age walled city remains, Byzantine churches a Greco Roman theatre, and early Islamic houses and a medieval mosque. Wadi Rum camp The tour includes a jeep safari in Wadi Rum in the morning, and then a free afternoon at the camp. The guide will sometimes return to Amman from Wadi Rum rather than staying overnight and we cover this in our tour notes (one of our shorter tours returns to Amman from Wadi Rum and if there are people on that trip the guide will return with them). This is something which we are considering changing for 2018 though as we agree that it would be better for the guide to stay overnight with the group here. The reason we haven’t done this in the past is because the crew at the Bedouin camp are normally very helpful in suggesting and arranging things to do during your free time (such as walks to the nearby sand dunes, longer hikes, camel rides of anything from 30 minutes to a whole afternoon, and then star gazing later at night). I’m sorry the camp staff weren’t as helpful as they should have been during your visit. It appears that this was because of the heat that you mention which made them assume that people would not want to be doing much activity in the middle of the day. We’re ensuring that assumptions are not made like this in future and all options are offered to fill your time to suit your preferences. Unfortunately due to the nature of camping in the desert, it can make the tents uncomfortably hot during daylight hours. There are some larger camps outside the desert reserve that can provide air conditioning, but this isn’t an option in the smaller camps that we like to use that are right inside Wadi Rum. Return to Amman We are ensuring that the communication is much better from the camp about the return to Amman. This tour is advertised as staying in 3 and 4-star level hotels with the final night in Amman being in a 3-star hotel. We do explain this in the tour notes and show the 3-star Antika Hotel as being used in Amman for the second stay. We like to use a Downtown hotel for your second stay in Amman so that you are much closer to areas of interest for your final evening, and the Antika Hotel has a great location at the top of Rainbow Street. This is a busy road with the locals (which is one reason we feel it is a good place to stay, as there are numerous cafes and restaurants to visit and relax in). Your stay coincided with the Eid Festival in Jordan which did result in downtown Amman being much busier and noisier than is usual. Overall I’m sorry once again that some elements of the tour didn’t live up to your expectations. I agree that communication could have been better in some sections and we are working on this, as well as planning some adjustments to the itinerary as a whole for 2018.
  • A
    Jordan & Egypt on a Shoestring
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on August 28, 2017
    The trip was great well organized, lot see, the accomodations were good. Would definitly recommend the tour. The tour guides were knowledgeable, specially appri…
    Read more
  • AZ
    Imperial Cities
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on August 2, 2017
    The trip was good, the guide was really friendly and knowledgable. Some days are a little too jam packed with sightseeing though which leaves little free tim…
    Read more
  • IS
    Imperial Cities
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on July 10, 2017
    I have enjoyed my trip in Morocco I learnt all the history about Morocco and Berber. The transportation was excellent and the accommodation was good. I liked s…
    Read more
  • DW
    Discover Egypt
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on June 8, 2017
    …h this trip make sure we had the experience of a lifetime. Thank you Encounter Travel, I have recommended your organization to friends and cowork…
    Read more
  • HJ
    Biblical Israel
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on May 30, 2017
    Everything was very good. Just as advertised
  • BV
    Jordan on a Shoestring
    4.5 - Excellent
    Written on May 8, 2017
    …through Tourradar for the "Jordan on a Shoestring" five-day tour with Encounters Travel and operated by local company Al-Thuraya. Our tour grou…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Dear Benjamin, Thanks for taking the time to get back to us with this feedback, it's very much appreciated and I'm really pleased to hear that you had such a good time in Jordan. It's also great to hear that you were happy with the services of Hasan and that the accommodations met with your expectations. I hope that you can join us for another adventure in the future! Encounters Travel
  • JH
    Nepal on a Shoestring
    3.0 - Average
    Written on April 25, 2017
    The 7 day tour could easily have been condensed into 5 nights. We had a day to ourselves before an evening meeting with the rep on day 1, and day 7 ended immedi…
    Read more
    Encounters Travel commented on this review
    Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with this feedback, it’s very much appreciated. I just wanted to get back to you with a couple of comments on the feedback given, hopefully just to explain the reasons we operate this tour in such a way. - The 7 day tour could easily have been condensed into 5 nights. We had a day to ourselves before an evening meeting with the rep on day 1, and day 7 ended immediately after breakfast. On day 1 of the tour I can see that you arrived into Kathmandu very early in the morning and so you had the remainder of that day free to yourselves. However since this is one of our group tours, not everybody will necessarily be arriving early and in fact it’s fairly common for us to have arrivals throughout the day and into the evening (on the date you travelled we had just 1 other passenger travelling and she arrived after 8pm on Day 1). For this reason we don’t plan any activities or tours on the first day of the tour (we operate our tours this way in nearly all the destinations we offer). Since you booked your trip we’ve actually changed the end of this tour and it now actually ends in Kathmandu a day later, though it will still end after breakfast on the final day which is a departure day (again, we operate the tour in this way as we’ll likely have departures throughout the day, from the early morning and through to the evening. This allows people to be flexible with the flights they book to get the most convenient times for them, and the best prices). - The 7 day tour could easily have been condensed into 5 nights. We had a day to ourselves before an evening meeting with the rep on day 1, and day 7 ended immediately after breakfast. Taking the arrival and departure days out of the schedule it would in theory be possible to shorten this tour by two nights. However taking into consideration the points mentioned above and because this is a group tour it really wouldn’t be feasible for us to be able to do this. It would leave people having to book their own accommodation for the night before the tour proper starts, and their own accommodation on the last night. We’ve included those nights to make things easier all round. Having everyone in the same hotel on the arrival day starts helps avoid delayed starts the next morning if people are checking out of their own hotels first and making their way through traffic to join the group. And at the end of the tour, we don’t like arriving somewhere or finishing a day’s tours and then leaving you to your own devices. We’d much rather include a final night’s accommodation and let you check out and move on to your next arrangements or departure flight at a convenient time for you the next day. - The guide spoke little English so we got nonsense answers to questions that we asked about places of interest. I’m sorry you had issues with the guide in Nepal, this really isn’t something we’ve had feedback about before and we work with the same guides regularly. We do provide a tour leader rather than a professional tour guide to escort the whole tour, with separate licensed guides escorting you on the city tour and wildlife safaris. The tour leaders are all Nepali and while they know lots about their country, they don’t have the same historical or wildlife knowledge that the professionally trained licensed guides do. I’ll certainly be following up with our local team to check on the various guides and leaders used on your trip. - The trip to Chitwan was the best bit. Getting so close to elephants and rhino was spectacular. The guide in the national park was very good. The hotel was the best on the trip. Comfortable, clean and well appoited. The hotel in Pokhara was a big disappointment - a small room for 2, sockets that didn't work, so no place to recharge camera/ phone batteries. I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chitwan. This is often mentioned as a tour highlight for many of our passengers, especially after leaving the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu behind. The wildlife sightings, especially of rhino, can be excellent. I’m sorry you weren’t overly happy with the accommodation in Pokhara, it should be noted that this is one of our ‘Shoestring’ tours and therefore the accommodations are of a lower standard than our other tours in Nepal, though this is reflected in the price of the tour. On the itinerary you booked the price paid was just £399.00 for the 6 night tour with all activities and accommodations as per the itinerary included which we feel offers fantastic value. With our updated itinerary (which now includes transportation back to Kathmandu and a final night here) the price is a little higher, but still represents good value for a budget tour of Nepal. Throughout Nepal, hotels (and everyone else) need to work around issues with electricity due to load shedding which is implemented by the local government in an attempt to ration the limited amount of power they have available to distribute. This does mean that some hotels do have hours where no electricity is available (though some hotels do have generators which allows some lights and sometimes also plug sockets to work). I suspect this may be reason you encountered issues in Pokhara, but we’ll be following up with the hotel to reach a resolution if this wasn’t the case. Unfortunately the load shedding isn’t something which hotels have any control over. Thank you once again for choosing to travel with us in Nepal and for providing this valuable feedback. I hope the above points have been helpful in explaining the way in which we plan this tour. I hope that we can arrange another tour in the future to another of the many destinations we offer.
  •  reviewer 10
    Egyptian Legacy
    5.0 - Excellent
    Written on April 25, 2017
    This trip was absolutely amazing. Our Egyptologist, Aboudy, made the trip incredible! The trip was the perfect length for us because we got to see everything we…
    Read more

About Encounters Travel

Encounters Travel is an adventure tour operator, based in the UK but with representatives in Canada, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. We run a wide selection of cultural and adventurous tours around the world, each carefully designed to help you get the most out of the country you're visiting. Our tours range from historical sightseeing and Nile cruises in Egypt, through to long strenuous treks and white water rafting in Nepal or swimming with whales in Tonga. You can join other travellers on a small group departure, or personalise and tailor-make an itinerary for you to enjoy privately. Whatever your preference, we have a team of experienced travel consultants ready to advise you and help arrange your next great adventure!            

Encounters Travel videos

  • South Africa with Encounters Travel
  • Encounters Travel
South Africa with Encounters Travel

Exclusive benefits with

No Booking Fees

TourRadar charges 0% booking fees and 0% credit card fees. You won’t find any hidden fees or additional surcharges with us. We want to #BoycottBookingFees Learn more

Best Price Guarantee

Found a better price elsewhere for the same trip? Send us the quote and we'll match it! Learn more

Earn Unlimited Travel Credits

Every time you book with us or you invite someone to TourRadar, you get travel credits. Learn more

Questions & Answers

We are there for you! If you have any questions about this operator, then please don't hesitate to contact us 24/7 and we will get back to you latest within 2 hours!